Alayana Resort Koh Tao
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Alayana Resort Koh Tao

16/77 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360 Thailand
Traveller (1435)
Elysian Pool Villa
Room & Suite (291)
Dining (61)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#12 of 53 hotels in Koh Tao
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located cliffside overlooking Koh Nang Yuan, Alayana Koh Tao Resort offers amazing ocean and sunset views from two spectacular pools. Catering to both families and romance seekers, our rooms offer something for all travelers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Hiking
Kids pool
Free shuttle or taxi services
Wifi
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

16/77 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Koh Samui Airport
67.7 km
See all flights
1,526Review41Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 921
  • 303
  • 138
  • 82
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ShellCornwall wrote a review Jan 2020
Cornwall58 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 5 nights, lovely place. Very chilled and relaxing atmosphere. The staff were great, friendly, helpful and accommodating. We had the Honeymoon Pool Access room which was fantastic. As in previous review the views and sunsets are stunning.

We did encounter an issue when we first arrived, the name had changed from Aminjirah which caused us some confusion also we were not given our booked and paid for room. They moved us to a different room for one night then we moved into the Honeymoon Pool Access room. We are unsure what the mix up was but they did put a credit onto out room for us to use on food and drink which we felt was very fair. Sometimes mishaps happen, but it was great that management did this for us, we really appreciated it.

We found the food to be delicious and they were able to adapt options for me as a vegetarian. The afternoon 2pm - 7pm discount offers were good too.

Admittedly the resort is a little tired in places, but the season is coming to an end and this is to be expected, also we wondered if there had been a changed in management due to the name change, so this may spur some maintenance.

We hired a scooted from across the road as taxi’s, especially in the evening, can be 400 Baht from Sairee. We did get one on the first afternoon for 250 Baht but even this we felt was expensive for a few kilometres. You can walk back but there is a bit of a hill. We opted for the scooter at 200 baht a day and were able to explore the island at our leisure.
We would definitely go back and recommend to friends, we felt as they did their best to rectify the initial mistake the 5* was a fair score.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Honeymoon Pool Access
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zxzdavidzxz wrote a review Jan 2020
Coventry, United Kingdom12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with the mrs for 3 nights and ended up booking another 3 we loved it that much. Have been traveling south east Asia for 3 months and have to say the location of this hotel is unreal.

The lady on the desk was very helpful in letting us book extra nights and was always very informative and greeted us with a smile.

The rooms were spacious and clean. We stayed in 15 and the view was breathtaking. Coffee and shower gels provided. Air con was strong. Mini fridge also.

I would come back to this hotel in a heartbeat it’s a pretty special place for couples.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maren Emilie G wrote a review Jan 2020
Oslo, Norway5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Alayana Resort for four nights and it was a true pleasure. The view is breathtaking and with an infinity pool and bar/restaurant to make it complete. A perfect place to watch the sunset. There is also a nice garden with lots of plants and flowers. The rooms are nice and clean and we enjoyed both the room with a garden view as well as the room with a sea view.
It's located up the hillside a little bit out of the center and the beach, but for us it was totally worth it. And it's easy to get in to the center and to the beach either by taxi or by renting scooters (I recommend the last option). And of course the owner of the resort is so helpful and friendly (and has a cute dog, named Snow)😀
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Innsaei80 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom57 contributions55 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in both a room with sea view and balcony, and the villa with pool as a treat - both rooms sadly were not up to our expectations against the price we paid. The general maintenance of the site wasn't great - areas generally dirty and run down including the pool area. We paid half the price on another island for a much higher quality of accommodation.
The positives were the views - the sunset was beautiful, and the one way drop off to town helped lower transport costs (which are £10 one way for a 3 min journey). The food was ok, but we had additional tabs on our bill at checkout which we questioned and had to persist were wrong before the receptionist checked with the bar staff.
We sadly would not return here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jasmin D, Owner at Alayana Resort Koh Tao
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations, but do feel your review is slightly harsh. You mentioned you did not feel, that the rooms lived up to the price you paid and that you paid a high price for your stay. You actually paid low season prices for rooms that other guests have reviewed very well and and are continuing to do so. When we get to the end of the season, there are things that needs to be freshened up, hence the lower rate. xoxo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikael S wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel because of trip advisor, but boy did we get surprised. We are a regulary family from Denmark, not expecting special treatment at all!
This place has no smile at all. No one ever smiles to you or says sawasdeka like everybody does here. And with that no service. The staff doesn't speak any English, so everything seemed to be a problem (not for us).
Everything was worn out, broken or simply not existing. Electric installations were dangling from the walls, the toilet did not work, the drain was leaking all over the floor, and though we told the reception, nothing happened.
Breakfast (which roughly consisted of self made toastbread, filter coffee and days old juice) should be served at eight in the morning, but every morning this angry looking "chef" was not ready before eight fifteen.
The pool should open at nine, but was not ready before nine thirty every day. Maybe small things, but in the whole just adding up to our annoyance.
Pool area was dirty with cigarette stumps and greasy from old drinks
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AlayanaKohtao, Owner at Alayana Resort Koh Tao
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Dear Mikael We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We always strive to do our very best to make our guests happy. Unfortunately we have no record of a Danish family staying in January and nor with the name Mikael. Seeing how different your review is from other reviews, we can do nothing but to keep up our hard work.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andytrvellallover wrote a review Jan 2020
Koh Tao, Thailand7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You get much lukz for the money here!!! And what a view!!

We stayed at Alayana for four days.. it was the perfect place to be... because when your at Koh Tao, your gonna rent a scooter anyway.. then it’s no problem that the hotel is up the hillside. You get the most amazing sunset view from the clean and cozy swimming pool. (Infinite pool)

5 min drive with the scooter and your at the beach and in the restaurant erea 😊

Very nice hospitality from the staff aswell.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren wrote a review Jan 2020
Calgary, Canada3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Aminjirah Resort for our honeymoon, and we absolutely loved it!

The food was amazing and the staff was so hospitable. Nah and her team (Snow included🐶❤️) truly made it a home away from home. If you stay there, make sure you see at least one sunset from the pool!!

Thank you so much for everything!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ad0bs0n wrote a review May 2016
London, United Kingdom21 contributions44 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I have been travelling for 6 months and as an avid trip advisor reader I felt it was my responsibility to share the story of our recent stay at the Aminjirah.

After complaining to the manager (Ohm) on the first morning of our stay, due to multiple factors (air con not working, toilet not flushing, no water supply in room, limited lights working, and loud maintenance e.g. Drilling by the pool and sunbeds etc). Ohm offered us a full refund for the pre paid 5 nights which we accepted (Layla on front desk is also aware of this situation). As a result we booked and payed for alternative accommodation to go to as we were assured by both Ohm and Layla that this would all be sent through. HOWEVER 5 minutes before we were set to leave for our ferry, Ohm told us that the owner would only refund us for 1 out of our 5 nights! Outraged by this we asked to speak to the owner over the phone who declined through text and facebook messages to Ohm and Layla and later turned his phone off! We continued arguing with Ohm and Layla about what to do to which Ohm then said "I can't afford to refund you myself, I QUIT!" and left the hotel! In addition to all this, the hotel promised to organise us a free transfer down to the pier, to catch our ferry, which in fact never showed, clearly embarrassed by this situation Layla had no choice but to go and ask a random person at their house nearby to drive us, we just about caught the ferry before it left!

Due to the owner turning his phone off and refusing to speak to us, Layla then advised us to email the reservations team (stay@theaminjirah.com) and ask them to conduct the full refund back onto our payment card, as she couldn't give refunds over the front desk.

In short we have never experienced a situation as bad as this in our 6 months of travelling!

Please do not support a hotel, such as this, that disrespects and under values the importance of their customers!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tidyvegantripper wrote a review Jan 2016
Vancouver, Canada30 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On January 19th my boyfriend and I booked a mid range room based off good reviews and photos on Trip Advisor. We decided to ignore the bad reviews and give it a try. REGRET! Is the only word that comes to mind when we think about our stay at Aminjirah.

We arrived to the pier on Koh Tao in the late evening and were delighted to see a driver waiting for us. Upon arrival to Aminjirah we were checked in and showed our rooms.

Immediately I went to the fridge to grab a complimentary water and there weren't any there. Surprising of a higher end resort not to have drinking away in the fridge. The fridge was full of water and chocolate bars were floating on the shelves. My boyfriend went to use the toilet and it wouldn't flush. He tried to spray some water in the back of the toilet to make it flush and it came out black, and I mean BLACK.

After further inspection we noticed the bed wasn't made properly. The bottom sheet wasn't covering the bare mattress where our heads were to lay. The towels in the bathroom were carelessly chucked on the rod and there were lizard dropping all over the bathroom floor. The snacks on top of the fridge were crumpled up, they looked old and over handled. The complimentary toiletries were random and scattered in a tray from the last person that stayed there. They looked unclean. There was no phone to call the front desk and let them know what was going on (though I'm realizing now that is common on Koh Tao). I asked the front desk to clean our room and fix the toilet twice. They couldn't manage to fix the toilet and it stopped working the next morning. They didn't touch to the toiletries or towels. They fixed the bed sheets but removed the bath mat that was dirty from the person staying there before and replaced it with a dirty door mat!?! After all this we then came across the MOST HORRIFYING bottle opener we'd ever seen. Left on top of the fridge for us to use with someone's leftover lighter and mosquito coils. I picked up the bottle opener not realizing how disgusting it was and got slime and rust all over my hands. It was covered in white gunk and someone else's hair. I literally almost puked. We were so exhausted from travelling all day we decided we'd tough it out and find a better hotel in the morning. Again REGRET. During the night the hammock and window pains rattled against the suite and there was nothing we could do. The hammock was fixed and the window panes were just cheap. Oh and the creepy flickering red and green lights on the ceiling?!

We went for a swim while the staff fixed up our room. It was unclear if the pool was open or not. The pool deck was scattered with used towels and empty bottles and it seemed they were to be left there until the next morning as it was already past 11 when we were in the pool. The tiles on the infinity edge were all lifting off and we thought the sign on the pool bar saying "GET LOADED," was rather tacky.

Upon checking out the man at the front desk told us he was quitting because of poor management and had been given to much responsibility. We asked to speak to the front desk lady who seemed to have the most knowledge of what was going but she was still asleep. We asked to speak to management but no one was on site to speak to. We were given an email to complain.

I don't have any good things to say about Aminjirah except for that the owner was very apologetic after asking for our money back. He wanted to offer us a pool villa but the resort was booked solid. We booked ahead of time online but are now thinking they might have given us a room they don't normally rent to guests and were trying to cram us in. We are currently waiting for the refund to go through.

Lastly, it is a shame to have such an amazing location and views and not be able to cater to your guests basic needs.

You've been warned.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aminjirah, Owner at Alayana Resort Koh Tao
Responded 28 Jan 2016
Dear Guest, With all due respect I am sincerely sorry for any trouble you encountered during your stay. If you recall, once I received you email I immediately offered you a refund or a very generous upgrade and you selected the latter. I am unable to confirm the full veracity of your review, but we always take responsibility if guests are unhappy and thus in your case refunded you in full as per your preference. As a matter of clarification I find it extremely disturbing to see the images posted of the "bottle opener". It simply bears no logic that we would have such an item in such a condition in any of our rooms, still I have upon receiving your email I immediately went through each room in your category to ensure our quality control is better. Once again we apologise for your inconvenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Whitney L wrote a review Aug 2017
1 contribution10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I purchased a stay at the Aminjirah Hotel in Koh Tao August 24-27 2017. I have been unable to make contact with the manager and our emails have gone unanswered. The front desk employee during our stay was professional and attempted to help with the disgusting conditions, but he was unable to provide us with an actual solution or refund. Since management is ignoring our emails, I'm hoping this gets their attention or at least saves one person from a similar situation.

The issues with our stay include:

1. Misrepresented rooms: Upon check in we were placed in a room with minimal mismatched furniture, no actual shower, and a broken door. The room was similar to a hostel you may purchase in Thailand for $30 USD per night MAX. The door was unable to be fixed, so we were "upgraded" to another room.

2. Upgraded Room had human sewage coming up through the drain in the shower and the toilet continuously became clogged and created extremely unsanitary conditions. The entire area around our room smelled like sewage and feces for the duration of our stay. After bringing this to the attention of management, they politely apologized and placed a candle in the bathroom to "fix" the problem.

3. Hotel grounds are completely falling apart (I.e. Tiles on pool falling off, etc).

4. A pool umbrella was not properly attached to the stand and flew off almost impaling my fiancé sitting in a pool chair. The employee at the pool watched this happen and did not get up from the bar to help or apologize.

5. The power went out about every 5 minutes in the room, even when we had nothing plugged in.

6. The sheets on bed in the "upgraded" room had blood stains and there were several bugs in the bed.

7. All towels provided were stained or ripped.

We have attempted to contact management and have gotten no response. I am seeking a refund for this horrific experience and hope others will think twice before staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yulieel asked a question Dec 2019
Niederdorfelden, Germany40 contributions33 helpful votes
Is it possible to use the pool without being a guest, for example by using the restaurant or bar?
MrsKP asked a question July 2019
Cirencester, United Kingdom76 contributions47 helpful votes
Is the hotel open? We are looking for a stay in August.
Answer from AlayanaKohtao
113 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes we are open since early July :-)
Answer from jcetiner
Manchester, United Kingdom81 contributions53 helpful votes
It does have a free shuttle, but only 4 times a day & just one way into Sairee. You have to walk back yourself or get a taxi.
Bailey R asked a question May 2018
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Are all the rooms non smoking? The Sunset Fantasy in particular
Answer from Swift D
13 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes their was an ashtray on the balcony but not in the room so I assume you can only smoke out on the balcony
Paul D wrote a tip Mar 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms which we saw were lousy. Furniture is falling apart, electrics look ancient and the paint is discoloured it is so old."
Read full review
ShellCornwall wrote a tip Jan 2020
Cornwall58 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Honeymoon Pool Access"
Read full review
Delphine wrote a tip Oct 2019
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ocean Mystiqye room was great"
Read full review
TrineLarsen wrote a tip July 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had booked the ocean infinity family which had a king and queen size bedding. Perfect for 4 persons."
Read full review
Coloradobuds_420 wrote a tip May 2019
Denver, Colorado8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Balcony rooms are the way to go."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Koh Tao area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
amanjirah hotel koh tao
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aminjirah Resort Koh Tao
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKoh Tao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALAYANA RESORT KOH TAO: Reviews (Thailand) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Alayana Resort Koh Tao
Which popular attractions are close to Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Nearby attractions include Koh Nang Yuan (1.2 km) and Shark Bay (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Conveniently located restaurants include FIZZ beachlounge, Centrico Cafe and Mexican Restaurant, and Rim Lae Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Does Alayana Resort Koh Tao have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Koh Tao HotelsKoh Tao Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Koh TaoHotels near Alayana Resort Koh Tao
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars