We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hilltop

Agoda.comUSD 57*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 62*
USD 57*
Great Deal
USD 62*
USD 59*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Hilltop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 422: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Hilltop
 Click to rate
Colombo
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not a new place for us and we have been patronizing this place for over 20 years. Hotel was kept clean and the upgraded rooms are giving a positive look to the hotel. Food was all right. Of course we miss the balconies!! The management and staff were friendly and attentive. Only negative point we could think of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mj_liyanage
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us which pave us way for further improvement. We hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back and assure you of delivering our superior service at...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Hilltop Kandy is one of the modern hotels in the Kandy District of Sri Lanka. Built on top of a Hilly area within the Kandy City Centre, this Hotel owned by Aitken Spence Hotels in a very nice place to spend your holiday. Each room gives you a panaromic view of the Kandy City area which is very relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laksiri
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have chosen Hotel Hilltop for your holiday and thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us and also thank you very much for the applause given as well. We hope that you would give us...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A gorgeous quiet escape from the excitement of Kandy! Ayesh Heshan was my server on both nights and was incredibly professional and helpful for my entire stay! Couldn't recommend staying here highly enough!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RheaWalker
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have chosen Hotel Hilltop for your holiday and thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us and also thank you very much for the applause given as well. We shall share your compliments with our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hotel Hilltop for one night during a tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on a hillside up a narrow and steep hill about a mile outside the centre of Kandy. As a result transport is needed to get to the centre. The children loved the pool and the buffet dinner and breakfast were absolutely excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Englishguy49
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us which pave us way for further improvement. We hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back and assure you of delivering our superior service at...

Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel could use a little updating considering it is so nicely situated. Check in was quick and professional. The rooms were clean although the bathrooms are a bit on the small size. The balconies overlooking the pool are a great touch. The food quality was fairly good although the only choice was buffet. The internet connection, were told was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigBlackYak
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are not soundproof and I was woken up very early from the outside noise although I had intended to get proper rest from the previous days journey. Staff looked surprised when informed. Average hotel and service and one should not have high expectations if staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dallas M
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that the hotel is situated in the middle of the city center of Kandy; hence the noise is...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 April 2017

It was quite a disappointment for us during our 2 days stay. The hotel is quite noisy as its located up hill and near by a temple. WiFi signal was not available throughout the hotel. food was okay and the staff was doing it's best to accommodate a relaxed environment, but the loud sound from the temple was overwhelming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that the hotel is situated in the middle of the city center of Kandy; hence noise is quite...

Reviewed 4 April 2017

We had rooms with city view. fairly big room they were very clean. Good hospitality and foods were good with a choice. However walkways are bit slippery, Pool attendant is available. Carom and table tennis available as in door games. No garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting our hotel as the preferred holiday destination and we are glad to see that you have received an amazing experience. Many thanks for recommending our hotel and we are glad to see the nice comments on everything including the culinary experience and the staff members. Please do pay another visit to...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We fortunately only had to stay 1 night at this hotel. We were first offered a room overlooking the pool. The room was basic and ok but when we saw the bathroom it was disgusting. The tiles were cracked, black mildew in the shower and behind the sink and the toilet was dirty. The towels were stained and looked unwashed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
Faridabad, India
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Nice location ..Hilltop is a decent hotel which offers basic amenities.The rooms are just about OK though the bathrooms are very small (stayed in a standard room) The food is very good and the staff were very polite. Just a small advise - the hotel is on a small hill and the climb if you walk is very steep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajit13
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back and assure you of delivering our superior service at all times. Yours Sincerely, Senani Perera, General Manager, Hotel Hilltop, Kandy.

402 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
677 reviews
1.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
972 reviews
1.8 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,236 reviews
2.1 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
716 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 54 in Kandy
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $60 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third floor refurbished rooms are nice.”
mj_liyanage, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a good view over Kandy”
Englishguy49, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are equally good.”
BigBlackYak, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't get the basement rooms going down near the reception hall. It was very loud and struggled to sleep.”
upalik2016, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Naybe higher rooms are quieter than lower ones”
PatBB_13, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 57* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 62
PricelineUSD 59
Expedia.comUSD 62
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates