We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
Pacifica, California
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I come to Alexandria 3 times a year for work and typically stay at the Westin. Although the quality of the Westin seems to have gone down it definitely knows how to make you feel pampered. As a result, this review is definitely a comparison of my experiences at the Westin and here. The first thing I notice when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hemiadvisor
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comparison of my hotel, I truly appreciate the valuable information that you have provided. We are currently in the process of increasing our internet bandwidth and look forward to offering all of our customers faster internet service in just one more week. In our everyday breakfast we have a wide variety of light non-processed foods such...

Peckville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel while visiting DC, The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious, the hotel is super close to the Eisenhower Metro which takes you into DC, the metros are safe and very easy to use the hotel does offer shuttle service which we did use once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jharvey1020
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your hotel stay, I am glad that you enjoyed our clean and spacious accommodations. People love our close walking distance to the metro and many of the other popular destination spots we are in walking distance to. Once again thank you and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

bay area, ca
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was very disappointed with my experience at this Residence Inn. I think that the room lay out and kitchens in room are great for families, but the service and experience is not good for any regular traveler. I arrived late, around midnight. Went to the parking garage and pushed the entry button 3-4 times. no response. Had to back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calbearfan
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Calbearfan, thank you very much for taking the time to inform me about the experience you had at my hotel; and more importantly please accept my sincerest apologies for all of the short comings you encountered. I am particularly grateful to you because the information you have provided enables me the opportunity of obtaining knowledge so that I can...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel about 42 days. I loved it! The Staff from top to bottom were excellent! I even joined in on a focus group to help improve the hotel. I felt safe and secure in the hotel night and day. Everyone was courteous and helpful! My room was comfortable and relaxing. I really enjoyed the use of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all of the great compliments you wrote about my hotel. I am extremely proud of my staff for delivering you the experience you encountered and I look forward to sharing with them your comments. I enjoyed speaking with you in the focus group and having you as a resident for such a long stay. Once...

Taunton Ma
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked this hotel through AAA and got a great package deal for three nights. It also included two one day passes on the Metro. There are two Metro stations within walking distance. Also included was free parking.Our room was 1515 a king bedroom Suite. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable for my family. The pull out sofa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omydarlen
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Omydarlen, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at my hotel. I am filled with contrition about my shampoo cleaners entering your room and hope that you accept my apologies. The note you received under your door was designed to prevent this type of occurrence and I take full responsibility for the failure of the hand written name...

Verona, New Jersey
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel on the 4th of July weekend (Friday-Monday). The hotel is new and very clean. Staff is very friendly. The location is ok. A few comments: 1. The "skin" of computer chairs in both our rooms were peeled off so badly. We do not even want to sit on them. They are not old but of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JFTWNJ
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments on the friendliness of my staff and the hotel’s cleanliness. These are just two of the many reasons why our hotel is always full of people enjoying our famously best elaborate free breakfast in the area. Holidays always draw a larger crowd of people in any popular destination spot and I am glad you were...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I was walking down the hallway having my hands full with breakfast and tea when a staff member approached me and offered to open my room door for me. It was definitely unexpected. This hotel has a shuttle bus that would take you to Metro Station of your choice and Olde Town Alexandria....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S S
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting the excellent experience you had at my hotel. I am delighted that our staff was alert enough to provide you with assistance with your door. My Chef works hard every day to make the breakfast excellent, and I am proud that her efforts have come to fruition. It is also good to learn that...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here for several weeks in January, and when I initially opened the door I was so surprised by how spacious and modern the room was. Truthfully, it was nicer than some apartments I have lived in. Because of the layout, we were able to place my daughter's pack and play around a corner, which meant that she could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaveBabyWillTravel97
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic compliments about my hotel and staff. I am extremely proud of my team for providing you with exceptional service and I look forward to celebrating their success with them. I am glad that you appreciate our close proximity to so many destination spots and that our rooms are spacious and nice. Once again thank you...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here while on vacation in DC. We decided to stay in Alexandria because the town is great and the hotels are less expensive than the city. There are two subway stops near this hotel so it's very easy to get to and from DC. We chose this hotel specifically because we needed a 2 bedroom suite with 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brina S
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice comments about my hotel and staff. We work very hard every day to deliver the friendly and accommodating experience that you wrote about, and I look forward to sharing your post with my staff. I am additionally pleased with your discovery of our tremendous value; the free breakfast, evening dinner, beer & wine, spacious...

San Bernardino, California
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a lovely property. When my original hotel overbooked they put me here and the room was both spacious and well appointed. The bed was cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was the typical hotel breakfast, but nice for all that. The only quibble was the front desk agent was a little abrupt upon check in. All in all I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback regarding my spacious, cozy, and comfortable hotel. I am glad that you got an opportunity to experience us for your future choices. Everybody loves our wider than average full American breakfast and the extensive selections that we provide, I am glad that you enjoyed it. I am delighted that you are recommending us, and...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Alexandria
#12 of 54 in Alexandria
802 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,215 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Address: 2345 Mill Rd, Alexandria, VA 22314-4608
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Price Range: $128 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can hear the trains going past on one side of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles STGeorgia, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to determine if they have cleaned it after dog has been there.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelTreaveler, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“limit the cleaning stuff - the cleaning products have an over powering the smell”
 of 5 bubbles Capetownrio, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go to the top floors for best view!”
 of 5 bubbles lisadO1833HC, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I recommend picking a room with a view of the water or rest of Alexandria.”
 of 5 bubbles C7001FSjoew, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay