We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

TravelocityUSD 222*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 222*
USD 222*
USD 222*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
See the most recent reviews
Showing 261: English reviews
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

Check-in agent was friendly and was assigned a nice large corner room as a MR Gold member. Unfortunately, the bed had dozens of hairs all over! I mean the previous occupant must have ripped out handfuls of his (assuming due to the short hairs) hair and scattered them all over. Disgusting! Clearly the bedsheets were not changed by housekeeping. Too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rlee508
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

We apologize for the experience you encountered. Please feel free to call me directly to discuss this further. Thank you.

enterprise al
Reviewed 28 November 2015

The hotel is very close to the Kirklin Clinic where we had to go. The staff was very friendly every time we came near them. They were helpful. The hotel was clean modern and user friendly, the room was great so was the bed. All in all it is a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jab10
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Stayed here for a weekend trip to see the Birmingham Slossfest. It was walking distance to the venue which was nice (maybe 1.5 miles). There are also some great eating places within a few blocks of the hotel. The hotel offered a wonderful warm complimentary breakfast and the rooms and decor were all modern. Only complaint would be the limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TessinGA
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

I booked this place in advance since its relatively close to Birmingham airport and only about 45 minutes from Talladega speedway. The location in the city was perfect as it was a very short five minute walk to five points and the bars and restaurants. The room was neat and tidy and just perfect for my brother and I. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
Midwest
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Stopped at Residence Inn for one night and got two rooms. The hotel is very nice - lobby and rooms are modern and well decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful. The entire facility was very clean and attractive. The breakfast buffet in the morning was top-notch. My only complaint was the $10 self-serve parking. No other complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjandljtravels
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We charge for parking as we are downtown and space is limited.

Alabama
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

The hotel is very well located. The rooms are excellent.. like a small apartment. As a family we really enjoyed the kitchenette with all the amenities! The breakfast is very good with decent amount of choices. The only downside is that we could not get a crib despite the hotel advertising that they provide them. I assume that they ran...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pablo_Hudini
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry we couldn't honor your request for a crib. We don't charge for our cribs and they are available on a first come, first serve basis. The weekend you stayed with us, we had several families with small children in the hotel.

Grayson, Georgia
Reviewed 6 October 2015

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are comfortable. Hotel has free "dinner" Mon-Wed And free breakfast in the morning,,,warning,,they cut off breakfast at 9:30 am sharp,including removing the coffee urns, so if you want breakfast get there in time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ugafan33
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us!

Prattville
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious, quiet, and clean. Staff is friendly and eager to help. On-site parking that costs $10.00 is not adequate at all. I will not be staying at this hotel ever again due to poor parking. I do not recommend this hotel due to poor parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin B
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

We apologize that you had difficulty with our parking. All downtown hotels charge for parking due to the limited amount of parking space. Please feel free to contact me so we can discuss this further. Thank you!

Joplin, Missouri
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

Located where you can walk to many local restaurant, this hotel provides a great place to rest. Pretty quiet street side you may wish to get a room that is odd numbered to get the back. Clean and neat with friendly staff. The toilet / shower area was small but the sink was outside of that area which was nice....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 200nightsontheroad
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you!

Rural Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 September 2015

I love this place, I wish I could have stayed here longer- it'd be a great place for a stay longer then 3 days. This place is complete with a stovetop, full refrigerator, microwave and living area. They even provide you with all Kitchen utensils you may need. The only negative thing I'd have to say about this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Z

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
1.8 km away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 79 in Birmingham
652 reviews
0.4 km away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
0.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "new" Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB is proud to be the most recent hotel addition to the Magic City. This upscale hotel offers the business traveler all the comforts of home to include a full working kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district and within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, full kitchens, free full breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, free high speed internet, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $202 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Louisville, KY
over a year ago
Salisbury, North Carolina
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“upper floors are good”
dcfiread, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Furniture is older and upholstered; Televisions are small; Get suite if possible!”
yasminemhill, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a 5th floor room and it was quiet.”
BryanP137, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on back side are quieter.”
jessicaj823, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I have the pictures of the cock roach in the bathroom as well as the room and room number”
BSParanormal1, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 222* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 222
Residence InnUSD 222
Hotwire.comUSD 222
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates