We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pacific Gardens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of Pacific Gardens Hotel
 Click to rate
Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

A small babbling brook, cool mountain air and a myriad of colourful flowers welcomes you to PGH. A peaceful oasis to come home to at the end of a Goroka work day. Huge kingsize bed, a flat screen TV with a good assortment of programmes, a small dining table, a writing desk and a sizable bathroom with lovely hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderingTraveller79
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

standard rooms are way overpriced for what you get, TV didn't connect the whole time I was there, food a bit overrated and overpriced, staff very friendly, pleasant place to stay away from the bustle of downtown Goroka. Shower was a joke, water pressure variable and shower head pathetic

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Micridd
Lae, Papua New Guinea
Reviewed 9 April 2016

A frequent traveller to this spot. I check in almost 6 or 7 times a year to this hotel. and always prefer Deluxe rooms . To begin with, the rooms are NEAT! well kept, clean sheets & towels etc. food is slightly on the expensive side, but the case is same with other hotels available in this part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sajith S
pacificgardenshotel, Manager at Pacific Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. As for the TV service we are pleased to announce we will have a new provider soon with plenty of channels for your viewing. Kind regards, Brett Smith

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 23 December 2015

My group went to this restaurant twice. The first time, I ordered Vegetarian lasagna. They basically put a stir fry mix in with the tomato sauce and cheese which wouldn't have been too bad except for the huge pieces of ginger. The next night, despite my reservations, we went again. This time I ordered vegetarian pizza. Once again it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank megustaleer
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewed 15 June 2015

I stayed for two nights at this place, and would unhesitatingly recommend it. Staff were courteous and efficient. Rooms were highly satisfactory, food was good, and service was swift and the portions were generous, and the coffee was fabulous - so much so that I made a special trip to the local factory and bought a bag of six packets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger M
Pacificghotel, Manager at Pacific Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

We will be looking forward for your return and are happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. Kind regards Brett Smith

Kaufbeuren, Germany
Reviewed 31 January 2015

We stayed in this hotel at the end of december 2014/january 2015 for a week! It is wheelchairfriendly (not the restaurant and bar) and in PNG-standards quite good! Probably one of the best options in Goroka. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel feels really safe! The price for this quality is ok! The restaurant is quite good, but by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dein-reisebegleiter
pacificgardenshotel, Manager at Pacific Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Pacific Gardens Brett Smith

Maroochydore, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Stayed for 3 nights in a Premier double room -no complaints-very clean, good bed, spacious. Also met the 60 minutes team whom were staying at the same time, filming an up and coming episode. Overall a great experience, and the staff were very friendly and Management very helpful with everything.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gjmks
pacificgardenshotel, Manager at Pacific Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

I am happy that you enjoyed your time with us at Pacific Gardens Hotel. Thanks for your review. Brett Smith

Melbourne
Reviewed 17 October 2014

My husband & I spent our first two nights in Goroka here at the Pacific Gardens hotel, it was a wonderful stay. The room we had was a Premier Double Room, very modern, spacious, comfortable, & away from the main body of the hotel a little. We did get some noise drift up one night when participants of a conference...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenzMelbourne
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you have the chance (and the means) - go for the upscale rooms. The first night I spent here was in a standard room. While it was OK and good for my needs, it was a bit small and run down and a bit noisy too. This is the type of room I would expect in a simple guest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank due_passi
Florida
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We enjoyed our meal at the Pacific Gardens. A bit out of the main part of town, the hotel sits on beautiful and tranquil grounds, a real protected oasis for those who are feeling a bit overwhelmed by the crowds in town. Our meal was well served and delicious, prices are reasonable for the area. Not as grand as the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WallyFL

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goroka
2.0 km away
Bird Of Paradise Hotel
0.0 km away
Seeadler Bay Hotel
Seeadler Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lorengau
5 reviews
0.0 km away
Madang Star International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Pacific Gardens Hotel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come & Relax in a Beautiful Tropical Garden Setting Pacific Gardens Hotel is located in the beautiful Pacific Gardens Estate. A gated, secure, park like setting on over 20 acres of land with walking trails, barbecue area, playground and a meandering mountain stream giving the hotel a quiet peaceful atmosphere. The hotel offers visitors the newest and best accommodation in Goroka, ranging from standard to newly built premier rooms and self contained apartments. The Al La Carte /Chinese Restaurant is now complimented by a bar area for those wishing to relax after a busy day. A new conference room has been added making it the most modern and biggest in Goroka town. For your next visit to Goroka consider the Pacific Gardens Hotel. "The Pride of Goroka". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Hotel

Address: 1 Mokara Street North Goroka, Goroka 441, Papua New Guinea
Region: Papua New Guinea > Highlands Region > Goroka
Price Range: $91 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Goroka, South Pacific
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pacific Gardens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“std rooms are very basic, shower hopeless and frustratingly inadequate”
 of 5 bubbles Micridd, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“ask for DELUXE rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 997sajiths, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Any of the Premier rooms”
 of 5 bubbles gjmks, 26 Jan 2015 | Read review
“If you are wanting a larger room, go for the Premier Double Room, very nicely set out, though I think at the time of the Goroka Show you would need to settle for what they have left, we had to move as they had no other rooms over the show weekend”
  • The spacious bathroom in our room
  • Our Premier room
  • Our Premier room again
 of 5 bubbles JenzMelbourne, 16 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Rooms and beds are not the best & food and hygiene very poor”
 of 5 bubbles 887brads, 31 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5