We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Art Hostel Rio

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Art Hostel Rio
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Hostel Rio
See the most recent reviews
Showing 30: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2012

It was an unpleasant stay. Smelled damp (or worse...). No curtain in our room at all (even though the window was directly over one bed and we were on ground floor). No air con. We stayed at an ensuite room - but shower was over toilet with no separation; showerhead was connected to electrical cables (for heating up water?! See...

5Thank ELHC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm for 4 nights over carnival. The room was tiny with just 2 bunk beds each having 3 beds stacked on top... as i was last in I got the top.. the bed would have been quite comfortable, but as they were old everytime someone would move in the bed the whole bunk would...

2Thank Love-postcards
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here over the carnival for nearly 2 weeks. As every hostel in Rio during carnival it was outragously expensive and consequently not good value. The place itself is ok, hot and stuffy inside but it is reasonably equipped with kitchen, computer room with several computers, big TV and common area. There is free wifi and it isn't that...

Thank Neil T T
Vitória, Espirito Santo, Brazil
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Good place, good location, but rooms.. are not ventilated.

2Thank Emilia_Brito
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We arrived in Rio, the first stop on our around world trip. Both of us were nervous first time travellers at the time and arriving in Rio was a really a big leap from what we were use to. The Art Hostel was the perfect place for us to start off. The staff were more than helpful and very friendly....

Thank directinglife
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The nice entrance convinced us to book a night at this place. Unfortunately, the room we paid for was not the room they gave us. Instead of a double room we had to sleep in a dorm room that was made private for us. The ceiling in this room was very low and the equippment was very basic. Since we...

4Thank TravelSisi
Brasov, Romania
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We got a small room, which was very humid and dark and it had a peculiar smell. The bathroom door was broken and didn't close and there were hairs on the bathroom floor. It was strange, because the hostel's lobby looks really nice and the location is good, so it could be a nice spot for young people going to...

3Thank OliviaPetraComan
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Found this place to be a typical hostel with the worn-in feel and musty smell to it. The rooms are really old and I didn't consider them to be that clean. We got a room with a bathroom on the first floor and found the room to have a damp feel to it. The bathroom is an all-in-one, with nothing...

1Thank wanderlustz
Niteroi, RJ
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I would not recommend that hostel at all. The staff is not helpful, the rooms are dirty and the location is too bad. It´s a bad choice for what you are paying.

2Thank Mark_Iron
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 19 February 2010

The place is terrible. Our room was dirty, very noisy and at the hottest summer in Rio there was no airconditioning. Next to the window there was a light with sensor. So every few minutes the light went on, even in the night. When we wanted to leave this hostel, the staff was not helpfull. So my advice: find an...

2Thank emilie s
ArtHostelRio, Front Office Manager at Art Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Hello. We have options for room with AC or not. By paying (at the time you were at our hostel) R$15 per night extra, you could have upgraded to a room with AC. Art Hostel Rio

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (77)
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Bathroom (11)
Room/Suite (14)
View from Room (1)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (40)
Room/Suite (11)
Dining (2)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hostel Republica
Hostel Republica
#159 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
143 reviews
Hostel Flamengo
#300 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
22 reviews
Samba Palace Hostel
#67 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vitoria
#285 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
39 reviews
Great House Rio
#153 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Casa Caminho do Corcovado
#13 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 150 meters away from the Catete Metro Station and 500 meters from Flamengo beach in Rio de Janeiro, the Art Hostel Rio offers private rooms with bathroom , A/C , cable TV and free WiFi , with access to the kitchen , lounges and loungers. All our rooms have private baths and thinking in large groups , we also have shared dorms with free wifi, lockers , linens / towels and private bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is served each morning in the dining room and garden terrace. The buffet includes a variety of seasonal fruits, breads, cakes , cold cuts and a selection of hot and cold drinks. The Maracana Stadium is 9 km away , while the center of Rio is just 2 km from the hostel. But the Santos Dumont Airport can be found 3 km away. We speak your language! max capacity. 110 travelers ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Hostel Rio

Address: Rua Silveira Martins 135, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22221-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Catete
Price Range: $54 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Art Hostel Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Art Hostel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hostel Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Art Hostel Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Art Hostel Rio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a hotel down the street with a view over the sea. I would suggest going there instead.”
 of 5 bubbles veronicaw245, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private if you can afford it”
 of 5 bubbles ThereseN521, 17 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Recomendo que escolham um quarto com ar condicionado ou com janelas grandes para a rua. A rua Silveira martins é bem arborizada o que proporciona um bom conforto térmico natural.”
 of 5 bubbles DubocBrazil, 10 Jan 2014 | Read review
“The second floor 12 bed dorm has more windows =)”
 of 5 bubbles ashleyt637, 29 Jun 2013 | Read review
“The staff always know where the great parties are so not be afraid to ask”
 of 5 bubbles Joycey27, 1 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5