We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gimanhala Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Gimanhala Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The staff were friendly. The room was clean and the mosquito net was very clean and in perfect condition. The room/bathroom was dated but serviceable. The pool area was good with towel and bar service, if a little slow. They even bought me a mosquito coil to burn. Breakfast was good with a large selection and the lamprice dish they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomes74
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

I used this hotel as a transit hotel with my family to have lunch. Superb service and very teasty food. Haven't stayed here to comment on rooms. Excellent location and very clean. very nicely welcomed and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manjula R
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this review

Mr. Manjula, Thank you for your valuable comment on us. It shown that we have met your requirement @ you are happy with service & the food. Hope to see you again. Wish you all the best !

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went here for lunch in a day of sightseeing. I'm sure it's the tourist place where the drivers eat for free, but we enjoyed it. Good selection of food and desserts, and with a nice view of the pool. Great service as well.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank natnoodle11
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at gimanhala for 2 nights and we could be more happy. The room was ok, but very cold and noisy AC. Also a little bit dirty. Dinner and breakfast was very boring, but the lunch was ok! And very friendly staff!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isabell G
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

2 night stay here as part of a tour. My bedroom was very clean & super comfortable bed & real cotton sheets. Good aircon ( tho a bit noisy) and reliable wifi. Bathroom was in need of modernisation but was. Lean & functional However other rooms were not as nice so if you're not happy ask to change room Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntSE27
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest, Its is pleasure to note your comment on us. We as a team always looking forward to improve and make sure that guests meets their comfort at Gimanhala. Your comment expressed that you were happy with us and we wish to Thank you for visiting Gimanhala. Hope to see you again. Best wishes !

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our tour was booked into this place so we didn't choose it, but it turned out to be a good choice. It is not a fancy top-end hotel, but a decent and basic one. The staff are friendly, if not as forthcoming as in some other countries, but maybe that is a cultural thing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GloJul
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

I came to this restaurant when I'm traveling to Dumbella It's a good open buffet restaurant with lots of foods variety almost all foods are Halal only one dish and they tell you to be careful there is a good view front of the swimming pool good one

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
S Wales
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Our 'guide' recommended this place for lunch . I suspect he was on commission. We've since had a 'conversation'. I suspect you'll have come to this place under the same circumstances so this post is to try and reduce their four star rating they display. Buffet lunch at lkr 1,200 per person. Combination of different food types all very average....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drc225
Gimanhala, Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this review

First of all we would like to Thank you for your comment. Please note that following are not excuses, but explanation of the actual situation. * We are a Transit Hotel, we have been patronizing by more than 200 people per day for the Buffet Lunch. * The Daily Buffet Lunch operated from 11.30 am to 03.00 pm. * The...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We have been to Gimanhala over the years, using it as a pitstop en route to other destinations further afield. They have never failed to disappoint and this time too we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived even before 7am but were told we could have breakfast if we didn't mind waiting a bit. It is a peaceful location, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mishthi C
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this review

It is such pleasure to note your comment on us, Sir. We believe your comments (both positive & negative) motivate our staff, encourage Management and also a blessing. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed money worth Breakfast and its content. Once again I must Thank you on behalf of Gimanhala team, for visiting us, commenting and encouraging...

Reviewed 3 July 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst touring Sri Lanka. It was a pleasant stay and the hotels restaurant is lovely. The rooms are quite old fashioned but the wifi and tv are good. • Great food and drink • Rooms are ok – they do have mosquito nets • Great location for Golden Buddha and Sigirya

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paige W
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest, It is great to note that you comment on us on Tripadvisor. As you have mentioned, our rooms are looks quite old, but will be refurbished in the near future. Thank you for visiting and commenting on us. Wish you all the very best !

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
0.0 km away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
100 reviews
6.4 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,180 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#54 of 63 in Kandy
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Sundaras Resort
Sundaras Resort
#7 of 15 in Dambulla
484 reviews
5.7 km away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
1,385 reviews
0.6 km away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 70 in Dambulla
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We, Gimanhala located in center of Dambulla, Sri Lanka since 1988 for last 28 years as two (02) star Hotel. We are capable in catering 150 odd guests meal during the Lunch hour. (12.00 to 03.00 - daily) Daily Breakfast Buffet is also available from 07.00 to 09.30 am. 30 standard guest rooms are most popular among the both Transit & Leisure based guests. Outdoor swimming pool, free push cycles, are available for resident guests. Traveler's cafe, Traveler's Boutique will be also open from 07.00 am to 10.00 pm. We handle Airport transfers, round tours, special events, and many more which meets guests requirement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gimanhala Hotel

Address: 754 Anuradhapura Road | 754, Anuradhapura Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Price Range: $44 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gimanhala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gimanhala Hotel Sri Lanka/Dambulla
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dambulla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gimanhala Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I haven't stayed here to comment on rooms as I used this hotel for lunch as a transit guest.”
 of 5 bubbles Manjulacr, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is only one room with a double bed, all others are singles pushed together.”
 of 5 bubbles 796paigew, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles roshania714, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Hotel on main road so if you can get a room further back from the road this would be quieter...”
 of 5 bubbles ShelleyR138, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Our room was upstairs and was quiet at night despite the busy road outside”
 of 5 bubbles WendyC745, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay