The Fisherman's Villas
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Fisherman's Villas

21/27 Moo3 Cape Shark Community C15, Koh Tao 84360 Thailand
Fisherman’s Villa’s was a stunning retreat on quiet side of the island with privacy, views and amazing hospitality. Having a private villa with resort amenities to your door arranged by host Tom and his great team. The ambiance of this place is superb and we did not want to leave. It’s the place you could easily become accustomed to and we did.  Highly recommend taking the time to do nothing at all here.
Traveller (72)
Panorama på boendet
Room & Suite (26)
The pool area and the sun deck is a perfect place to be together
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#12 of 24 villas in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Fisherman’s Villas consists of six detached and modern houses which are located high up on a cliff overlooking the sea towards the nearby beach Thian og Bay (Shark Bay) and the Ang Thong National Marine Park on the south eastern tip of Koh Tao. The Fisherman's Villas offers cozy self-catering villas with stunning ocean views
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Diving
Snorkelling
Shuttle bus service
Mosquito net
Parking
Wifi
Private pool
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Sofa
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Minibar
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Burmese, Swedish, Thai

Location

21/27 Moo3 Cape Shark Community C15, Koh Tao 84360 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Koh Samui Airport
62.7 km
See all flights
50Reviews3Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
fwar wrote a review July 2020
Cologne, Germany3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
wonderful peace and relaxation - like you are the only ones on the island. comfy & perfect for our fam. super swift and efficient assistance with anything. kitchen has everything can possibly need. view/sunset is amazing, owners really found most incredible spot to create such a great space. we had a fabulous time hiding out here at the end of March. thanks so much for the much needed holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Noon_Uno wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time to stay there even just only 1 night. The villa have amazing view, we can bring our dog here for free of charge. no reception but we can text to Tom anytimes if you need something.
The important thing I was lost my mobile phone (but I don’t know where 😅) and he try to contact me back. I really appreciate it and for sure I will be back here and recommend to all my friends.
Thanks a lot for everythings. 💓
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reid W wrote a review Aug 2020
Sukhothai, Thailand40 contributions100 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Fisherman’s Villas is a lovely set of villas set up on a hillside overlooking Shark Bay. The villas are interspersed amongst other villas owned by different companies.

They offer free pickup service from the pier and bring you to your room. The rooms are wonderfully positioned with great views of the ocean and bay below. It’s easy to just sit on your patio all day, jumping into the pool from time to time to cool off, and just watch the beauty all around you.

Being positioned on the hills, they have wonderful sea breezes that blow in during the morning and evening hours. It was easy for us to spend hours upon hours every day just sitting on the patio overlooking the ocean, feeling the warm wind blow upon us. It was heavenly.

The villas have everything you could need to keep you comfortable for an extended stay. There is a very thorough booklet with loads of information about the island, services offered and how you can enjoy your time on Koh Tao. There is also another booklet that has menus of all the places you can order food to be delivered to your villa. If you do not prefer to eat in delivery, the villas are about a 8 minute motorbike ride into town where you can find many restaurants. Motorbikes can easily be rented with the help of a provider who lives just down the road.

Speaking of roads, the roads leading up the villa are very steep. If you have driven motorbikes before, you should be fine if you are a cautious driver. However, for the novices, it might be best to gain confidence on other roads before going up these hillsides. The steepness of the roads is what provides the villas with such wonderful views looking down on the water below, but they do take some getting used to.

We initially booked the Sailfish house, which has a wonderful view of the bay and peninsula below. You can see the different shades of blue in the bay and it juxtaposes with the rocks and trees on the hillsides around it. We loved the villa and the plunge pool was great, but there was some construction that was taking place on that side of the hill which also required a generator to be running during COVID season.

The owner on site, Tom, was super helpful the entire time and recognized that this sound might get old after a few days. Once a quieter room opened up, he graciously offered it to us—even though it was a massive upgrade from our booked room. We loved our new villa (Fisherman’s) and it offered a much more horizon view of the open sea rather than the bay. Each day, we would wake up and sit on our patio for hours—watching the sea, feeling the breeze and jumping in the private pool to cool off. The evenings, we did the same until the stars came out and we shifted our view up rather than out horizontally.

In the end, we were really happy with the quieter side of the hill/cape, which provided us the silence we were seeking when booking a villa out of the main town.

Tom was always trying to make sure that we were happy and enjoying ourself the entire time while at Fisherman’s Villas. You’ll have his phone number and you can text him throughout your entire stay and he’ll be there to help you and respond to your inquires.

Overall, we would highly recommend Fisherman’s Villas again. Tom was super kind and helpful. The views were spectacular. The villas were spacious and comfortable and the patios had comfortable places to lounge in the shade and watch the world go by. Now back home, our memories bring us back to the place we’d rather be—The Fisherman’s Villas.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cassia W wrote a review Mar 2023
Perth, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please do yourself a favour and DO NOT BOOK at this accommodation! I have considered for a while whether to post this review as I am a reasonable person and would have loved to resolve this issue with the owners, but they have given me no options.

I booked the Sailfish House for April 2020 for our honeymoon. Unfortunately due to Covid-19, all flights were cancelled and we were unable to get to Koh Tao. I contacted The Fisherman's Villas and they were unable to provide me with a refund but stated that we could rebook our room for a later date. I understood the circumstances and was happy with this arrangement.

When the borders finally reopened, I rebooked for April 2023. This was confirmed and I was sent a booking confirmation by email. My husband and I were really excited as we have been waiting for our honeymoon. We had already booked our flights and boat transfers to Koh Tao.

A few days ago, I received a dodgy looking email from the owner stating that they had sold The Fisherman's Villas and that our booking was cancelled. I immediately contacted them and the new owner responded that since I had booked with the old owner, they would not honour our booking. I then emailed the old owner, who refused to refund our booking fee of 35,000 THB, equivalent to $1,500 AUD. They also refused to send me an official cancellation letter.

I have tried to be reasonable but this is unacceptable. I have paid for a service and am not receiving this service, nor am I receiving my money back. I don't think it matters who owns the Fisherman's Villas as we booked with a company and not with a specific person.

Please save yourself the trouble and heart-ache, and find alternative accommodation for your holiday. This review is 100% truthful, despite what I am sure the owners will write as a response. I hope you take it into consideration.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie W wrote a review Aug 2020
Bangkok, Thailand4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic stay at fisherman villas ! Wonderful view and great advices and services ! Thank you so much to the manager and his team . For sure we will come back and we recommend the fisherman villas to all travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerry_W_Reisenberger wrote a review Sept 2019
Singapore, Singapore401 contributions205 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is just so serene, with stunning views (day and night) over the bay. We simply didn't want to leave, we simply felt right at home. The villas are spacious and the staff very helpful and friendly. The villa has a large kitchen and contain everything you need to prep a meal. The only downside (which is probably also it's upside) is the location. It is about as far from the port/central area as you can be, which is nice in itself. But given the extremely steep and tricky roads, you really need to rent a scooter (not for the faint of heart though given the steep roads) to be able to get anywhere.

Otherwise, it's a bit cumbersome to get anywhere. There are no stores within reasonable walking distance (only 2 restaurants). But in my opinion it's worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma T wrote a review Nov 2019
Reading, United Kingdom35 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cannot fault the view from the pool from these apartments. Bjorn & Madelene couldn’t have done more for us too. Transfers were provided from the port which was really helpful too as taxis on Koh Tao are expensive. It is a little remote but if you’re happy to tackle the hills on a moped then no problems. Also, lots of restaurants deliver to the villas at a small fee. We had a great stay, Really recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tina K wrote a review June 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Place is just a Dream, we were Lucky to spent 3 night at P7 Villa with an Amazing view and Pool. The Villas are a bit away from the town on a hidden Hill, Villas are Provided with everything anyone needs, and if not just message Tom and he will organize everything! Thats amazing, this guy knows everything about the Island and provide you with all information's you need. We had in the middle of the night a electric Problem, we messaged Tom, and didn't even expected a Answer so late, but he managed to be there in 5 min and solved the problem.
There is a breakfast Service as well which we used the second day, and it was by far the Best which we get on our Thailand trip.
The Villa and the Service treated as on the best, and for all special needs... just message Tom.!
Incredible and very recommended !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: do not miss the Breakfast service !
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah D wrote a review Aug 2017
Modi'in-Maccabim-Re'ut, Israel43 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The villa is clean and spacious and comfortable. The owners are extremely helpful and welcoming. We got an amazing recommendation from them for a Dive company to use and the dive trip was one the best experiences we had over 3 weeks in Thailand. The plunge pool is cute and snorkelling is beautiful. Its a short walk down to the platform to snorkel but pls be aware (for v young kids and elderly and that it is extremely steep) We went with age 7. 9 and 11 and was fine. A few things to be aware of - the kitchen is ok but there's no oven. Also we thought the kids would be in a connecting room but they were actually in a unit below us so we couldn't check on them easily at night, and they had no way of finding us without going outside and knocking on our door. So for smaller kids this is an issue. Because of the very steep hills the nearby restaurants and resorts (except for one) are not really accessible by foot, so you have to take a taxi to town. Also no grocery shop unless by taxi. We didn't love being so isolated but that is totally a personal feeling and we met plenty of people who felt the opposite. Highlight was definitely the snorkelling - we spotted a turtle and one shark. I recommend going either early in the morning or later in the day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex M wrote a review Aug 2017
17 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic place to stay while you are in Koh Tao. Great views from the villas of the bay; and super well attended by Bjorn and Madelene. Helped us with great tips of restaurant's and transport around the island.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe P asked a question Apr 2019
London, United Kingdom14 contributions7 helpful votes
How far is the walk down to restaurants and beaches? Is this near any bars? Thank you
Answer from madelene53
Koh Tao, Thailand3 contributions
The closest restaurant/bar is 5 minutes Walk. Down to town is 15 minutes with car/bike. Closest beach is 5 minutes Walk.
Answer from madelene53
Koh Tao, Thailand3 contributions
And the fourth house The Fishermans House is a little bit bigger than the others. And standing alone too. Regards Madelene
Answer from madelene53
Koh Tao, Thailand3 contributions
Hello, we have no possibility to handle credit cards, thats why. All our guests pay in advance to the bank account. Sometimes to paypal. But mostly to the bank because of the fee on paypal is so much. If you have more question, send us a mail, look at our website./ Madelene -the owner
Tina K wrote a tip June 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"do not miss the Breakfast service !"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Koh Tao area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$261 - AU$381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKoh Tao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FISHERMAN'S VILLAS (AU$261): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Koh Tao, Thailand) - Photos of Villa - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Fisherman's Villas
Which popular attractions are close to The Fisherman's Villas?
Nearby attractions include John Suwan View Point (1.0 km), Aow Leuk Bay (0.7 km), and Sai Daeng Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fisherman's Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Fisherman's Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Fisherman's Villas?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fisherman's Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fisherman's Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tree House Cafe Koh Tao, Eagle View, and Yin Yang Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Fisherman's Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Fisherman's Villas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Thai, Swedish, and Burmese.
All Koh Tao HotelsKoh Tao Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Koh TaoHotels near The Fisherman's Villas
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars