We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen's Hotel

PricelineUSD 57*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 164*
USD 57*
Great Deal
USD 150*
USD 150*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Queen\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,004 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 683: English reviews
Start your review of Queen's Hotel
 Click to rate
sitdeus
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Positives: ideal location at edge of lake, 2 mins walk from the Temple of the tooth, and close to St Paul's church and the market. Lovely Empire building full of original colonial era features. Negatives. The buffet, both at breakfast and dinner was uninspirational and looked dry and as if it had been there for far too long. Dry pastries....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sitdeus
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A stroll through the bygone era...such a special place. it has retained a lot of its old charm and has a wonderful location close to The Temple of the Tooth and the lake. Kandy is a bustling city with lots of shops and a great place to walk around. If you are in Kandy during the Pera Hera then this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaunkennedym
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

delicious meals but the most important things are the rooms in the road side which allow you to watch 'perahara' peacefully without any interrupt in the 'Perahara Season'. Friendly staff and room service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lahiru D
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Queen's for only 1 night as we were originally there to attend a homecoming function. A beautiful hotel at a great location, but it has indeed seen better days. Taking a look around you could definitely tell it would have been the grandest hotel around in its heyday, but there's a shabbiness surrounding the place nowadays....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DominicRed
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Colonial quaint hotel right on the lake,next to temple Of The tooth.food was good as were the rooms and price.,definitely worth a visit,as Was The pool in the evening as bats fly overhead as you have an evening swim, check them out

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eamonn R
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Raj era hotel. Has seen better days. Only thing really going for it is its location. It is close to the Temple of the tooth. It is possible to walk to the Temple if you can take the heat. Needs a multi million dollar face lift.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drjeff
Kozhikode, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Walked in here for a dinner with family. The food was good, however was surprised that there wasn't an option for a la Carte . Would do good to have dessert spoon :) They could do better with presentation of platter

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yathramozhi
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Queens Hotel and for sharing your feedback with us. Your feedback is important to us as it will assist us in enhancing our guest experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope this will not deter you from visiting us again. Once again, thank you for your...

Kowloon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a lovely building but I wouldn't stay there again if they paid me. So many problems, too little space. One of the biggest: no lift/elevator. Told me it would be fixed the next day. Not fixed while I was there. Nothing comes on time. Be prepared to wait for hours for anything you need and, I promise you, you'll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moniker11
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and it has been considered with a serious note and the same has been discussed with the relevant department to look into these matters. Once again; I apologize...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

This place could be beautiful... but it is run down, over priced, food was poor and more like a guest house than a hotel. The only upside is that the staff were friendly and it was opposite the temple which was the sole reason for our stopover. There is no basic compendium in the room to let you know anything,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolee262
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory experience throughout your stay with us. Your feedback has been passed on and we will look at it in a positive way to improve our services. We are disheartened to know that we were unable to make...

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Queens hotel is an old colonial style hotel with some charm. However, the rooms are very old and they need to be renovated. The worst part of the rooms are the toilets, it was almost impossible to get hot water in the shower and it was not very clean. the hotel is also located next to a busy road and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu S
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Queens Hotel. Your feedback is important to us in every way, so we thank you for bringing some areas that need to be looked into up to our attention. While thanking you for your patronage, we hope to have the...

616 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (598)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (174)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (199)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 km away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 54 in Kandy
291 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,020 reviews
0.7 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
677 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#41 of 54 in Kandy
194 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Dalada Street | Central, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $80 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queen's Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Queen's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the Lake and or the Temple of the Tooth.”
shaunkennedym, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Wait until it reopens, is my best guess and get a room away from the street if you like quiet”
  • The room was fine but the bed was not comfortable
moniker11, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the road sides are noisy due to traffic and horns”
dendix, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check the other hotels in Kandy”
HDSPat1984, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are corner rooms which face both Kandy Lake and the Temple of Tooth.”
erangatennakoon, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 57* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 150
Expedia.comUSD 150
AMOMAUSD 164
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates