We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rim Pai Cottage

99/1 Moo 3 Viangtai, Pai 58130 Thailand
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (215)
Room & Suite (78)
Pool & Beach (18)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#6 of 232 Speciality lodging in Pai
Rim Pai Cottage is in a prime location in Pai. The best location. Smack, bang in the middle of all that is happening. Literally 2 metres from the main attraction, 19 elevated bungalows sit in a sumptuous garden landscape welcoming you to Pai. We are certainly not the cheapest place in town, plenty of backpacker dormitories around if you are into that kind of thing, nor are we the most expensive. What we do offer however is quality and peace in a beautifully crafted garden. If you ever come to Thailand and not visit Pai, you'll be missing out on one of most relaxed and hippyfied towns in all of your entire world. Pai is a beautiful, quiet little town in Northern Thailand and is host to the excellence that is Rim Pai Cottage.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Infinity pool
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Seating area
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Thai
181Reviews1Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 48
  • 17
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KiwiCanuckBKK wrote a review Dec 2020
Bangkok, Thailand75 contributions103 helpful votes
Stayed here two nights on a motorbike tour of the Mae Hong Son loop. Wonderfully warm and friendly reception set the tone for the whole visit. We were shown to our lovely cottage, on a nice riverfront piece of property. Comfy bed, and great breakfast the next two mornings. Not 5 star accom, and doesn’t advertise itself as such. We were pleased we stayed and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Hannah316 wrote a review Jan 2020
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam28 contributions8 helpful votes
This really could be a great hotel/resort but just missed the mark every time! We first stayed in a single twin room but due to faulty hot water they kindly offered us an upgrade. The new room was better but still outdated for the price that we were paying. Prior to arrival we explained that we were vegetarian and vegan and would there be an option at breakfast for us. We were very excited when they said that they were trialing a new veggie/vegan menu and would we be willing to try when we arrived. However when we turned up at breakfast we were offered fried rice (yummy you may think) however it was only rice, no veg, sauce or anything! Our stay was in January time and the mornings were freezing, when we spoke to the management about this they offered us more blankets but they barely took the edge off the cold. We asked about heating but apparently quote 'its not worth the money for just 3 months of the year' so not the best attitude. We then became ill (not the hotels fault) but with a combination of the bad attitude of some of the staff, the freezing temperatures and ridiculous breakfast we ended up checking out early. We were not offered a refund. If someone spent a little time, money and energy this would be a great place but I would not recommend this for the money that we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from LIU D, General Manager at Rim Pai Cottage
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction but in offering you more blankets, the staff only did as you asked. As regards breakfast, your remark is especially unique as you stayed for 5 nights without complaint then request a refund. Your hot water experience is however valid. There were 2 similar mechanical failures on the same night. Not just yours but another hot water tank burned out also. My suspicion is they were all installed at the same time from the same batch. These 2 rooms have since been closed. 8 new machine replacements have been ordered to pre-empt any further incidents. Note: After a mechanical failure, the staff followed protocol by offering you a free upgrade to which you wholeheartedly agreed. Thank you...
Read more
Carrie wrote a review Jan 2020
Perth, Australia130 contributions109 helpful votes
I stayed 4 nights at Rim Pai Cottage. I booked it because of its central location. It’s set in beautiful, luscious green gardens just a few short steps from Walking Street. I was greeted warmly upon arrival and check was very smooth and efficient. The gentleman at the front desk carried my pack for and took me the ‘long’ way around to my cottage so he could show where to find the pool and the restaurant for breakfast the next morning. My cottage sleeps two and had plenty of space. The guy had high ceilings and while it is equipped with an air conditioner I didn’t need to use it at all because the room was cool enough. I had my own private little deck/patio. I thoroughly enjoyed sitting out here each afternoon and evening with my book. The deck had a light and Power point for phone charging. Each even someone came around and lit a new mosquito coil which sat in the corner of the deck. There is plenty of parking in the attached lot of you have a car or rent a scooter during your stay. At night you can hear the live music being played at one of the nearby bars, but it is not obnoxiously loud and seems to finish somewhere between 11-12 each night. This might not be so good if you’re a light sleeper. Breakfast was made to order from a simple menu which was more than enough for me. The only negative for me was how hard the bed was was. I would definitely recommend they get some softer mattresses on future. This wouldn’t stop me from staying here again though. It’s like paradise right next to Walking Street.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
flitterfever wrote a review Dec 2019
Alkmaar, The Netherlands1009 contributions92 helpful votes
We liked this place. Right in front of the walking street which fills up with food stalls every evening and includes many bars and restaurants. The cottages are very nice, bit chilly this time of the year (December), no need for aircon, maybe heating, once the sun sets the temperature easily drops to 8-13 degrees Celsius. Very nice and accommodating staff, connected us to a driver who we hired for 1.5 days to show the things around Pai. The exotic garden around the cottages and pool give a lot of privacy but also shade. Nice when it is hot, but also meant maybe 2 hours of sunshine at the pool. The pool is next to the breakfast restaurant and river, there are 5 beds up at the pool and another 4 or so at the river, plus two swings and a hammock. Free bottles of water every day in fridge. Firm mattresses but still we slept well. Things to improve: the warm water to shower seemed to get to cold after about 5 min so bad luck for the second person to shower. The door to the bathroom is so short I hot my head 3 times. Noise from bars untill about 23:00h which may be a downside if you have kids or are an early bed time type of person, then ask for a cottage in the back. It's a pity the restaurant does not serve any drinks at the pool or lunch or something, but on the other hand 7/11 is just a 5 min walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Room Tip: ask for cottage in the back due to music noise at night from bars
See more room tips
Response from LIU D, General Manager at Rim Pai Cottage
Responded 30 Dec 2019
Hello there... Thanks for your feedback. Regarding the shower issue, the renewal of these is underway but due to the peak season i.e. Christmas, New Year, Chinese New Year, it is difficult to get the time to fit and test as the rooms are booked through until February. Fitting new heater tanks can be dispruptive especially if the unit is faulty. Our centre of town location does mean we get to hear the music but as you mentioned, it is all over early as the bars are not allowed to continue after midnight. Your review was spot on. The guest knows best. Happy New Year..
Read more
Steph W wrote a review Feb 2019
Amsterdam, The Netherlands11 contributions
Nestled into a lush green jungle setting that's as much beautiful as it is peaceful, it's no wonder I extended my 3 nights into 6, with little hesitation. Not only is this place just off the walking street, but it overlooks the river with a view of the mountain and it feels nicely quiet, making it the ideal spot to chill, read, swim, meditate...etc! I stayed on my own in a hut and loved the terrace at the front of my room, the simple but good breakfast, cooling pool and comfy sunbathing areas. And to top it all off, the staff were so smiley and lovely. I couldn't fault it! Tip: Bring ear plugs. Depending on which room you stay in, you may hear the live music from a nearby bar. But don't let that put you off! 10/10!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Response from LIU D, General Manager at Rim Pai Cottage
Responded 16 Jul 2019
Great review... Sorry for the late response but Rim Pai Cottage has been closed for a big renovation since April. Re-opened again a few weeks ago and now everything is new and developed. Ear plugs are a must if a person sleeps before midnignt. After that, the bars close and peace begins. The garden is quite spectacular, even more so now. Thanks for your kind words.
Read more
USD 34 - USD 82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
rim-pai cottage hotel pai
ThailandMae Hong Son ProvincePai
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rim Pai Cottage
Which popular attractions are close to Rim Pai Cottage?
Nearby attractions include Pai Walking Street (0.1 km), Jikko Beer (0.2 km), and Pai River (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rim Pai Cottage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Rim Pai Cottage?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rim Pai Cottage?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Rim Pai Cottage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rim Pai Cottage?
Conveniently located restaurants include Two Sisters Restaurant, Big's Little Cafe, and Pen's Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rim Pai Cottage?
Yes, guests have access to an infinity pool during their stay.
Does Rim Pai Cottage have airport transportation?
Yes, Rim Pai Cottage offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rim Pai Cottage?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Rim Pai Cottage?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pai Memorial Bridge (7.2 km) and Wat Sri Don Chai (2.2 km).
Does Rim Pai Cottage have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.