We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amritsar
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Mrs. Bhandari\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old colonial home converted into a guest house. Definitely does not feel like a hotel, though, more like staying at someone's home...with a higher level of privacy. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful and the pool is a treat after a hot day! The rooms are interesting, filled with antiques, but the mattresses are terrible....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grete S
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

After having visited this place many years ago I always remembered it with a smile on my face as it had been so very charming. As such I brought my family for New Year's and a few days around it. Our stay was wonderful in all aspects; all warmly hosted by Mrs Bhandari herself (place is though name after her...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sigrun H E R
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a rather unique place to stay. I'm guessing it was once army quarters. The rooms are spread around the large site with ours being in "blockH" In this area we had room 10, which wasn't quite as nice as rooms 6 to 9 where the rest of our party were. The rooms are very simple but clean, tiled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tignes86
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Old time India but the food and service was fabulous. Markets nearby but a quiet oasis from the hustle and bustle of Amritsar. Amritsar offered more than the Golden Temple. The boarder closing ceremony is a must.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel W
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Mrs Bhandari's Guesthouse is an oasis in the chaos that is Amritsar, old fashioned service, lovely gardens, and excellent home made fresh food...... and a swimming pool. Nothing is too much trouble for Mrs Bhandari and her manager, they even made sure I got to the border crossing ceremony with other guesses of the guesthouse after being nervous about going...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley P
Ratan B, Owner at Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are highly obliged to be of service to you and are overwhelmed by the pleasant response you gave us !!! Your suggestions will be kept in mind and we hope to give you better service the next time you visit us !! :)

California
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Far from the bustle of the city, nestled away in a clean, quiet and secure compound, Mrs. Bhandari treats guests as though they are long lost friends returning to stay in her home. The food is delicious, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms immaculate. The nearby water buffalo serve to remind you that yes, you are still in India!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank born2bwild
Ratan B, Owner at Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have you in our guesthouse !!! Waiting to for your next visit !! :)

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Mrs. Bhandari's guest house is a place with real history. Run by the daughter of an inspirational woman who lived ahead of her time; you will not be disappointed to speak with the owner (Tehmi), an interesting person, who is both truly kind and intelligent. The food is excellent; and meals are taken in the pantry- a charming room filled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syzygy1204
Ratan B, Owner at Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm response !! Wish to see you again soon !! :)

Reviewed 31 December 2016

Our experience at Mrs Bhandari's guest house was phenomenal. The woman who runs it is amazing and all the staff are helpful and friendly. The guest house arranged for our pickup directly from the airportand we were kindly welcomed in. We had eight people fit into two spacious rooms where no one felt even the tiniest bit cramped. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trav L
Ratan B, Owner at Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words !!! Hope to see you again soon !! :)

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Reasonably clean accommodations and a great jumping off point for local attractions like the Shimla Market and Golden Temple (also highly recommended). Staff members were attentive and friendly, calling tuk tuks, making recommendations, serving breakfast on the veranda, and putting hot water bottles in our beds to warm them when it was cold. The food in the restaurant was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BKyle C
Ratan B, Owner at Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind response !!! Hope to see you again soon !! :)

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Quite expensive but the food is good, the rooms are basic but clean, and there is hot water in the shower. It is a bit isolated but very safe for cars and mini buses. We were in a group with our own transport so can not say whether Tuk Tuks or taxis would find the place. All in all worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billhartsia
Ratan B, Manager at Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Tuk tuks and taxis both are readily available if you want them !! Thank you for your kind words !! :)

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
7.4 km away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#9 of 96 in Amritsar
1,561 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#4 of 96 in Amritsar
744 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
435 reviews
4.3 km away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 96 in Amritsar
1,007 reviews
3.1 km away
Ranjit's SVAASA
Ranjit's SVAASA
#11 of 96 in Amritsar
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse

Address: 10 Cantonment, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Price Range: $16 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mrs. Bhandari`s Guesthouse Hotel Amritsar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are cosy and comfortable; with all required ameneties.”
sigrunher, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“This is a one level guest house and all the rooms are quirky and none of them offer views.”
Billhartsia, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“garden facing or room near kitchen are good”
gokulakrishnank2016, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The old stable rooms are large, ensuite and a/c. The main house is for winter no a/c.”
Macchu123, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Guesthouse not a hotel”
mimaAngie, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5