We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Geko Hostel Paraty

Save
Traveller (98)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (18)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“beach bar”(5 reviews)
“offer tours”(3 reviews)
“nice kitchen”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
Restaurant
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Geko Hostel Paraty
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
37
19
21
1
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
37
19
21
1
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach baroffer toursnice kitchengreat adviceboat tourgood vibesbreakfast is servedlaundry serviceprivate bathroomquiet placeenjoyed our stayplace to stayrooms are cleanother guestshistoric centerbreadhostel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

The staff at gecko were great and always helpful, particularly Fernanda who was awesome! Good location, close to beach, canal and historic centre. The beach bar was nice and breakfast on the beach a plus. Highly recommend dropping into Paraty for a stay!More

Thank nicholas1828
Response from Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel ParatyResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Nicholas, We are really glad and grateful of receiving your evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% customer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing...More

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

No hot water, no locker neither lock on the dor of the room! At breackfast the girl was very rude because i ask her not to put the ham (because im allergic to it)! The hostel is not completed yet and they are already using...More

Thank Sarah B
Response from Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel ParatyResponded 16 July 2016

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced. On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please...More

Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

We overlooked the construction site that was the hostel and dealt with it because the location was great, but when we booked a tour with Paraty Tours through them which they then cancelled and refused to refund us, palming off responsibility from them to the...More

1  Thank nfm86
Response from Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel ParatyResponded 16 July 2016

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced. On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please...More

Reviewed 31 March 2016

My stay at Greko hostel was great! I really enjoyed having breakfast on the beach! Thats´s an experience that I recommend. Paraty is an amazing place! i´d like to thank Joel for the data he gave me about places to know and travels to do!...More

Thank puchetmariana
Response from Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel ParatyResponded 16 July 2016

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and...More

Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Kitchen is not even looking like kitchen and have not enough kitchen stuff. More then important the dorm was like a jail dorm more like then hostel dorm. Toilets are dirty water pressure is not enough, air conditions are not working and dorms are damp...More

Thank Cem1979
Response from Camila P, Gerente at Geko Hostel ParatyResponded 16 July 2016

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced. On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Paraty
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 14 - USD 80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
USD 14 - USD 80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (98)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (14)
Family and Play Areas (8)
Amenities (6)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Geko Hostel Paraty staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Avoid room 4, the lights from the adjoining staff room go on and off during the night!"
Read review
"best location, in front of the beach, lovely stuff, good prices"
Read review
"Private room"
Read review
"Don't get a dorm and avoid room 7"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing