We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amaya Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Amaya Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 962: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a property sprawling in Acres of forest land next to the lake with club house accommodation and luxury cottages. Peace, quite and tranquility. Great food and and amazing pool area. Offers activities as safari, spa, yoga, tennis, badminton etc. There is a tree house too and benches are placed right at the lakeshore for the perfect sunset view....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sid K
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed there for two nights and we enjoyed the stay very much mostly because of the nice environment. They have a nice huge garden and it ends near Kandalama lake. The view is really nice. Their meals were perfect and room service was also at a satisfactory level.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosyU
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am very much fortunate to visit many hotels in Sri Lanka and if I recommend a Sri Lankan hotel to any one Amaya Lake would be the first. I visited hotel with my wife and we traveled from Ella to Kandalama. At first I was not so sure about the service or quality of the hotel. But I was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Prabath J
Orebro, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a 2 weeks round trip across Srilanka with the help of a travel agent here in sweden " Solresor". Everything was arranged before hand . We had a full programme with many cultural, social , environmental and historical activities . We visited different cities and sites of historical and cultural significans . It was a great round trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkh0012014
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed two nights here with my husband and parents, and had a lovely time. The rooms were bright and airy, with wifi in the room. No mosquitoes despite us being beside a lake, which was very impressive. The grounds were beautiful, especially the loungers in front of the lake. The food was good at all mealtimes, with a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lankawings
Amaya_GRE, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the valuable review and it is a pleasure to understand that you were much satisfied with the offered services and we will make sure to arrange the best for the essential services as you have pointed out in the future and trust you will visit us to experience the same: Thank you, Ayubowan…!!

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Amaya only one night while our trip in Sri Lanka And we loved it! The surroundings are amazing: beautiful park, full of birds and little lizards, a lake over which we even spotted an elephant. Even though we did not stay in the area, the stuff allowed us to use a pool secured only for the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AAP2013
Amaya_GRE, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable review with reference to your stay at ‘Amaya Lake’ recently; The Buffet locations we arrange on different locations to offer the clients a change and it will create a different atmosphere: Understand that you have not noticed the same and glad to hear that you were satisfied with the services offered throughout your...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in November. What an amazing experience that was! Well maintained beautiful garden filled with trees and creepers. You can walk up the lake and enjoy breathing nature. The rooms were huge with all the modern facilities. Cleanliness was at its best. Lots of out door activities. Very helpful and friendly staff. Delicious food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Padma S
Amaya_GRE, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Appreciate your inspiring review with the services experienced throughout your stay at Amaya Lake. Glad to understand that you had enjoy the stay with us and hope you will visit us on your next visit to experience our hospitality…with a Different style of Holiday…!! Thank you, Ayubowan…!!

Pannipitiya, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 2 night stay at Amaya Lake and it was our second visit after 9 years. Place is quiet developed and environment is more greenish with surrounded trees & creepers. We had a delicious foods at their restaurant. Had a enough time at the pool. they provided shuttle service during night time. Unfortunately our slippers were taken by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denuwan W
Amaya_GRE, Guest Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review

24th November 2016 Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the review you have made and it is a pleasure to know that you had enjoyed the overall experience with the Hospitality offered: Trust you will visit us, on your visits to Cultural Triangle in future: Thank you, Ayubowan…!! P.R. Manager – Amaya Lake

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice hotel and good facilities. great spaces for walking around and near the lake. nice treehouse. only negative was that there was no baby pool which meant the kids were not getting the best possible. not the most child friendly place that I have been to but for couples I would say this is a good place to relax and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DilhanJ
Amaya_GRE, Guest Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review through your experience at ‘Amaya Lake’ and appreciate your effort on making the same. Understand to know that you have satisfied with the services experienced accept the pool usage for the kids. However the kids could utilize the shallow end as the depth is not more than 3 feet. And also, trust...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful grounds in an exquisite setting on a lovely lake. The rooms were large and sumptuous with a huge bathroom including a gorgeous tub. Delicious food and wonderful service. We were only there for one night but wished we could have stayed for many more days!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LovinLife8888
Amaya_GRE, Public Relations Manager at Amaya Lake, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for making time to publish a review and we are glad to hear that you had experienced the services extended and it was a prestige to have you both as our valuable clients on your special day and hope you will visit us on your next visit to Cultural Triangle – Sri Lanka...!! Thank you, Ayubowan…!!...

1,469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1419)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (321)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (291)
Viewed
Dining (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Other (457)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
2.6 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 14 in Dambulla
3,109 reviews
0.0 km away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#2 of 14 in Dambulla
171 reviews
12.3 km away
Aliya Resort and Spa
Aliya Resort and Spa
#2 of 18 in Sigiriya
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 18 in Sigiriya
1,310 reviews
9.3 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 18 in Sigiriya
1,297 reviews
16.5 km away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the shores of enchanting Kandalama Lake, discover a lifestyle defined by tradition and natural splendour. Nestled amid 40 acres of lush forest, Amaya Lake preserves the aura of local historical treasures, creating a feeling of old-world Sri Lankan charm matched with modern luxury. Located in the heart of Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle, the resort is the ideal base for exploring nearby wonders such as the ancient city of Anuradhapura and the Dambulla cave temples. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amaya Lake

Address: PO Box 12 Kandalama Dambulla | Cultural Triangle, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Price Range: $113 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Amaya Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Lake Dambulla
Amaya Lake Hotel Dambulla
Amaya Lake Sri Lanka/Dambulla
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#3 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amaya Lake staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Amaya Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All Cottages are pretty much similar where location is concerned. We stayed in a delux room in the middle of the premises.”
  • Our Cottage
 of 5 bubbles padmas2013, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont keep your shoes outside the room/suite, dogs may take those away”
 of 5 bubbles denuwanw, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It depends on how far you wish to walk - the grounds are expansive so your room could be quite far from the facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles LovinLife8888, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closest to the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles simonc462, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The paradise hotel with a huge garden area. Will recommend to all my friends:)”
  • bathroom
  • bathroom
  • room
 of 5 bubbles ilmira2003, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay