We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sepilok Jungle Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sepilok Jungle Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 461: English reviews
Urangan, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is excellent next to the Orangutan and Sun Bear rehabilitation centre. The resort looks like it was once a showpiece but is sadly run down. The room was comfortable, beds nice and soft and the air-conditioner worked well. The gardens were beautiful but needed a bit of love. The freshly cooked food was delicious but we were concerned... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Faye R
Scotts Valley CA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Basic jungle style resort – the facility looks a bit dated. The rooms were a little rundown, but clean. Since it was only for one night, it was adequate. We reserved the aircon room and the aircon worked fine. Maybe we were lucky, but we were not bothered by mosquitoes. The internal path to the Banana Café was under repair,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JKD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for 3 nights, and stayed at the cheapest room with no air conditioner, only a fan. This was the only room available, but it was no problem. We slept well. The surroundings are amazing, and the staff here helped us spot birds in the area. We were lucky enough to be guided on a bird trip to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lillian T
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lillian T, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. The staff you are referring is called Robert. He is a bird watching specialist. He will go to the canopy walk every morning to do some bird watching. Let us know if you are coming back again and we will ask him to bring you around. We are glad that... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This resort is situated really close to the orangutan and sun bear sanctuary which is so worth going to. The accommodation is ok but quite dated and the air conditioning is desperate but the idea is lovely with walkways over the water and the bird life is fabulous to see with kingfishers to watch as you walk through. We found... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank The_gardening_girl
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear The_gardening_girl, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. I will pass your compliments to the staff and i am sure they will be delighted to hear it from you. We have set aside 20 acres of land for the wildlife in the area. That is why people can easily see wildlife while staying with us at the resort. We... More 

Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and had a very nice room with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The owner began this project about 25 yrs ago by digging the ponds and planting garden and trees. It is a labor of love. Yes, it has seen better times as the owner is getting on in years, but the garden is mature... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trude57
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Trude57, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Indeed we have operated for more than 20 years. Our first customer arrive on 19 May 1995 but we start the whole project in the 1990's. In fact all the trees at the resort you see was planted by my father 25 years ago and they have grown up healthily. We... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

5 minute walk to orangutang and Sunbears sanctuary. Food in restaurant was okay but overpriced. Rooms are very dated but have the potential to be lovely. The walkways around the hotel although lovely are very old and broken in certain areas. The wifi is not great Pool area is lovely Day trip etc were very expensive We received no free... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank becw647
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear becw647,, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. There was a thunderstorm and one of the tree fell and land on the bridge. It has not been fixed. Sandakan Town is about 30-40 minutes from Sepilok. Free service to airport is available if you book the rooms with our special promotions. We are sorry that you were not aware... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Perfectly located for the orang-utans and with a genuine jungle feel this place has a range that sits from excellent to not much better than poor. The positives: location, if you have a car, the large pool, the walkways over the water. The negatives: pretty average food offer, breakfast not even including fruit juice, rooms that have seen better days.... More 

Helpful?
Thank OnwardTraveller
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear OnwardTraveller, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you come back to visit us for the 2nd time after 5 years and still rated us as very good. We will continue to work hard to improve ourselves so our repeat customers will be please to stay with us again. We look forward to see you... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

My family and I are on an organised group tour staying two nights at Sepilok Jungle Resort, the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. We spent time in the pool area, staff are friendly but not interested in safety, they just play with their mobile phones. The Banana Cafe is nice, but we were very disappointed with our breakfast,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justyn S
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Justyn S, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed the rooms, food and pool. We will look into providing juices to our guests in the future. We will monitor our staff closely and ensure that they do not play with the phones while on duty. We look forward to welcome you again.... More 

Siemianowice Slaskie, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We had to go to the SDK airport for our lost luggage and we ask about transfer. The staff at reception offered us a drive to the airport for around 44 RM with waiting until we collect our luggage. When we returned to the resort they charged us 88 RM. They justified it with long time. We collected our luggage... More 

Helpful?
Thank markos743
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear markos743, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Thanks for your compliment on the reception staf and the well kept surroundings. We will pass your feedback to the kitchen to ensure that we will be able to provide tasty food for our guests. We look forward to welcome you again. Johnny More 

Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic resort. It may not be five star but the rooms are good the food at the restaurant is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Take your time to wonder around the gardens to see some of the native wildlife .

Helpful?
Thank Robert F
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Robert F, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Thanks for rating us a 5 star and we will continue to work harder to ensure that everyone will enjoy their stay with us just like you have. We look forward to welcome you again. Johnny More 

266 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.2 km away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
504 reviews
19.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
18.4 km away
Sabah Hotel
Sabah Hotel
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
35 reviews
4.0 km away
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
52.7 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
#13 of 31 in Sandakan
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: $46 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sepilok Jungle Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Sepilok Jungle Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our superior room overlooked the garden so was extremely quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 416christopherp, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The room next to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles lenalu1990, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Most of the rooms are same and spread in the area”
 of 5 bubbles OzaMansi, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“De Lux rooms are completely submerged into the garden. Absolutely recommended!”
 of 5 bubbles HappyFrogTravels, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with A/C it is very hot in those rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 341stephaniel, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay