We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

958 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 939: English reviews
Pittsburgh, United States
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Even though we stayed at this location over a very busy weekend, the staff and accommodations were excellent. Room was very clean and spacious for the value expected. We searched all local rooms, especially looking for an outdoor pool. All expectations were met.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review of your stay. Come back soon.

Reviewed 5 July 2016

Great location to Old Town and Train station. Free shuttle to both. breakfast hours are convenient and a good variety of food. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Would recommend staying here for both business and personal.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you Brian for the nice comments on your stay with us. I hope you visit with us again soon.

Rochester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Super convenient location right off major route. Large hotel, rooms are clean, quiet and spacious. Outdoor pool only. Beds were comfortable. Front desk staff were very nice and accommodating. Very busy hotel--there was always a line of people at front desk no matter what time of day. The best part of this particular hotel was that they offered a free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amkcook2001
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great rating and wonderful comments on your stay with us. I hope you will return soon.

Anson, Texas
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I really really wish ALL hotel rooms had this lay-out. The floor plan of the room was perfect! This was the most comfortable room I have ever stayed in. It had a little kitchen, so there were two sinks. Breakfast was really good also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LanceKaren1990
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great rating and comments on your stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment. Come back soon to visit with us.

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 1 July 2016

I've stayed at this property several times in the past while on business in Alexandria. It's conveniently located to Old Town and the interstate, although it's a little confusing getting in. This property is larger than the typical Hampton so it can be busy. The rooms are typical Hampton style. They are a little dated and are showing some wear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbhakh
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for being a repeat guest. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Middlebury, United States
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Good Location, Great staff, Clean Rooms, Great Service. have stayed there in the past. Always try to book in when I;m in the DC metro area. Good restaurants in the area and close by. Trattoria Da Franco is wonderful and close by.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent rating and the recommendation on the restaurant. I will have to try it out. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Loved it. The hotel was clean, well managed and the breakfast was great! The bed was comfortable, the space was ample, free parking. This was a great find. The staff was good not great. They should add another waffle maker. The line for waffles with breakfast is about a 15 minute wait at a buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zakiyyah B
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and giving us the feedback on your stay. We will discuss them with our staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Wilmington, United States
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Great location, great hotel, and great staff. We have stayed her many times and keep coming back. The location is just south of Alexandria, which has lots of restaurants and shops. Down the parkway is Mount Vernon... definitely worth a visit.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy B
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the excellent rating on your stay with us and I am so glad you are a repeat customer. I hope to meet you on your next visit.

Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Clean rooms. Free parking. Free breakfast and 24 hr shuttle to Metro and Old town is great. Gary rhe shuttle driver, and all drivers, are excellent.Note that shuttle or car is key since trapped by highways.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottsO8119IY
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank for for the great rating on your stay and the drivers. I agree - we have the best drivers. Hope to have you as our guest again.

Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

We really enjoy staying at Hampton Inn, so we thought we knew what we were getting when we booked here. Not the case. This hotel is in desperate need for an update. The carpet and furnishings are really worn down and the room had a strange smell. The shower head was broken so it was like standing under a garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Lisa, I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. I hope you mentioned your concerns with the front desk while you were here so that we could have addressed them right away. I hope you will visit with us again.

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (48)
Viewed
King Studio Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $177 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a suite and it was so spacious and the king size bed was so comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles CancunSue2013, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms quiet despite the nearby highway”
 of 5 bubbles edwardm481, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had 2 rooms joining and the end of hall, near the stairs, worked well.”
 of 5 bubbles 326redb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“despite being near the highway we've never had noise complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles joebobbilly, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick any other hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JML-JPL, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5