We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elmina Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Elmina Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elmina Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Faro District, Portugal
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Worst experience of my hotel life! We booked the hotel in the (Sunday) morning of our intended arrival. We got there to check in in the evening, but were greeted with very annoyed receptionists, who made us feel we had intruded and annoyed them with our presence! We were then told that they close the Internet on a Friday, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mimisuzz
Rowland M, Front Office Manager at Elmina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello I am the New Front Office Manager and wish to apologize for the poor service you had at the front office.I can assure this will not happen again,Please visit us again for all new exceptional guest experience

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We booked a hotel down the coast a bit and on arrival, took one look and walked out-it was disgusting. Therefore ANYTHING would have been better than it was. I thought the room was spacious, the aircon worked well, but the mattress and pillows were awful (glad we packed our own pillows). We needed lunch and were told it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justjans
Orkanger, Norway
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Was here 5 days. Honest and friendly staff. Food was OK. Got a room first. Changed to a room with ocean view. No problem. There was also a tennis area. Outdoor space was close to a not walkable beach. But the view and surroundings was good. Also a pool. How clean it was. I don't know. All in all. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RolfIngeNilsen
Rowland M, Front Office Manager at Elmina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank You for your review please come again.

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

For 60 GHS, the food should at least be hot. The kebabs and other food was not kept warm. They have won a world record: worst pizza I've ever had. The "burgers" shouldn't be called burgers. The staff is inattentive. Worst part: they charge 70 GHS for a shot of Jack Daniels in the buffet and 35 in the bar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Arrived at this hotel during the Christmas break as a drive in guest without booking, I was attracted into this hotel by the location, the reception and was pleasantly attracted by the receptionist I meet on duty who took us and show us a room. I made up my mind to stay here but promise to do so after we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prince S
Rowland M, Front Office Manager at Elmina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Sorry for the bad experience you had on your last visit.we invite to visit us again .A lot has change since your last visit,and we will continue to improve to meet your expectation

Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Elmina Beach Resort is one of the 2 good hotels in Elmina but there is no real access to the beach there . The setting is good , though , and the reception area impressive . However in some of the rooms you need to check that everything is working ( a/c , hot water , power outlets ) ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
Alberta
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I would agree with many of the reviews already posted. The hotel looks impressive at first glance but falls short once you really start to look around. Having a can of Raid left by the bed was not a comforting first impression of the rooms. The main reason I would not stay at this hotel again is that the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VoyageuseDeCanada
United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Really, for $170 a night, we felt entirely ripped off. We had actually booked into the wrong hotel. We were meant to have booked ( on recommendations from friends) at the Elmina BAY Resort, not the Elmina BEACH. But hey ho, off we went. The building is really run down. The website says it was built in 1999 and refurbished...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stewart L
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have stayed here many times over the years and for the area it's one of the best places to stay. At best this is a three star hotel in a place only visited by the adventurous. If you have stayed in West Africa for any period of time you know things just don't work seamlessly. The rooms are musty,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hank3327
Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The reception on the first night was poor. The ladies at the reception were cold except one gentleman called Alex who was helpful despite all the complaints brought to him. We had to wait for an hour to be checked into a room after travelling all the way from Accra for about three hours. Myself and a colleague had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SerwahA

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
0.8 km away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
12.6 km away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 7 in Cape Coast
80 reviews
3.3 km away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 7 in Cape Coast
27 reviews
0.1 km away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
229 reviews
10.9 km away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Elmina Beach Resort

Address: 1 JJ Rawlings St., Elmina 00000, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Price Range: $229 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elmina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmina Beach Hotel Cape Coast
Elmina Beach Resort Ghana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elmina Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner suites seemed more spacious. Block 1 is busy. Anything past Block 3 may be a long walk from the entrance/lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles jocelync853, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Mimisuzz, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Check and double check that all facilities are working before you pay.”
 of 5 bubbles 10PrinceS, 2 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the pool or the beach”
 of 5 bubbles frankr931, 29 Nov 2014 | Read review
“There aren't any.”
 of 5 bubbles stewartlott44, 1 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay