We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sepilok Jungle Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sepilok Jungle Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sepilok Jungle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 473: English reviews
India
Reviewed 20 December 2016

With a view of the rainforest, this room was set in a beautiful location and well decorated. The adjoining restaurant served us delicious authentic food and drink. Being walking distance to the Sepilok Orang utan sanctuary, this hotel is highly recommended. Meg & Nik With A Suitcase

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WithASuitcase
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear WithASuitcase, Meg and Nik Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that you are able to enjoy the authentic food that we serve to our guests. I will pass your compliments to everyone and I am sure all the staff will be very happy and...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night before heading to Turtle island. Room a bit rundown but still in good condition. Food was okay, breakfast was too simple (hopefully this could be improved). Also the cleanliness of the area could be improved (i saw a water bottle and small rubbish lying around on the way to the rooms at..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinah J M
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dinah J M, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We will continue to improve on our cleanliness. Thank you for pointing it out for us. When we have more than 20 persons in the resort, we will serve buffet style. However, if we have less than that, then guests would have 3 options to choose from ie American...

Urangan, Australia
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The location is excellent next to the Orangutan and Sun Bear rehabilitation centre. The resort looks like it was once a showpiece but is sadly run down. The room was comfortable, beds nice and soft and the air-conditioner worked well. The gardens were beautiful but needed a bit of love. The freshly cooked food was delicious but we were concerned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Faye R
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Faye R, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Thanks for your compliments on our room and beds. Our garden is deliberately leave it in such condition to be as natural as possible. As a result many wildlife especially birds come to the garden. We are sorry that it gives an messy impression to you. All in house guests...

Scotts Valley CA
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Basic jungle style resort – the facility looks a bit dated. The rooms were a little rundown, but clean. Since it was only for one night, it was adequate. We reserved the aircon room and the aircon worked fine. Maybe we were lucky, but we were not bothered by mosquitoes. The internal path to the Banana Café was under repair,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JKD
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear JKD, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. The internal path repair has been completed as it was damaged by a fallen tree. You have made the right choice by choosing to stay with as we are strategically located next to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre and Bornean Sunbear Conservation Centre. Thanks for your compliment on our receptionist. Once...

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights, and stayed at the cheapest room with no air conditioner, only a fan. This was the only room available, but it was no problem. We slept well. The surroundings are amazing, and the staff here helped us spot birds in the area. We were lucky enough to be guided on a bird trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lillian T
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lillian T, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. The staff you are referring is called Robert. He is a bird watching specialist. He will go to the canopy walk every morning to do some bird watching. Let us know if you are coming back again and we will ask him to bring you around. We are glad that...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This resort is situated really close to the orangutan and sun bear sanctuary which is so worth going to. The accommodation is ok but quite dated and the air conditioning is desperate but the idea is lovely with walkways over the water and the bird life is fabulous to see with kingfishers to watch as you walk through. We found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank The_gardening_girl
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear The_gardening_girl, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. I will pass your compliments to the staff and i am sure they will be delighted to hear it from you. We have set aside 20 acres of land for the wildlife in the area. That is why people can easily see wildlife while staying with us at the resort. We...

Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and had a very nice room with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The owner began this project about 25 yrs ago by digging the ponds and planting garden and trees. It is a labor of love. Yes, it has seen better times as the owner is getting on in years, but the garden is mature...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trude57
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Trude57, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Indeed we have operated for more than 20 years. Our first customer arrive on 19 May 1995 but we start the whole project in the 1990's. In fact all the trees at the resort you see was planted by my father 25 years ago and they have grown up healthily. We...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

5 minute walk to orangutang and Sunbears sanctuary. Food in restaurant was okay but overpriced. Rooms are very dated but have the potential to be lovely. The walkways around the hotel although lovely are very old and broken in certain areas. The wifi is not great Pool area is lovely Day trip etc were very expensive We received no free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank becw647
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear becw647,, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. There was a thunderstorm and one of the tree fell and land on the bridge. It has not been fixed. Sandakan Town is about 30-40 minutes from Sepilok. Free service to airport is available if you book the rooms with our special promotions. We are sorry that you were not aware...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Perfectly located for the orang-utans and with a genuine jungle feel this place has a range that sits from excellent to not much better than poor. The positives: location, if you have a car, the large pool, the walkways over the water. The negatives: pretty average food offer, breakfast not even including fruit juice, rooms that have seen better days....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OnwardTraveller
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear OnwardTraveller, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you come back to visit us for the 2nd time after 5 years and still rated us as very good. We will continue to work hard to improve ourselves so our repeat customers will be please to stay with us again. We look forward to see you...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

My family and I are on an organised group tour staying two nights at Sepilok Jungle Resort, the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. We spent time in the pool area, staff are friendly but not interested in safety, they just play with their mobile phones. The Banana Cafe is nice, but we were very disappointed with our breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justyn S
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Justyn S, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed the rooms, food and pool. We will look into providing juices to our guests in the future. We will monitor our staff closely and ensure that they do not play with the phones while on duty. We look forward to welcome you again....

274 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 km away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
528 reviews
19.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
18.4 km away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
61 reviews
0.8 km away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#7 of 30 in Sandakan
26 reviews
2.8 km away
Sepilok B&B
Sepilok B&B
#2 of 20 in Sandakan
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: $42 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sepilok Jungle Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Sepilok Jungle Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room with a balcony and don't forget to bring your own toileteries!”
 of 5 bubbles debgloury, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“newer wing (still shop-worn) units have porches (for 'deluxe' price).”
 of 5 bubbles rogerm332, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms closer to swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles May_Malek, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the forest”
 of 5 bubbles WithASuitcase, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our superior room overlooked the garden so was extremely quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 416christopherp, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5