We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

852 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
See the most recent reviews
Showing 841: English reviews
Greensboro, United States
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Great experience for our family! We enjoyed the dinning for all meals and the bar. The location was ideal for our family reunion. The staff was very accommodating. our group went to a museum via the hotel shuttle and the even offered to pick us up when we were done in the museum.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orian M
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

Orian M Thank you for choosing the Tutwiler downtown Birmingham. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay while spending time with family. Our team strives for perfection from the time you arrive at the hotel and go to your room to the time you depart from us. Next time your travels bring you to Birmingham, take a stroll to...

washington dc, United States
Reviewed 8 July 2016

this was my second time visiting the hotel and as always I received royal treatment. from the valet attendents to the front desk , this was truly a relaxing getaway and I highly recommend the Hampton Inna nd Suites Tutwiler in Birmingham AL

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tawanna C
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

Tawanna C Thank you for continually choosing the Tutwiler downtown Birmingham. We love hearing from our guests, especially when we get it right! Thank you for taking the time to recognize our hospitable team and to let us hear about your great experience at our property. We look forward to your return to the beautiful Magic City.

Orange Beach, Alabama
Reviewed 8 July 2016

My granddaughter and I stayed there for a quick trip to Birmingham to see "Wicked". The hotel and its staff far exceeded my expectations. Not only was our room fresh and clean, the size was surprisingly large with two queen beds and and two club chairs for relaxing. The parking valets were very efficient and offered a wealth of information....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y5181JOdeborahc
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

Y5181JOdeborahc Thank you for choosing the Tutwiler we are so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations while you were with us on-property. We take great pride in our wonderful staff at the Tutwiler and are very proud of the work that they do. We trust you enjoyed "Wicked" at the BJCC. We would be honored to have the...

Redondo Beach, California
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Still can't believe this property is a Hampton Inn. Beautiful and historic, but with large rooms and modern amenities. Our room had a great view of the next door library and we slept very well. Near enough to Civil Rights Institute, Railroad Park, and Vulcan Statue, but not somewhere I would walk at night. Reasonably priced valet parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amhanstein
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

amhanstein Thank you for choosing the historic Tutwiler Hampton Inn & Suites. We appreciate your feedback. . We trust you enjoyed Birmingham's local attractions. We would be honored to have the opportunity to accommodate you again when visiting the Birmingham area-

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

There was only one terrible thing wrong with this stay. It was AMBER the front desk person. I think she is also the assistant manager. She was very unwelcoming. Most questions that were asked of her were either followed with heavy sighing or an "I don't know" without any follow up. If there was something she didn't know she should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shana K
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful, clean old world charming place with all the new amenities. Staff was wonderful & quick to offer assistance. Only negative was not about hotel but the # of homeless people in park across street & it would have been nice for mini fridge in room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

Pam L Thank you for choosing the beautiful historic Tutwiler downtown Birmingham. We trust you enjoyed your stay. We strive for excellence in customer service. The next time your travels bring you to Birmingham, please allow me to personally make your reservations to ensure that your travel needs are taken care of. We look forward to your return to the...

Cleveland, Mississippi
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

The location was great and I loved the old architecture. The room was very large and the staff welcoming. The beds were comfortable but the carpet needed cleaning or replacing for my guests; that was our only complaint and it really didn't bother me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gweeks70
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

Gweeks70 Thank you for choosing the historic Hampton. We trust you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry for the carpet and have sent your review to our management team for review. Please know that we strive for excellence and trust you will choose the Hampton downtown for your next stay while in Birmingham.

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 6 July 2016

It's a nice hotel for a Hampton but not an exceptional hotel. HVAC was not working well on Friday when we checked in and failed on Saturday. They comped our room for Saturday. We ordered a top shelf Margarita in their bar and it was the most expensive we have paid for. I think it was $18 with tax. Ridiculous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank td_dfw
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Tutwiler. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We had technicians working on the A/C units at the first alert that something was wrong. We called immediately and they stayed until the problem was resolved. Please be assured this is not typical of any guest experience here and will use this...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I occasionally get rooms to relax during my work week. The atmosphere at the Tut is calming. Great beds and easily adjustable room settings make my stay really comfortable. This will be my new mink getaway spot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whitney J
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

Whitney J Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you choosing the Tutwiler for your getaway spot. We strive for excellence in every opportunity. We look forward to your return.

Columbus, Indiana
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Stayed at the Tutwiler for our sons wedding in Birmingham. Can't begin to say how much help Patricia Conrad, director of catering, was for me. We are from Indiana with friends and family totaling about 35 people stayed at the Tutwiler. Trisha helped me thru all the steps of rooms, tourist ideas, last minute changes our group made, and even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri19882016
Amber T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review

Terri19882016 Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you chose to spend your son's wedding festivities with us. Your detailed compliments of the Tutwiler, professional and friendly staff are very much appreciated. I especially thank you for recognizing the efforts of Patricia Conrad; she really is a prized asset to our hotel. We look forward to your...

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 km away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 km away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#14 of 80 in Birmingham
389 reviews
11.7 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
15.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
2.0 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham with an audio-tour of the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Explore Birmingham's culinary scene from four-star restaurants to the popular Southern meal known as "meat and three." Century Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel lobby serves southern and gourmet classics. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. Visit the McWane Science Center, a four-story interactive museum with IMAX theater. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: $166 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Alabama
Highlands, North Carolina
3 months ago
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 months ago
Fort Worth, Texas

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in 511 - great room”
 of 5 bubbles Dan_98765, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Talk to the staff. All rooms have a lovely view and all are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Hilly-Filly2, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the one with the balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles travisb629, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a suite”
 of 5 bubbles sharonm976, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Double rooms are very nice, suites are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles tamaraclem, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay