We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Khun Ying House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Khun Ying House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Fan room with shared bathroom was just fine although it was a bit hot at first. Had a double and single bed (single was much softer!) Shared bathrooms were very clean and hot water was good. Bins emptied at least 3 times a day which pleased me greatly as you can't flush any toilet paper! Great for people on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank LucyTargaerion
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is okay, quit expensive for what you pay for. Rooms are decent enough and staff were fine, can be quit rude at times though. Walking distance from the beach and main shops, bars and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Summerlivin20
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights when we visited Koh toa, stayed in both the dorm and the private double room. Was very happy with everything, staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable. Made for a very comfortable stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Good location just 5 minutes to beach and central area.Staffs are very friendly and helpful.Beds are enough comfy and the room is always clean.I loved the climbing frames for exercise.I will go back there definitely.

Helpful?
1 Thank William Min M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

The worst hostel I have ever been to in my life and I've been to over 100 hostels. We found bugs, lizards and ants all over our beds and the receptionist refused to refund us. Instead of accommodating us he told us we were dirty people and we were the reason for the bugs and ants in our room and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karina C
546beeryan, Front Office Manager at Khun Ying House, responded to this review

It was totally odds and full of cheats.The room was without any spots on their check in.They aoccupied the room after they checked it on 09:30 am.When they bring that complaint,it was around 5:00 pm.But we found a few ants on the bed sheets in where their opened back pack was placed and some other ants are coming out still... More 

Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel was ok, had a wardrobe, fridge and kettle. The price was good, and was pretty good value. The location was perfect, so close to the bars and beach etc. We did have ants in the room which wasn't a big deal but they were on the bed which was kind of annoying. Also the guy on reception seemed a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Afc129
Roma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016

It is close to the area with more restaurants and pubs. Place is clean. It is good for short staying or for people looking more for a hostel-like accomodation. The staff was not so friendly as I expected.

Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

The main reason we stayed here was because it was close to the dive school we were using. We originally only booked 4 nights but kept adding days on whilst there as we were doing more diving. It's in a good location, close to the beach, 7 eleven, shops, restaurants etc. It was clean, and suited our needs for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank egc_76
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Only stay here if you really have to. They ran out of water and the hostel isn't that close to another place that sells water. Ridiculously rude about it too. Towels smell like sweat and they charge you 20 baht a towel to wash it. The wifi doesn't work and you have to log in every single time you use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beini S
546beeryan, Front Office Manager at Khun Ying House, responded to this review

You repeated your staying in our property.When i check the days you stayed with us,Everything was fine.If the water ran out,it may affect to the other guests staying in our property.But we didn't get any complaint for water source.The reception sells out drinking water and some soft drinks the whole day and restaurant samatha just 50meter away serves foods and... More 

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

When we arrived we had to pay 500 bath in key deposit. When we checked out we never got our money back! I first remembered that we did not get our money back after we had left the hotel. I also thougt that it was so weird that the guy at the front desk who had been rude and unfriendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reiseglad111

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Tao
0.0 km away
Good Dream Hostel
Good Dream Hostel
#43 of 122 in Koh Tao
17 reviews
0.0 km away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#29 of 122 in Koh Tao
25 reviews
0.0 km away
Budchui Village 2
Budchui Village 2
#12 of 70 in Koh Tao
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Namthip Homebeach
Namthip Homebeach
#14 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
50 reviews
0.0 km away
Lotus Mountain View
Lotus Mountain View
#49 of 70 in Koh Tao
34 reviews
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn Hostel Koh Tao
Sleep Inn Hostel Koh Tao
#16 of 122 in Koh Tao
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Khun Ying House

Address: 15 / 19 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Price Range: $19 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khun Ying House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Khun Ying House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Khun Ying House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Khun Ying House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe 8 beds dorm”
 of 5 bubbles williamminm, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the sun set are best.”
 of 5 bubbles 126danieller, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is horrible-- good luck.”
 of 5 bubbles kealapacheco, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Fan room is great, wifi is strong”
 of 5 bubbles Naomi808, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“If you want to get a really good breakfast try the hostel right next to Good Dream. The staff is really friendly and the food is delicious!”
 of 5 bubbles MinnieMango, 28 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay