We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

636 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 633: English reviews
Start your review of Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here as my son was attending a meeting at UAB Optometry School. This hotel is great because it is just a 5 minute walk to the optometry school. Great free parking. Nice room. Clean. Affordable. Friendly staff. Only complaint was my wife accidentally left the do not disturb sign in the door when we left and did not remove...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
Management response:

It’s wonderful to know that you had a great stay, Jim, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. I’m glad you enjoyed everything from our friendly staff to our convenient location, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Birmingham again soon.

Navarre, Florida
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Booked as property was close to interstate 65. "Discovered a jewel in downtown Birmingham. Close to UAB, medical center and VA hospital. Convenient location in an upscale area. Variety of restaurants within walking distance. [ try Sitar Indian restaurant, across the street, food was excellent ] Property was well maintained and Staff was extremely polite and friendly. Breakfast buffet was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael R
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Management response:

Thank you for your glowing review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our property and location to your liking. We appreciate your comments about our friendly staff and delicious breakfast buffet at our restaurant, 808 South – a bistro. Your description of applewood smoked bacon has our mouths watering! We hope you’ll...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a work conference and one out of every two interactions I had with staff was rude - front desk, room service, housekeeping and shuttle service. The room was old/needed upkeep and was not that clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kami R
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your input with us. I am disheartened to learn that your stay fell short of expectations, and I apologize on behalf of all of us. I will address your comments with my staff as providing excellent service is something we take very seriously here. We will be beginning updates to our property...

Birmingham, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dirty carpet, torn and stained chairs, water that smells funny...when a hotel has a brand to "make travelers feel human again" getting a cookie at check-in just doesn't cut it when the rooms are this slack.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 780loriq
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that we missed the mark. We are undergoing a full renovation very soon and I do hope you will return to see the impressive changes we will be making.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed at this hotel while going to a family funeral in Birmingham. When we arrived it appeared that the room was clean and then i moved the recliner from I front of the ac unit. There was food under the chair and so much dust on the floor around three unit and on the unit. I was so tired...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dasheen S
Management response:

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. We are extremely disappointed because we have very high standards and the service you described does not reflect this. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone here, and I assure you that I will address your concerns with our whole team to ensure the flawless experience our...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here after the Tim and Faith concert. Hotel was clean. The employees were extremely nice and helpful. It did seem old when looking at carpeting and decoration, but it is a hotel and we weren't spending much time here. Room was very comfortable. The shower did not drain well so tub was filling up as I showered. Overall would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
Management response:

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit, Graham. It’s great to hear that you found our team helpful and friendly, we strive to provide the very best service for our valued guests. I’m excited to share with you that we will be undergoing a full renovation in the very near future, and I hope you will back...

New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay this year. Jeff Palmer and his staff made me feel welcome. While I was there my only complaint was the stains on my white comforter. Had to ask for it to be changed out 2 times. When I received my bill after I got home, I had been charged for 2 cars. I didn't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sakincaid22
japal331, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Hi there Scott. Thank you so much for the review. I'm truly sorry you had to have your linens changed multiple times. I assure you are team is working hard to improve our hotel andnext year when you are here the renovation should be complete. I look forward to you guys coming back.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Dirty hallways and dark. No security to outside doors. Tiny bathroom poor lighting. Mold in bathroom. Dirty wallpaper and carpet. This property is showing its age and desperately to. E remodeled. Even if remodeled the bathrooms will still be tiny....can't get in the tub on toilet without closing the door.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmettp2017
japal331, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry you did not have a great stay. Our hotel will be undergoing a full renovation in the coming months and I do hope you will watch the changes we will be making.

Gadsden, Alabama
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We chose this hotel because it was close to the hospital where we had to be early the next morning Everything was clean and convenient Only drawback there wasn't a luggage cart by the parking deck entrance

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
Management response:

We’re glad our location was convenient for you, Randall, and that you were pleased with your overall stay. I do regret any inconveniences you encountered and encourage you to reach out to us if you need anything at all next time. We are happy to help! Thank you for providing your input, it would a pleasure to have you back...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is good, restaurants w/in .5 miles away if you are comfortable walking. I think there is a shuttle. A little disorganized at check-in and when I turned in for the night realized I did not have any shampoo or conditioner (only body wash and lotion). Called front desk and they said to come get it, or it might be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suerob2017
japal331, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello suerob2017 Thank you so much for your comments. I do apologize for the challenges you experienced while you were our guest and I can assure you these are not indicative of the level of service we strive to achieve. I do hope you will come back to visit as our hotel is scheduled to undergo a full renovation and...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.0 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 km away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $167 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was located on the side of the hospital, so heard ambulances all night”
chlo_p723, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The pool is located on the 2nd floor.”
sakincaid22, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are accessible from the parking garage during the day, so if you are concerned about security, pick a high floor.”
suerob2017, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a nice view of the city from our room. We faced 20th street.”
peachstt04, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floors have great views of downtown”
kathi806, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5