We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Show Prices
#13 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

819 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 809: English reviews
Phoenix
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent hotel, great front desk service, young man with glasses very helpful. Front door staff made sure everyone got in from the unusual cold weather quickly. During U of Texas winter break a lot of restaurants shut down, that was my only complaint - but that is not on the hotel's end!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildcatkurt88
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a great stay here! The rooms were spacious, clean, and full of sunlight! I appreciated the technology in the room (access to all lights by the bed with the press of a button and many power outlets). The staff was very nice and not intrusive. The food and beverage outlets were tasty and quick! I really liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoCody
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our spacious clean rooms, modern technology updates, quick tasty food options, convenient location, and most of all that our staff was very nice and not intrusive....

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was beautiful, bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. however, do to elements out of the hotels control (construction) one side of the building was very noisy and my room was very stuffy, i had the AC at 66 degrees and never seemed to circulate the air throughout my room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank coachlevine81
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your beautiful room, comfortable bed, and clean hotel. We apologize and thank you for your understanding regarding the construction across the street and with the AC issues you experienced. Our engineering team is trying to...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms have been recently updated so everything is clean and comfy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location couldn't be better for walking everywhere. Only complaints were some iffy hot water one day and towels being replaced daily even though they were hung up.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nobo
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our clean comfy hotel, excellent downtown location, and very friendly helpful staff. We apologize for the iffy hot water and for replacing the towels which you conscientiously wanted to reuse. Engineering has fixed the hot...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The whole building made an impression of old-fashioned but quiet and clean. The staff was very friendly, but not vey helpful. Somehow, the front desk people were not able to give clear directions for getting around the city. In addition to that, I was never given the early-morning wake-up call that I had requested and being assured twice that it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J6057CZmilam
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We apologize and thank you for graciously rating us 4 stars even though our staff did not provide you with clear direction for getting around the city and not ensuring you received the wake up call you requested after verifying it twice with...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel and I can't find another hotel that is centrally localized - 5 minute walk to the capital and 1 street away from historic 6th street! Parking is expensive ($40 a day) but valet is absolutely first class. Our purpose for our stay was Franklins BBQ and they were 5-7 minute car ride...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlackLotus801
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us a second time at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our perfect location in the heart of downtown Austin, breakfast in our Club Lounge, wonderful staff and most of all housekeeping was prompt and professional in taking care of you. Next time you...

Lufkin, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was my first time staying at the hotel, i will recommend this hotel to anyone. The only thing was i Concerned about public parking. The staff was nice and courteous, the room was spacious and bed was very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rshankle
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your first stay with us and our spacious rooms, comfortable bed, and nice courteous staff. Next time you are in town it will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel with another couple (upon their recommendations) and were impressed by the charm, atmosphere and staff from the beginning. We had Club Rooms and therefore had access to breakfast, mid day snacks and afternoon cocktails. I had an issue with my room which materialized during the first night. There is construction taking place across the street on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nsl1952
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are honored to know that we were able to impress you with our charm, atmosphere and staff from the moment you arrived and that even when you experienced issues that our staff was able to go above and beyond to make it...

Vestal, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is basically in the center of Downtown Austin. Seems everything is within walking distance. Shopping and GREAT dinning all are within a few blocks of the hotel. And if you don't want to walk, Ride Austin is a great way to get around the town. Ride Austin replaced Uber.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bfav
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Austin. It would be our pleasure if, next time you are in town, you stayed with us again.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely wonderful experience. Cannot say enough about the hotel and it's staff. Everyone went above and beyond. Especially David at the front desk. Always ready to help with a smile. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Stephen F. A, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic hotel and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience of our hotel and staff and that David in particular was always ready to help with a smile. Next time you are in town we look forward to having you stay with...

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (51)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (Pre-Renovations) (29)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.5 km away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 197 in Austin
1,130 reviews
0.1 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#25 of 197 in Austin
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.6 km away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 197 in Austin
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $277 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Stephen F. Austin staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
6 months ago
Houston, Texas
11 months ago
Plano, Texas
over a year ago
Atlanta, Georgia

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Stephen F. Austin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Comfortable bed and great wi-fi service”
 of 5 bubbles wildcatkurt88, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check whether there is still construction on the South Side going on. The North Side also faces the State Capitol Building”
  • View of Congress Avenue and the State Capitol Building from Room 1510
 of 5 bubbles Nsl1952, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I highly recommend a "trip" of any length to the Stephen F. Austin InterContinental Hotel, even if you are an Austin-area resident! The staff will take very good care of you even if you are not road-weary!”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Governor's Suite was THE BEST and worth every penny. You feel like royalty!”
 of 5 bubbles 489bettyw, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe King room with Club Access”
 of 5 bubbles LeroyJ24, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay