We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is conveniently located to the Huntington Metro Station, a large number of places to eat, and only a few minutes' drive to Washington D.C. The rooms smelled like cigarette smoke even though the property is suppose to be 'non-smoking' but otherwise it was a great stay. The staff is friendly and the rates are reasonable.

2Thank marinexbiologist
State Road
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I stayed at this hotel when I attended the 2016 Military Bowl. My standard king bed room was a little small, but very clean. Everything in the room worked like it was supposed to. The staff, especially Sarah and Cedrick were very professional and helpful. The hotel is about a mile from the Huntington Station which is a 'Yellow Line'...

1Thank mmclean427
Grayson, Kentucky
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Working in the area and stayed at this motel. I found it to be clean and my interaction with the staff behind the desk was friendly and helpful. The area is close to the interstate and pet friendly. It was quite with decent tv.

Thank Kevprichard
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Kevprichard, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your feel at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hotel. Hoping to see you again soon! Sincerely, Bikas S

Laurinburg, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Me and my friends wanted to visit Washington D.C for the weekend but didnt want to stay in D.C. We chose this hotel because it was 1 mile from metro station. The hotel was clean and staff was nice. The price was great. I would return again.

Thank akaAB
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear akaAB, Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and location met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future if you find yourself back in DC! Sincerely, Bikas S

Loganville, Georgia
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The front desk staff was absolutely fantastic!!! Both Sarah and Debbie were very understanding and helpful with all of the problems I experienced there. In fact, I cannot express in words how wonderful Cedric was. To wit, he singlehandedly helped me to plan our entire 6 days in D.C. I am so indebted to him for his assistance. Unfortunately though,...

2Thank lawrencefinocchi
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear lawrencefinocchi, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience with Sarah and Debie was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our service and housekeeping staff didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you. Sincerely Bikas S

Tyler, Texas
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Great service, great room, great price but most of all great location. There is a bus stop across the street to the left about 1/8 of a mile that will take you to shopping of all kinds. Across the street and around the corner to the left there is a bus stop that takes you to the yellow train line...

1Thank DCPJJ
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear DCPJJ, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions as well as some hidden treasures in the...

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We paid for the Premium rooms...which are on the second floor. Unfortunately for most of our two day stay the elevator was not working and the centre staircase was being painted. That meant we had to lug our heavy luggage a lot further than we would have liked. However, that was more about bad timing than anything permanent. Other than...

1Thank Martin C
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Martin C, Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconvenience with the elevator that you experienced during your stay and don't hesitate to call me to share more information and I will try my best to rectify the situation. Our elevator is now functioning...

Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Very professional staff and courtesy and help received from front desk Debie was outstanding also close to places to eat and for anybody wanting to use metro thanks again for a pleasant stay also going be close to the new mgm across the river

Thank mike k
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear mike k, It brings me a lot of pride and joy to hear that you're an avid fan of our hotel. We appreciate your business, your loyalty and your trust. Don't hesitate to call us if there's anything we can help you with for your next trip. We've passed your feedback to Debie; I'm sure she will be elated!...

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Comfortable, clean, accessible. Nice spot to rest while visiting all the great treasures of this area. We're totally blown away by the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception. Rivals Rome in scale and Sacred Art!!

Thank Sophia R
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Sophia R, I am pleased to hear that you find our location to your liking. On your next visit, we are happy to share with you a sample itinerary that will help you maximize your stay in the area. I hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Bikas S

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I can't believe the reviews for this place averaged out to a 4. Seems impossible that anyone liked it here. Red Roof Inn Plus is worse than terrible. It gets a zero rating. I stayed here for business and there was a constant element of shady characters. Be prepared to spend a restless, noise filled night. The four construction workers...

2Thank Pearl G
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Pearl G, I hope this notes finds well. We have sent your feedback to our security management staff. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally. Regarding the request for...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (29)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Room/Suite (11)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (35)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Room/Suite (22)
Bathroom (2)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
3.4 km away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#32 of 53 in Alexandria
184 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#17 of 53 in Alexandria
424 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
7.6 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $101 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room that faces away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles marinexbiologist, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best choice would be a room on the rear side but the traffic noise on the highway side was not really a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 962MartinC, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the highway as they are noisy during peak traffic periods.”
 of 5 bubbles NKC, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back have a bit of forest view.”
 of 5 bubbles joesA5112CI, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side will be more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles abbyb1967, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5