We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carabao

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Carabao
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carabao
See the most recent reviews
Showing 28: English reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

Staff was not very helpful with my only two requests. One simply got denied without alternatives, for another the only answer was "i don't know". Not even referring to another person who might know, but simply leaving me in the dark. They seemed not to care at all for at least my wellbeing. The Dormatory was reasonably clean with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loki D
Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

Room was a good value, clean and big. Nice if you are attending the dive school below. Unfortunately there was no air conditioning, but luckily the room opened up to a nice balcony to allow a breeze inside. The only downfall to the room I had was it was directly next to/above of the bar. The music and loud people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duhrowthee
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I have spent 6 days in Carabao dormitory. It was the WORST PLACE I have slept in All Asia. The firsts days the toilets and the showers did not work so they opened a private room for us to be able to shower and go to toilet. The days after there was a flooding in the bathroom. Really poor facilities,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moumou P
Carabao Diving K, Manager at Carabao, responded to this review

The dormitory is open for a little more than one year, so not too old I would say, it is, however sometimes hard to keep it spotlessly clean all the time with backpacks all over the place and guests walking in and out all day and night. The reason of the problems with the shower facilities is that people disposing...

mexborugh
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We booked Carabao through a travel agency in Bangkok without knowing much about the place, we looked online and were initially pretty sceptical. But the place definitely surpassed expectations, we stayed in a triple room which, all in all was to a good standard, although the bathrooms were in need of renovation. The view from the room was incredible!! With...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james_stacey
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great place to stay... Good bar, nice food and fantastic staff! Also has a nice secluded beach, and our scuba diving course was nicely varied! Xav was a brilliant instructor, thank you! Also not far from the main beach and pier.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jwraight29
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this though a travel agents in Bangkok, and it was brilliant, we got the best view with our room with aircon and a fan, the staff were great the atmosphere was fun and the diving school was awesome! I had never been diving before and Xav and Julian made it so easy to learn and enjoy the open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bexxxy22
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lovely staff! Set on a gorgeous hidden away beach. Local 7/11 shop. I stayed in a dorm, clean, comfy and air con at night. Bathroom and toilet dirty. Staff lovely and trusting. Food ok. One piece of advice.. If your going for a open water dive then be aware that you get some nights free with the diving licence course.....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travel88girl
Rosario, Argentina
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Owners are terrible people!! they cheated us with 1000 bhats! people in charge are very rude as well. rooms are acceptable but toilets are always completely dirty. be careful if you go to that place. I don´t recommend that place at all.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alejandro R
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This place was recommended by a travel agency in Bangkok and seemed like a good budget choice at the time. We stayed three nights with no AC (fan room), and for the quality of the room seemed to be paying to much money. The room seemed to have hopping bugs which I am guessing was some sort of sand flea,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Passionfortravel658
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Spartan rooms, loud music well into the night, congested grounds and shoreline. Not a great beach for swimming. Key deposit of 3,000 bhat cash was a surprise, and can only be returned after 9am - a problem if you are catching an early ferry. Not a happy stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PapaDil

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 km away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,087 reviews
0.0 km away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
935 reviews
0.0 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,183 reviews
0.0 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,407 reviews
0.0 km away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Carabao

Address: 50/1 Moo 3 Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Price Range: $13 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carabao staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a south facing room on a higher level floor for a great view.”
leahshoosha, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms near the sea are also near the bar. Rooms away from the sea look at other buildings. In short, no good rooms.”
PapaDil, 17 Jan 2014 | Read review
“not facing the bar!”
mariep952, 7 Apr 2012 | Read review
3 of 3