We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Misti Botafogo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Misti Botafogo
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Misti Botafogo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Paris
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Dont choose this hostel if you have other options. The staff is nice and the property is well located, but it is durty and small. 4 bathroom with toilets inside for the whole place. No wifi in our room (big dead cockroach in it instead). However, good breakfast !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear Julie. Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding...

Paris
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Good stay in general. The personal was agreable, gave good advises to go out in Rio. The breakfast was correct. The bad point is the cleaning of the bathroom that was not so good and the price for a laundry a little crazy. But i recommand it !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennos88
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear Dennos First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you with a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, elmisti family !

Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 12 July 2016

I really liked the hostel for its staff. They were very helpful and talkative and just nice. One night, everyone went out to a party... The facilities, however, weren't as good. The kitchen was a bit dirty and the rooms were okay. The breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffman
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear valued Steffman , Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. our hostel. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to...

Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The only thing I have to advise is more attention to the cleanliness of bathrooms and I noticed one of the beds was broken. Otherwise I appreciated the rich breakfast, hot shower, nicely ventilated room, soft linen, comfortable bed, very helpfull staff, free room for my bike. The hostel is located 2 minute walk from the beach and a couple...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katerina B
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear Bartonkova First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you with a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, El misti botafogo Family

Reviewed 27 June 2016

I enjoyed staying at El Misti. If you like music and clubbing, then I recommend this place. The minute I walked in the door, I heard music and it was played all day which created a lively atmosphere. It also made me feel like clubbing every night and there are plenty of clubs in Rio to enjoy. El Misti was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa A
El Misti H, Manager at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear Alexa, thank you for your comment about our property. I have shared your review to all the staff and we are glad to know that you had a great time with us and we'd hope to see you again in the future. Take care.

Sao Paulo
Reviewed 11 June 2016

It's a brand new hotel and have some details to fix, as usual. But the overall was really good. The high peak was the breakfast: Super! And the location is amazing. very easy way to downtown and the other touristic place of the city.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcosdiesel
El Misti H, Manager at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for leaving your comment about our property. We are happy to know that you had an excellent stay with us as we tried our best to make your stay memorable. We'd hope to see you again in the future and give you even better service with some better details as you mentioned. Take care.

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 2 June 2016

-The hostel has a really good location, staff were very helpful but at the end some new were very impolite. The staff can recommend a lot of places to go out. -Normally there are nice people to meet. -Bathrooms are not very clean because they have a rubber mat that looks dirty. -For a short term it would be nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonardolondono
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 3 weeks ago, and I had a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean and they were comfortable. The attention and service that I received was really good. I would like to thank everyone that works here, for helping me have a wonderful stay. I will come back soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderKEvin
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear Alexander Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding...

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel is great mostly because of the team which is nice, available and always listening to our needs. They advised us well in english, espagnol and french sometimes. The place is clean and the breakfast is great. It was a good solution for a young couple like us which is going on a 5 month trip in south america

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume S
Berlin
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Misti was one of the very few options i found two weeks before carnival which was still possible to pay. Staff is nice and really helpful, and the dorms are ok. Unfortunatelly bathrooms are not clean and breakfast was nothing that helps you over your hangover.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yannishaug
El Misti H, Manager at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review about our hostel. Your review is very important for improvement of our services. During carnival the house was full and we really tried our best to keep the house clean, however, it is also a responsibility of every guest to have some collaboration on this part. It is a hostel anyhow, where people...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#17 of 738 in Rio de Janeiro
692 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
#22 of 738 in Rio de Janeiro
944 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#9 of 738 in Rio de Janeiro
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 738 in Rio de Janeiro
280 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti House
El Misti House
#15 of 738 in Rio de Janeiro
769 reviews
Leme
El Misti Leme
El Misti Leme
#406 of 738 in Rio de Janeiro
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Botafogo

Neighbourhood Profile
Botafogo
In recent years, Botafogo has become one of the hottest neighbourhoods in Rio. It hosts many modern restaurants with contemporary food and many venues to listen to rock and electronic music. Its numerous bars and pubs make this area a great choice for anyone interested in a great nightlife experience - in fact, some bars in the area are open all night. Casa Daros, an art museum that showcases amazing artists from Latin America, is a must see located in a historical building in Botafogo.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Misti Botafogo is a cozy hostel that runs in a colonial mansion from 1913 retaining some original features. Located in the traditional neighborhood of Botafogo, only one metro stop from Copacabana, it is close to bars, restaurants and also public transportation to all areas of the city. The Sugar Loaf is the postcard that can be seen right at the entrance of the hostel's street, which makes us feel even more present in Rio de Janeiro. We offer a large common kitchen, a cozy living room, TV and computer available for guests. At the bar we offer delicious tropical drinks and our barman promotes the famous El Misti Hour, where the guests can socialize with each other drinking fantastic caipirinhas. We have comfortable private and shared accommodations with individual lockers and bedding, low-cost dining service, complimentary breakfast buffet, free internet connection and also a delicious barbecue every Friday. In addition, it offers a complimentary arrival transportation for reservations of 4 nights or more * and the El Misti Experience ** a combo of trails through the main viewpoints of the Wonderful City. It is the perfect place for those traveling on a budget and wants to make the most of this lively city. The trilingual receptionists will give you excellent options on parties and exclusive tours in Rio de Janeiro that occur every day, in addition to the friendly, fun and welcoming treatment. Do not miss this opportunity and book your bed at El Misti Botafogo. * You must reserve the service with the hostel at least 48 hours in advance. For bookings of 1 to 3 people - The total amount of the reservation must be equal to or higher than R$ 250 - Service available from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm For bookings of 4 to 6 people - The total amount of the reservation must be equal to or higher than R$ 500 - Service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. ** Subject to availability ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Misti Botafogo

Address: Rua Praia de Botafogo 462, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Price Range: $29 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Misti Botafogo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your El Misti Botafogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Botafogo Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Misti Botafogo staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Misti Botafogo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the dormitories are really cheap”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Any room will work!”
 of 5 bubbles 948jeremiahd, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“you should find other place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles Ula2011, 28 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The rooms are pretty much the same thing.”
 of 5 bubbles 703fernandoo, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Room 6 is kinda together with another room, so its like a 16 beds bedroom, which may bother some people.”
 of 5 bubbles FlaviaRosaBR, 21 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5