We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aeroporto Othon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Aeroporto Othon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

496 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Jundiai, SP
Reviewed 7 October 2016

For those looking for an extraordinary visit and back in time while you take a ride at an elevator from the glorious era of the 60's with glamour and a lot of furniture of that time, and also a modern bathroom and other good things this is the place to stay. The view to the ocean is even better, get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielCossi
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Daniel. Thank you for the beautiful words and if you come back to Rio, stay at our hotel once more! Best rgds, Vera Reis

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We've stayed there 10 days, Nice hotel, you've got everything you need, close to the center, there is always some friendly people to help you for anything, a car park in front of the hotel, a good restaurant, breakfast is alright and a train station just in front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxime R
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Maxime, Thank you for your comment about our Aeroporto Othon Travel, good that we can meet their expectations. We hope that in the near future, we can review it again here with us. Sincerely, Vicente Carvalho Operations manager

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I just have stayed at a different hotel than everyone else writing reviews. I took the Real bus from GIG to SDU last night for me flight this morning. It took almost two hours by the way because of the traffic. Anyway- I walked across the pedestrian bridge and it was about 6:45 and there were still a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Sir Michael, We would like to thank you for your comments about the services provided by our Aeroporto Othon. We are pleased you enjoyed our standard of service and comfort, which surely will seek to maintain in an increasingly higher level. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel in the near future to show...

Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel should be shut down. In the 1940s. Rooms are old and decadent, the elevators have manual doors. Furniture composed of old museum pieces. Old tube tv. Wrinkled stained carpets. No restaurants around. Shady location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cfbergmann
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Bergmann cf We appreciate your comments and we regret the fact that we have achieved all your expectations during your stay with us. It is very important to receive feedback from our customers because we believe that only in this way can we obtain an effective contribution to improving our services. We take also to inform the registered...

Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Honestly this hotel could've been nice when it was first built but now it's not. Now I don't think they know how to do math since we booked it for 3 people and they only gave us one queen bed and once we brought the problem up they said we'll have to fit in one bed so we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramon b
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ramon, We appreciate your comments and we regret the fact that we have achieved all your expectations during your stay with us. It is very important to receive feedback from our customers because we believe that only in this way can we obtain an effective contribution to improving our services. We take also to inform the registered issues...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 7 February 2016

To call Aeroporto Othon for a 3-star hotel is a joke. We encountered several issues while at this hotel, and I cannot recommend it to anyone unless your only alternative is sleeping at the pavement. Let’s start with this hotels physical attributes: - The aircondition in the room works poorly - It’s impossible to sleep comfortably in the beds -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Søren B
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Søren B, We appreciate your comments and we regret the fact that we have achieved all your expectations during your stay with us. It is very important to receive feedback from our customers because we believe that only in this way can we obtain an effective contribution to improving our services. We take also to inform the registered...

Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 23 January 2016

1) Hidden fees. When you arrive, you suddenly find out that you need to pay more than stated upon booking. 2) No internet. They tried to sell it to me upon arrival, for 30 reais a day. I declined. 3) The breakfast is poor, for this price. No fruits, only orange juice. Surprisingly, it is really included in the price......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller P
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Traveller P We appreciate your comments and we regret the fact that we have achieved all your expectations during your stay with us. It is very important to receive feedback from our customers because we believe that only in this way can we obtain an effective contribution to improving our services. We take also to inform the registered...

Curitiba, PR
Reviewed 15 January 2016

First of all, i may say I know several "Othon" Hotels. But this is a very disappointing place. In Rio you have lots of other options. I was there for a professional reason and my University booked this place because of the proximity from the Santos Dumont Airport (attention: not GALEAO AIRPORT, which is very far from here). People at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlos s
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Carlos, We appreciate your comments and we regret the fact that we have achieved all your expectations during your stay with us. It is very important to receive feedback from our customers because we believe that only in this way can we obtain an effective contribution to improving our services. We take also to inform the registered issues...

Cordoba, Argentina
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We had to stay for the night once we arrived in rio because we were given our car the following morning, so we decided to book a room here, it looked nice in the pictures and we would have never imagined that an OTHON hotel could be so terrible! We arrived at 11 pm, checked in and were taken to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yazmin D
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 December 2015

I stayed one night.I booked the hotel as I could take the Airport Shuttle bus from GIG to San Dumont Airport, and then walk across (less than a km) over the pedestrian bridge to the hotel. Take the Metro to Copacabana ;leave back to GIG the next day. The hotel is located in Centro, where everything is closed at 7p.m....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chandana_silva
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Chandana, Thank you for your comments registered. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. If some day you come back to Rio, stay in Aeroporto Othon and we would...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Gamboa Rio Hotel
#173 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
75 reviews
Hotel Pouso Real
#176 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
121 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro...
#142 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pompeu
#230 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
114 reviews
Centro
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumon...
#107 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,856 reviews
Centro
Hotel Galicia
Hotel Galicia
#254 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro
Downtown Rio is the place where this city was born. With modern skyscrapers sharing space with historical buildings and landmarks, this neighbourhood is living proof that the old and the new can live together harmoniously. As you would expect, downtown is where all major companies house their offices. However, the region isn’t restricted to businesses. Gems such like the “Paço Imperial,” which is a cultural centre that used to serve as a residence for governors of Brazil, can be found here. Pedra do Sal, a Monday night street party, is also in this neighbourhood. This landmark is the birthplace of samba and is famous for its “roda de sambas” (“dance circles”). Stop in for one and get closer to discovering where Brazilian happiness comes from.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Aeroporto Othon

Address: Avenida Beira-Mar 280, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20021-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Price Range: $60 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aeroporto Othon 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aeroporto Othon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Travel Travel
Aeroporto Othon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aeroporto Othon staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aeroporto Othon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Os quartos com vista para o mar são fantásticos e baratos.”
 of 5 bubbles DanielCossi, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“scamming hotel”
 of 5 bubbles vitalyc2016, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Forget it!”
 of 5 bubbles carloss885, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the upper floor have street views”
 of 5 bubbles chandana_silva, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
“If you have young kids make sure you don't get a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Gmac68, 28 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay