We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast

TravelocityUSD 131*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 131*
USD 131*
USD 131*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Start your review of Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Paducah, Kentucky
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband (!!) and I stayed here two nights, April 11th and 12th. We were in town to see Phantom of the Opera and thought we'd give a B&B a try. It was beautiful. We got there and saw a note on the door saying to call Shelia for entrance, I called once and got no answer so I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina B
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

COBB LANE BB -- ZEBRA ROOM. We congratulate our Honeymooners on their new start in life. We are glad they enjoyed many things of their visit and concluded "all in all we enjoyed it and would come again". We did correspond with the husband about price of roses, he did not affirmatively say "yes" at the time of the exchange...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Wife and I snuck away for a day trip and wanted to try some place out of the ordinary hotel. Well, we found it. This place has an abundance of old-school charm. Between the fine china we are the full course breakfast off of, to the wonderful memorabilia of the times way back as they were in Birmingham, you can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coachelliott
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the details that are offered in a Bed and Breakfast stay. You'll find each one you visit throughout the US and the World usually helps interpret history and life style of the region they are in. Our 1898 Victorian Mansion on the National Historic Registry takes pride in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived evening of 12th Feb at the wrong property, there are two, and our instructions took us to the wrong house which was locked. In due course a young lady arrived by car (the door bell obviously calls the other house) to guide us to the correct address. She was very helpful and friendly and to large extent made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike b
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit and felt it overpriced. With regard to comments about Victorian furnishings and fine china, we are proud of what we present of the Victorian Era which is rare in hospitality. It sounds like you would prefer modern décor and regular dishes of a regular hotel. Our rates...

New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting my Mom, this looked like an interesting choice vs a traditional traveler's motel. It is a very attractive and quaint home on a byway off 20th Street in Five Points - just at the base of Red Mountain below Vulcan's statue. Greeted at the door by owner/operator with warmth and charm. Lovely old school decor throughout. Nice porch for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allerton21
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB -- VICTORIAN CHAMBER ROOM. We enjoyed this guest very much. It is an interesting experience to stop our rapid pace of modern living and enjoy a large old fashion wrap around Victorian porch. You can people watch, read a book, listen to music, have a private uninterrupted conversation or perhaps sip wine while watching the sunset....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let's start with the positives; a lovely house in a good location close to Vulcan park with lots of places to eat in walking distance. There is on street parking plus some spaces to the rear of the property. There is a police station opposite the B&B. The room was clean. However, our experience was perhaps the worst we have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PandyPandora
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

This is the 2nd review with same content frhhom this same guest couple. They arrived early and wanted occupancy, didn't abide by our entry policies. Our housekeeper saw them at the front door and does not greet guests. They did not have a US cell phone but an international one. She loaned them phone to call me. I was shopping...

Independence, KY
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We stayed here as a stopover going to and returning from New Orleans. The first stay we did not see the owner or any staff until the following morning. The second stay we never saw the owner. The young woman who served breakfast both mornings was not friendly. She almost seemed afraid of the guests. Amenities that we have come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minerva55
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your visit. I was unable to join you at breakfast and other times you mentioned due to a situation that developed. Another substituted. Please call me at 205-918-9090 so that I may give you a free return night stay so you can experience the magic that others...

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

my interactions with the proprietor on the phone were not pleasant. She was quite rude. Based on the rude way she answered questions for me on the phone, I would've stayed somewhere else if it had been easy to arrange. They definitely need a phone courtesy adjustment. However, once there, it was comfortable and lovely. she seemed a bit nicer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corey w
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

COBB LANE B & B -- ZEBRA ROOM. We thank this couple for commenting that their guest room (ZEBRA) was "comfortable and lovely". There is a misunderstanding involving a phone call and we apologize if they felt we were somehow rude. They arrived a couple hours early, housekeeping was in process, some rooms done and others not yet. Normally early...

Memphis, TN
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The owner has a number on the door to call when you arrive, but no one answered when I called--it was pouring down rain--and 15 minutes passed before she returned my call. She insinuated I was being impatient. The house itself has some beautiful antiques, but the overall effect is ruined by the mix of cheap ceramics and that every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisleigh454
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We owe you an apology about your arrival. City BBs are typically kept locked for the security of guests and the Owner. Door bells are disconnected to avoid an incoming guest/delivery disturbing other guests inside. Our guests arrive and call us on their cell phones when at the front door and we help them. Perhaps you rang when I was...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Sheila was the perfect host in a perfect place with perfect bedrooms and perfect breakfast. We loved the carved horses and incredible themed rooms with relaxing lounge areas. The location in Five Points gives you a true feeling of the community.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow! What wonderful praise! You've made our year!! We're glad you found our location in Five Points Historic District (also known as Five Points Culinary District) convenient and enjoyable. You're right, each room does have its own unique décor. Sometimes new guests book a room, look at other rooms during their stay, then try a new one the next time,...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I made a reservation thru Expedia for this place because I had been there before and I thought the place was reasonable and close to the University. On arrival (and after I had taken my luggage out of the rental car) I called the innkeeper who told me at was at the wrong location. The place I was sent was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graciela A
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BED AND BREAKFAST. SERAFIM ROOM. We are sorry this guest did not enjoy her stay as others generally do. She rented a room with a double bed, smallest bedroom, private bath down the hall by the kitchen and laundry room in Cobb Lane BB. She was given a free upgrade to Hassinger Daniels Mansion BB to a...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 km away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
2.6 km away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
654 reviews
1.3 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Two Victorian Mansions from 1898 on the National Historic Registry offering 17 guest rooms from $99 to $159 per night plus tax; full hot cooked breakfast; daily maid service; free parking and high speed wireless internet; enjoy parlor cookies and complimentary beverages; cable TV; air conditioning; near UAB and 26 restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1309 19th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-4801
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $153 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobb Lane Bed And Breakfast
Cobb Lane Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We booked the zebra room, had a private entrance. Def recommend.”
H3631CIsabrinab, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“I loved the Camellia room as a single traveler,”
allerton21, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“One in the main house.”
PandyPandora, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't plan on a romantic getaway, people in the other rooms will hear everything.”
krisleigh454, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our favorites were the Peacock or Camelot rooms but there isnt medicore one in the bunch.”
Rickgray, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 131* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 131
Hotels.comUSD 131
TripAdvisorUSD 131
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates