We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Change

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Change
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Change
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016

i made a booking through agoda, once i reached our room was not ready and had to wait some time, even though they had our booking on a some kind of a log book as i saw it because the gentlemen who was inquiring bout my booking number, we were asked to wait till the room is ready it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pradeep P
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir i think u can have dinner packs in down town 100 rs or more less .but u can get our cleanness services and i big leg of chicken and 3 curry's and this location. u can see our revives how the people like . we are very sorry and this is a boutique hotel u have to understand...

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We started our trip in Kandy. The hotel is very nice, because it is located in the hills of Kandy and therefore offers good views. Rooms are furnished very basic, but for a short stay its totally ok. In the evening they offer very delicious food. You can choose between meat and a vegetarian option. Staff is also very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricarda T
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir madam i wanted to thank you for your valuable time and your golden words. its going to be very helpful for our feature clients. thank u very much. staff from the change and owner. anura

Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 August 2016

good place to stay calm and happy ,,breakfast is exalent, frindly staff, recommend hotel, we ware with friends ,enjoied much ,in mountains The hotel rooms are very clean with a balcony and full view of Kandy. We did fight a bat and lizards in the room which was a very funny

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anjup28
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir sorry for the lizard. that 's the season of the kind of animals .but there not dangers . and our staff forgot to keep close the doors and windows . and the most import en thing is to thank you for the review.its going to be a very helpful for our new coming clients. thank u very much...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This is an awesome palce to stay at for couples looking to just sink in the Kandy fresh air, the hotel is quite some distance from main city so you might have to take a shared tuk tuk but once at hotel you may not feel like leaving. The place serves lunch/dinners so you dont have to visit city if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sprabs
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir madam thank u very much for your valuable words and it will be very helpful for our future clients thanks again anura

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We thought our driver was going to give up - this place is hard to find - but it was well worth the work. Very quaint hillside location overlooking the valley and picturesque hills. We arrived late and the manager was extremely gracious and helpful. The room was cool, clean and spacious with a nice deck for relaxing. Dinner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad G
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We spent 1 night in this lovely hidden hotel in the hills of Kandy. The view from the balkony is amazing. Breakfast and dinner was also good. They serve classic Sri Lankan meals. People are very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately they do not accept credit cards but we have been able to pay in Euros. We enjoyed our stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andree W
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir madam as a owner i wanted to thank you for your lovely revive. thank u very much anura

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

The place is very nice and has a nice view. It is a bit hard to reach with a narrow uphill road. Rooms are clean and designed with good taste. We were served a simple dinner (small rice and curry) which was definitely overpriced (800rp), but being off season the place was empty. Good if you want to stay out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alberto R
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir madam i want to thank u for ur lovely review thank u sir it will be very helpful for our future guest owner anura and staff the change kandy srilanka

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

We visited The Change as part of our guided tour of Sri Lanka. It was a steep drive for our gorgeous driver Sam but he handled it beautifully! We had no idea what to expect and were thrilled! Brilliant night time view, lovely rooms, gorgeous dining area, great food, lovely host and a really great vibe! We were smiling from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alphalimahotel
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir madam good day. how are u? i think all good. i want to thank u for ur lovely comment . it will be very helpful for us for the future clients. thank u very much the change hotel kandy srilanka

Melbourne
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

I can't recommend The Change highly enough - it's perfectly and tactfully appointed in a modern colonial style with teak furniture but a renovated bathroom. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean with breathtaking views over Kandy, & in typical Sri Lankan style the hosts & staff can't do enough for you. It's not at all close to Kandy city &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebonyh
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir madam how are u doing.we want to thank u for ur lovely comment. this five lovely words will hep our future cllients very much so beutyfull thank u anura the change kandy srilanka

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

A little bit hard to reach by car due to the steep hill. The room was very comfortable but we were annoyed by the neighbors dog who kept barking early in the morning. Despite above stated, the exceptional view made our stay very nice. Also the dinner curry was the best I had in Sri Lanka!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mexikanita
2761Sue, Owner at The Change, responded to this review

dear sir madam thank u for the lovely words. it will be very helpful for our future clients . and we are really sorry about the dogs .there not our dogs there from next house.it happens very rear . we are from the change kandy srilanka anura

240 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (240)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (132)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
3.4 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 63 in Kandy
615 reviews
1.3 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
3.9 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#11 of 63 in Kandy
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 63 in Kandy
613 reviews
6.7 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 63 in Kandy
279 reviews
4.5 km away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#24 of 63 in Kandy
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Change

Address: Green Hill, Block 56, Heeressagala, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: $66 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Change reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Change staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Change staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one over looking Kandy hills”
 of 5 bubbles S7121SAmichelleo, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wi fi is dodgy in the hills, this was better than other places but not constitent. Only really matters if you really you need it”
 of 5 bubbles dano71, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have better views and privacy”
 of 5 bubbles sprabs, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All are good.”
 of 5 bubbles lilua_12, 14 May 2016 | Read review
“This is a very solid, comfortable,well furnished house and as far as I could tell all the rooms had expansive views from private balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles mama2227, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay