We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Outspan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Outspan Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Outspan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I spent a weekend at the outspan with some of my family members in august. The hotel in general is good on an average level......it leaves a lot to be desired.....my first room didnt have a good heating system for water but the hotel staff transferred me to a different room...though it took a while before they took action....the selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyokabi K
Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The reason to go to out span is to visit the final resting place of the founder of girl guides / scouts. A very special place for the worlds largest women's movement/ scouts. Enjoyed every minute. Great staff, lovely gardens, I will return, hopefully on November 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy957
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Outspan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor and good to know you enjoyed your stay at Outspan. We are glad to be associated with Founders of World Scout Movement and Paxtu that has been gazetted as a National Monument in Kenya. We look forward to hosting you In November 2015 Regards E.Nguraru

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We decided to stay here because it was a historic lodge, however it really is in a sorry state. The staff were really friendly and it is in a lovely place. We stayed in Room 11, a wonderful size looking over the garden. Very happy with the old furniture, but the sheet on the bed was too small and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah H
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Outspan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah H, Thank you for staying in this historic hotel and we are glad that you took time to share your experience with us on Tripadviosor. We have taken note of your suggestions and have engaged the chef regarding food quality. We look forward to hosting you soon. Regards E. Nguraru

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for a week for work. Front of house staff were great; in particular they sent someone into town to a pharmacy for me at no cost and arranged to have stuff I'd left behind forwarded to Nairobi really efficiently. Grounds really beautiful too and my room had veranda, shower and bath-tub, as well as the fire you can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SL252014
Bermuda
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have been avoiding this hotel like the plague, instead opting to stay at relatives' houses over the years. But for Christmas, we had 15 people going back home so I thought, Iet's try again. At least during this check in, the staff were better than the last time I was here. When I saw the room (see below) and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank imari96
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Outspan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your feedback regarding your stay at Outspan is appreciated. In regards to product improvement, management started with Treetops refurbishment in 2012. Outspan is next and shall advise our customers once all plans are in place. However we did upgrade 9 standard rooms to deluxe status in 2009. When next in Nyeri, I recommend you book the deluxe wing...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel has a country feel. The green grass, many trees, great climate and the sound of the river from afar are extremely relaxing. In the evening, a fire can be lit in the fireplace, on request. The food was ok, but on one day, not fresh. The staff are helpful but don't seem to enjoy their work as much....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NjeriJ
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stopped at this hotel for lunch on the way to the Treetops Hotel. It is also where one can leave large pieces of luggage as there is very little storage space in the cosy rooms at the Treetops Hotel. The Outspan hotel used to be the home of Robert Baden-Powell who was the founder of the Scouts movement. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ranjan M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Their rooms were nice and the building has great history, loved the furniture in the room. Real wood that one cannot find easily these days. Breakfast was great in the balcony, pity we were not able to see the mountain due to overhanging clouds. Dinner staff at the restaurant could use a bit of improvement. Otherwise, after a whole day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThuleN
Flic En Flac
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel, which has certainly seen better days. rooms are tired and 1950s style, but a plus is that they will put a fire in the fireplace for you. Major negative is the food - dinner is an ordeal best avoided. Had two truly awful dinners with tasteless overcooked food that was more than a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rswooding
United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived feeling rather tired as the Best of Kenya Safari has a great deal of travelling. Outspan is steeped in history and being the last home of Baden Powell made it even more interesting. The gardens are wonderful very well kept with all kinds of shrubs and trees. I would have liked to have been shown around the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole P

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdare National Park
10.8 km away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
262 reviews
8.3 km away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
312 reviews
16.6 km away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 5 in Nyeri
51 reviews
0.6 km away
The White Rhino Hotel
11.9 km away
Rhino Watch Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Idyllically located in the Kenyan highlands 2 hours drive from Nairobi the capital city, Outspan provides a holistic business, leisure and adventure experience. A comfortable hotel set in well tended tropical gardens with rolling manicured lawns and breath taking views of Mt Kenya. Lord Baden Powell the founder of the Scouting movement spent the last three years of his life here in a cottage called Paxtu which is still preserved to date. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outspan Hotel

Address: Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Price Range: $229 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outspan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Outspan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outspan Hotel Aberdare National Park
Outspan Hotel Kenya/Aberdare National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Outspan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good Views”
 of 5 bubbles ericgG8421DN, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Must spend a Night at Tree Top Lodge managed by Out span Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles YathraTours, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Wifi only works near the reception area”
 of 5 bubbles 915mikeu, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms bad need of renovation - Go for deluxe rooms only”
 of 5 bubbles jarnek, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you want to feel history, go to the old bangalows. Otherwise choose a room in the new wing.”
 of 5 bubbles profgatarat, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay