We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waterfront Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Waterfront Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

we stayed in this lovely small hotel during a recent vacation to Lijiang. It was just wonderful. It is a classical local Naxi style building with a courtyard and all wooden structure. As it is on the top of Lijiang Old Town hill area, the view is truly amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank anni t
surrey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed in the Family room which is very spacious and has a little terrace where you can sit out and enjoy the sun. The hotel is very different from the modern ones we had been staying in, the furniture is all old and the building is a typical Naxi style house. The hotel arranged transport for us from the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyMasha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The hotel was in a beautiful old building, with wonderful rooms. I loved the heated mattresses and our room had fantastic furniture. The staff was so incredibly friendly and spoke English exceptionally well. We came to Lijiang from hiking Tiger Leaping Gorge and stayed for one night. When my husband became very ill... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tkl112
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We arrived at 2am after a disastrous flight with China Eastern (lost our luggage, missed our connection, completely unhelpful.... avoid them at all cost!) The hotel staff were waiting for us and helped us with our bags in the dark. It was our first hotel on our trip and after our flight we felt we had walked into an oasis... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jenell
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in this lovely small hotel during a recent vacation to Lijiang. It was just wonderful. It is a classical local Naxi style building with a courtyard and all wooden structure. As it is on the top of Lijiang Old Town hill area, the view is truly amazing! Location wise, it can't be better than that if you don't... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank helen z
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It was a great surprise to us when we passed by the tea's Lion Hill property while wondering around at the peak area. From its location we guessed the view out there should be not bad. When we walked in, it turned out to be really wonderful! This made me decide to move in the next day and took one... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick B
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Can't really recommend this place. They stuffed up our booking, the rooms downstairs are noisy, and the breakfast the worst we had in China. Poor value, compared to places nearby which looked better, and way cheaper.

Helpful?
2 Thank mark and sue h
thetea, Management at Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

We already reported problems this review to TripAdvisor and hope the person could provide evidence he or she actually stayed in our hotel. Due to our small size, we basically know every guest in person. We never had any guests remotely close to this "mark and sue h" with such vague claims. This person also wrote a bad review on... More 

bheh1314
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights April 2012. I should have stayed for 7 but I had to change hotels as I found the walk up the hill and especially the steps to hard after recent surgery. The owner Kevin and his manager Jenny were so kind and understood the problems. Kevin even arranged for his driver to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bheh1314
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

As a family of 5, with 3 boys in their early twenties, this ticked all the boxes. We stayed on Lion Hill, in attractive spacious suites arranged in a courtyard style, overlooking the old town and mountains in the distance. Kevin the owner speaks excellent English and was extremely helpful both before and during our stay, helping us plan our... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnneFromTwick
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is our second time back to this lovely place. Last time was in 2010 summer and we were with parents staying at the Waterfront property, and we enjoyed the time there. We were told by many people that Spring would be even better season with beautiful flowers everywhere and few tourist crowds in the old town than in summer.... More 

Helpful?
Thank susany508

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.8 km away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
0.5 km away
Blossom Hill Inn
Blossom Hill Inn
#23 of 914 in Lijiang
133 reviews
1.5 km away
Lvye An Jia
Lvye An Jia
#1 of 2,393 in Lijiang
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
5.6 km away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#5 of 914 in Lijiang
846 reviews
5.8 km away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 914 in Lijiang
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Waterfront Inn

Address: No.101 Chongren Alley, Qiyi Street, Dayan Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Price Range: $44 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Boutique Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterfront Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Waterfront Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the south side are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles annit495, 21 May 2013 | Read review
“They all have a view of the old town I think but the upstairs ones have a slightly better view. I think all the rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles jenell, 1 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles markandsueh_12, 8 May 2012 | Read review
“If you can choose one of the suites for the amazing views.”
 of 5 bubbles bheh1314, 23 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Low season is great time to travel to Lijiang, and try to avoid summer when tourist traffic is high and more rains”
 of 5 bubbles allen_kth, 30 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay