We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

632 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 629: English reviews
Start your review of Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here after the Tim and Faith concert. Hotel was clean. The employees were extremely nice and helpful. It did seem old when looking at carpeting and decoration, but it is a hotel and we weren't spending much time here. Room was very comfortable. The shower did not drain well so tub was filling up as I showered. Overall would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
Navarre, Florida
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Booked as property was close to interstate 65. "Discovered a jewel in downtown Birmingham. Close to UAB, medical center and VA hospital. Convenient location in an upscale area. Variety of restaurants within walking distance. [ try Sitar Indian restaurant, across the street, food was excellent ] Property was well maintained and Staff was extremely polite and friendly. Breakfast buffet was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael R
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Management response:

Thank you for your glowing review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our property and location to your liking. We appreciate your comments about our friendly staff and delicious breakfast buffet at our restaurant, 808 South – a bistro. Your description of applewood smoked bacon has our mouths watering! We hope you’ll...

New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I enjoyed my stay this year. Jeff Palmer and his staff made me feel welcome. While I was there my only complaint was the stains on my white comforter. Had to ask for it to be changed out 2 times. When I received my bill after I got home, I had been charged for 2 cars. I didn't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sakincaid22
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Dirty hallways and dark. No security to outside doors. Tiny bathroom poor lighting. Mold in bathroom. Dirty wallpaper and carpet. This property is showing its age and desperately to. E remodeled. Even if remodeled the bathrooms will still be tiny....can't get in the tub on toilet without closing the door.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmettp2017
japal331, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry you did not have a great stay. Our hotel will be undergoing a full renovation in the coming months and I do hope you will watch the changes we will be making.

Gadsden, Alabama
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel because it was close to the hospital where we had to be early the next morning Everything was clean and convenient Only drawback there wasn't a luggage cart by the parking deck entrance

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is good, restaurants w/in .5 miles away if you are comfortable walking. I think there is a shuttle. A little disorganized at check-in and when I turned in for the night realized I did not have any shampoo or conditioner (only body wash and lotion). Called front desk and they said to come get it, or it might be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suerob2017
japal331, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello suerob2017 Thank you so much for your comments. I do apologize for the challenges you experienced while you were our guest and I can assure you these are not indicative of the level of service we strive to achieve. I do hope you will come back to visit as our hotel is scheduled to undergo a full renovation and...

Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

all of the staff were very nice and engaging. The rooms definitely could use some updating. WiFi was barely usable - only about 2Mbs. The $10 per day parking fee is reasonable. The best part of this hotel is it's location to UAB hospital. The breakfast is ever so slightly better than the free breakfast at the Hampton Inn, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc19002
japal331, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Marc19002 Thank you so much for the review and I am truly sorry you found our hotel just average as that is not what we strive for. Our hotel will be undergoing a full renovation in the coming months and I can assure you that this will be spectacular. Please do come back and visit us again soon and...

Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to travel to Birmingham because my son was transferred to a critical care children's hospital. Chose this property because it was close by. Checked in with the night auditor and she was rude. Didn't pay attention to my preferences or give me arrival cookies. I was tired and worried about my child so I didn't make a issue. She...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsCoker
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your helpful comments. I would like to personally apologize for the challenges you faced during your stay. I assure you, your encounter is not in any way indicative of the high bar we set for ourselves, and we are sorry for letting you down. Your input is extremely important to us as...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Doubletree in Birmingham on our way to Destin, Florida. The hotel was older, but in a good location. I would say the hotel, staff and rooms were average. The bathrooms could use a good cleaning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
japal331, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review and for being our guest. Our hotel will be undergoing a full renovation in the very near future and we are so excited about the changes we will be making. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Regards Jeffrey Palmer Assistant General Manager

Lynn Haven, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed multiple times due to medical needs at UAB. Haven't been disappointed yet. Staff is always professional & respectful. Needs have always been met. Facility is clean and easily navigated. Internet is always working at good speed no matter what floor.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
Management response:

It’s wonderful to have you with us, Mary! We thank you for your loyalty and appreciate the time you took to share your story with us. It’s great to know that you are always treated to first-class service and are consistently impressed with our amenities and property. We love hearing from you, and look forward to welcoming you back to...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 km away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
0.0 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $168 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The pool is located on the 2nd floor.”
sakincaid22, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are accessible from the parking garage during the day, so if you are concerned about security, pick a high floor.”
suerob2017, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a nice view of the city from our room. We faced 20th street.”
peachstt04, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floors have great views of downtown”
kathi806, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Heater was loud when fan clicked on and off. We were on 6th floor, view of parking garage. Pretty quiet otherwise.”
diannm2013, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5