We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Topaz

CancelonUSD 78*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 157*
USD 78*
Great Deal
USD 108*
USD 86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Topaz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 448: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Topaz
 Click to rate
Kumarakom, India
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After a long drive from the airport and enroute sightseeing we arrived at the hotel in the evening. Quick check-in process and very pleasing staff at the reception eased our way to the room allocated.Decent room and overlooking the hills offered a panoramic view of the town.Food offerings is good with multiple options and very attentive staff assisting us on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarat_valsraj
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went there for last Saturday. Everything is amazing at Tamarind resturant .They had two options for soup both were really nice especially the chicken soup.The main course is amazing you get many options and varieties to choose from pork. chicken curry, Chinese/Singapore-style stir-fried crabs pasta and much more for all the tastes. There juicy glazed pork chops are sweet,salty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thomasC9718ZQ
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward...

Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel located in a valley. Very good and neatly maintained. beautiful swimming pool and good spread of Veg food in their breakfast menu. rooms were clean and neat and reception staff were good friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SABARISH01
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward...

Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the best hotel we stayed in, during our trip to Sri Lanka! Located up the hill, this hotel is good to the get away from the city hustle and to enjoy views, but on the other hand, you will have to get transportation to/from the city (we've read the hotel provides a shuttle) as the road is difficult...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gjoforte
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward...

Redruth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning location and view from our room which was at the front of the hotel. The staff were very efficient and professional. Our room was excellent. The modern décor was of a high standard and all well co-ordinated. We had comfortable chairs and a coffee table infront the window to sit and enjoy the panoramic view. The food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzymalento
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward...

dorset
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights on our 8 day tour of Sri Lanka and had upgraded to superior accommodation we were very disappointed with this hotel. On arrival at approx 2 pm our room was not ready, so we went to the restaurant and had a lovely meal and excellent service by the very helpful and friendly staff best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stjean11
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We selected Hotel Topaz for our Annual Corporate Excursion mainly because of the location and booked approx. 30 rooms. F&B Manager, Mr Sujeewa understood our requirements well and acted, communicated effectively. Everything was in order and our group didn't meet any problem. We had an evening gathering at Orchid Lounge and Mr Sujeewa, with his staff supported us very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnushkaWijepala
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for a great review and our team appreciates it a lot,We do plan a lot when it comes to personalized service & this note reveals everything in all.We do hope that your team would return if "Kandy" is chosen during any of your annual trips in the future,Thank you once again for taking the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I & my family have stayed 01 night at this fabulous hotel (one of the gems called “Hotel Topaz” ) which is situated very close proximity to Kandy City. There was a steep climb in order to access to the hotel.it will take around only 15 minutes from Kandy city to the hotel by a vehicle. There won’t be an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pulasthi W
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post such a descriptive review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team as they are the greatest asset that we own & thats why we call ourselves as "Topaz" & "The Tourmaline" thank you once...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We stayed here as a family of 1 adult with 2 children aged 14 and 11 for 2 nights. Pros: - Clean, comfortable rooms, nothing outstanding - Buffet dinner and breakfast had a reasonable selection of options but was quite average in taste - Nice location on the hillside Cons: - Wifi did not work in the room - Food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danni-NZ
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. By reading your review,we did understand that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations & We do apologize for any inconveniences caused due to WiFi access & we have investigated the issue...

Spoettrup, Denmark
Reviewed 17 April 2017

My and my wife had a wonderfull stay in an excellent room on the third ground , and a beautifull view to the city. A short walk to the outside pool was worth to go. The breakfast and evening buffet was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olechristensenole
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward...

398 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.0 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
972 reviews
0.2 km away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#18 of 54 in Kandy
351 reviews
1.8 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,235 reviews
1.7 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.8 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $91 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Topaz staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Topaz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“although a fab view, one can hear occasional car if sleeping in the front”
Suzymalento, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Pick another hotel”
  • On the top of hill, step narrow road difficult to walk anywhere
stjean11, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Best view and big size”
olechristensenole, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great views, friendly staff & value for money”
461asankas, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms towards the swimming pools are great...”
nadhiyafazal, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
USD 78* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 108
Hotels.comUSD 86
TravelocityUSD 157
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates