We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Asalem

Certificate of Excellence
26/06/2017 27/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Asalem
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of Asalem
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We arrived in the pouring rain and so were soaked to the skin by the time we got to Reception - we could not have been given a warmer welcome. We had the basic chalet rooms which were definitely no frills and a mezzanine level bedroom with downstairs bathroom not great if you need loo during night but we managed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skiwidow
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Asalem is special - it has almost a pirate's hideaway vibe in the most charming way. The rooms are simple and clean and have incredible views - (in fact a jackfruit tree that was blocking a smaller room's view was trimmed while we were visiting.) The staff is warm and inviting and have excellent suggestions. They are fluent in at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesDerekDwyer
LONDON-UK
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Just returned from Brazil and Ilha Grande. The island is beautiful and just as described. However we were extremely disappointed by our accommodation at Asalem. We were advised on our arrival that our room was 'being painted' and that for the first night we would be upgraded. This room was just about acceptable but was not available for the remainder...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DSK540
Asalem_Ilha_Grande, Marketing at Asalem, responded to this review

First of all, we would like to apologize for such disappointment. Our Standard rooms have a rustic feature and are enjoyed by guests from all over the world. We know that the location of our suites is quite compromised due to the humidity of the island, so we are constantly painting them to avoid mold, although we were having difficulty...

Reviewed 20 February 2017

We had the most wonderful stay here at Asalem. The staff were all super lovely and chatty and bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. It's in the perfect spot only 20 or so minutes walk from the Abraão or a 5 minute water taxi that you can book anytime with Asalem. The views from the rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhian J
Asalem_Ilha_Grande, Diretor de vendas at Asalem, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Asalem, We are very Pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you can come anytime soon!!

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I went to ilha grande for a 2 night stay with my mum and we were looking for a little bit of luxury. We certainly found it with asalem - the views from the rooms are amazing!!! Simply stunning. And the food was really lovely, with the eating space overlooking the sea. Very special! I have to say you pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
Asalem_Ilha_Grande, Diretor de vendas at Asalem, responded to this review

We are very pleased to know that you enjoy your time with us. Thanks for choosing Asalem. We hope you can come any time soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Had the pleasure of staying 2 nights but wish we had stayed longer. We had the Eco suite and it was beautifully appointed and the view from the large private balcony was majestic. Staff super friendly and the food is of a very high standard recommend the fish and bananas.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey and Mart... B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Pros Secluded location away from main town/port - meant needed to catch a 10min water taxi after dark (20min walk over rocks/through forest not safe in dark or practical with suitcases) but this seclusion gave it a tranquility and privacy unmatched elsewhere. Rooms were bright and airy, clean and comfortable. Food was good value and very tasty - sufficient choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex B
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived on the worst weekend in August had 3 days of rain The staff at Asalem are excellent and will do everything to help you. Breakfast is amazing and the setting is fantastic. However I would not call this luxury, we stayed in the chalets and while they had all necessities they were damp and had no power in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cookie1911
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Took the girlfriend for just 2 nights. Very very relaxing and tranquil. Helpful and attentive staff. This is a Pousada, not a hotel. Don't expect hair dryers and toothbrushes. Do expect a great dinner menu with all food cooked to order and typical Brazilian breakfast. The higher rates are justified here because of the modern rooms as compared to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickyshh
Dublin
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived in the pouring rain and had to climb 74 stone steps to our chalet. What a disappointment - it was a basis fisherman's cottage, old fashioned and dark / possibly damp. The water in the shower was a warm trickle, WiFi and electricity were intermittent. In fairness to the super staff they allowed us to move to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DundonsDublin

415 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Eco-Premium Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
26/06/2017 27/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
1.3 km away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
462 reviews
0.9 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
530 reviews
1.6 km away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#11 of 17 in Ilha Grande
166 reviews
0.8 km away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ilha Grande
265 reviews
1.2 km away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ASALEM is a seaside hideaway situated in Ilha Grande, a protected reserve of natural land where no cars are allowed. All our 5 enchanting waterfront suites are surrounded by the rain forest that overlooks the spectacular Bay of Abraäo. This proximity to the ocean offers rare, intimate glimpses of sea creatures such as starfish and turtles, as well as abundant schools of fish. The forest brings frequent visitors, including monkeys, squirrels, fireflies, blue butterflies and a wide variety of exotic tropical birds. This unspoiled peace of paradise is the perfect spot for honeymooners looking for privacy: we are 20 minutes apart from the main village walking in an accessible path or 5 minutes by the taxi boat we provide. Apart from the taxi boat service, available 24/7, we can arrange boat trips, transfers, massages, scuba diving, snorkeling and guided hikes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Asalem

Address: Praia da Crena, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Price Range: $234 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asalem 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Asalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asalem Ilha Grande, Brazil
Asalem Hotel Ilha Grande
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Asalem staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Derbyshire UK
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Asalem staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go tor best you can afford if you want more luxury”
skiwidow, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get the Eco suite a few stars to travers but well worth the climb”
TraceyB381, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you can go for the Eco or Honeymoon rooms.”
WatsonandWatson, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Forget standard rooms go for a suite”
madtraveller6, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Eco suite”
GJCutts, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates