We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 327: English reviews
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Stayed here last night and fly out today. It was a great place, not a suite, but a nice king size bed with different pillows and plenty of outlets. The lady working the front desk was very hospitable... the white noise provided by the fan also was an AC that I couldn't turn off but it wasn't that noisy. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary c
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good nights sleep before your flight out. Thank you for your good review and please return again.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Watch for the dead bugs underneath the mattress. Also human hair as well. Baby spiders along the walls. How can I forget the weird smells in both rooms I had. Cleaning ppl rushing me out the room. Front desk girls were nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K9367TAmichaelg
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

I'm so sorry for your poor experience this week at our hotel. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing the best in lodging and service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously.

Mid Michigan
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We thought the lobby was a little time worn although pleasant. The staff as a whole were a wonderfully polite, helpful and accommodating team. Our room which they upgraded was very clean and comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank midmichigangal
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review and we are glad you had a clean and comfortable stay here with us. Please return again soon.

Alexandria, United States
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Had black mold in the shower and only warm water. Advised the staff was promised a change of room but nothing was done to fix the problem or change my room. Have stayed here before with excellent results. The arrival desk clerk very helpful but things went downhill from there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that you were disappointed in the condition of your guestroom. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016

If you don't have a rental car, then staying here and getting to the airport may mean quite a bit of Uber or taxi fares. There is no airport shuttle. Though the hotel says it is the Birmingham Airport Hampton Inn, it means it is the Hampton that is closest to the airport amongst all other Hampton Inns, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldbutcool
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

We are sorry our location did not fit your needs but are glad you enjoyed a restful nights sleep. Thank you for your review and please return again.

Ashford, Alabama
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Absolutely horrible experience...very nasty! The heated pool was not heated and very unclean. Horrible place to stay. It has turned us off from staying at a Hampton Inn ever again. This location needs new management!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H639ASlesliep
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job. The next time you have the opportunity...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had a wonderful time at this loacation. Staff was friendly and helpful especially the desk staff and the breakfast crew. Rooms were clean and breakfast was a nice extra. Location was very close to where we needed to go and close to the freeway too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minnette L
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and want to invite you back again soon.

Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Room 329--K suite? N/S Sat night Good: very clean; A/C quiet, efficient, good bed & pillows, lots of space, couch, quiet good decor--calming greens & browns, plenty of towels, very nice brakfast attendants; nice friendly check-in folks Average: breakfast--the usual "suspects" Not So Good: power outage for about 1 to 1 1/2 hours on very hot night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davontheroad
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will be able to return the next time you are in our area.

Asheville, United States
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Accommodations are very good. Staff made it real easy to check in to 32 rooms. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Allowed us to have use of meeting room. Check out was easy and painless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M M
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I’m happy to read from your review that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I was especially glad to read that you had a speedy and efficient check-in. Our main concern is for all our guests to have a welcoming stay and I...

Leesville, Louisiana
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Unstable power. Power was out for approximately two hours in 90+ degree heat. I wouldn't complain about this, but it was only put at the hotel. No other places lost power. You can hear everything (and I mean everything) in the adjacent rooms and bathrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vincentap2016
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry for the fact that you did not have a comfortable stay. Be assured that we are sharing your concerns with all appropriate management so that corrective measures are taken where feasible. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations as this is not typical...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
7.6 km away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
2.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#44 of 80 in Birmingham
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Trussville
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a comfortable and convenient stay at our Irondale hotel with free high-speed internet access in guest rooms and business center. Our business center features a choice of professional services including fax and photocopying. Start the day with a workout in our fitness center or refresh with a swim in our indoor pool. Join us for waffles, eggs and daily specialties with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. If you’re headed to an early morning meeting or golf on the Robert Trent Jones Trail, grab an On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, for a quick and healthy meal to go. Host your special occasion or executive business meeting in our Whistle Stop Meeting Room. Pick up a midnight snack or sundries at our 24-hour Suite Shop. If you’re traveling with young children, we can provide a crib and high chair during your stay. Unwind in a guest room or suite that features all of the amenities and services that you’ll need for a carefree vacation in Birmingham. Turn on the 32-inch LCD HD TV and watch a cable channel. Get prepared for the day in a bathroom featuring granite countertops and vanities. Be productive by using the work desk with adjustable lamp or lap desk. Pop popcorn in the microwave while cooling drinks in the mini-refrigerator. Check emails using free high-speed internet access or simply relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale

Address: 950 Old Grants Mill Road, Birmingham, AL 35210-1204
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $140 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-East i-20 Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-East i-20
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Houston, Texas
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back side (east?) looks at woods--quiet”
 of 5 bubbles davontheroad, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles bayoubuckeye, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go high!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Villages531, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the side of the hotel without the portico to wake up to a really nice view of the forest.”
 of 5 bubbles b1gtraveler, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced east (the rear of the hotel) and was extremely quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 2CAtravelers, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay