We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

W Austin

Show Prices
#20 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
W Austin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,129: English reviews
Start your review of W Austin
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was very nice, clean and a good size, also beautifuk decor. The hotel is in the middle of Downtown, right near Willie Nelson statue and ACL live at the moody theater. On the 2nd street, which is the cleanest and nicest street between all the state capitol cities we've ever seen. The air is clean, nice lights on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olantro
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Hi Olantro, Thanks for the fantastic comments! I am thrilled to hear that you loved your stay and had a great time exploring the 2nd Street District and walking up Congress to the capitol. Beautiful, right? Am also glad to hear that you spent a lot of time dining at TRACE, my favorite. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our room was fine, our service was fine, but nothing was truly exceptional. This is a fine place to stay. It seems like it's trying a little too hard to be cool and hip. I will say we had an excellent trip as we truly fell in love with the city of Austin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyfullylady
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for the review. I am extremely disappointed to hear that your stay was just okay. At W Austin, our team strives to make every guests stay exceptional and it looks like we failed. That being said, I am glad that you had an excellent trip and fell in love with the city of Austin. We look forward...

Schertz, Texas, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

While the W was not the closest hotel to our show, we stayed there because of their Pets Are Welcome Program. The entire staff was very nice and accommodating, but the hotel was not a good value for the price and the web site amenities that were supposed to be provided for pets AT CHECK-IN (Pet toy, W Hotels pet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Hi Donna, I am incredibly sorry to hear about your recent stay at W Austin with your husband. I want to thank you for choosing us based on our Pets Are Welcome program. We welcome all fur friends and am disheartened to hear about the amenity issue that we offer to make all pets welcome. Feel free to reach out...

Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Faced with the prospect of staying in a second rate motel in a sold-out Houston during the Super Bowl, we opted for a 2 1/2 hour drive to the game and chose to stay at the W Hotel in Austin. The W location is close to many of the best restaurants and live music venues of dAustin. We had dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Paul, thanks for the very kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife were willing to stay with us hence the 2.5 hour drive to the Super Bowl in Houston. I am also happy to hear that you had a wonderful meal at TRACE and had time to walk around the 2nd Street District and check...

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usually stay at Westins and wanted to change it up. Staff was very nice. Room was spacious but.....We stayed in a room with deck and of course was charged extra. Its was disappointing as there wasn't any privacy and if your neighbors are out on their deck smoking you look right at them. It also looked out at parking garages....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, thanks for the review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that our staff was very attentive during your stay and that you found our rooms to be spacious. I agree that there's no privacy on the balconies and we have been looking into solutions to fix this. I look forward to welcoming you back to...

Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently completed my 10th stay here in the last 12 months(since I was spg) and it was about to start out RUFF (pun intended). I brought the same dog as I always do and in the past no one has ever mentioned extra fees until now...late on a Saturday after a 3 hour drive with a pre paid room... Well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Hi Sam, Thanks for your review. Congrats on the 10th stay, we are so lucky to have you! I am thrilled to hear that we could upgrade you to another great room with impeccable views. That being said, I am sorry about the miscommunication with bringing your dog and glad that Benjamin could turn lemons into lemonade regarding this. I...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If our trip wasn't already made by the beautiful hotel and atmosphere (and complimentary champagne at check in) it was brought to an all time high by the staff! It was my dad's 70th birthday and my entire family was blown away by the extra effort and enthusiasm from Tim, Benjamin, and channe! Only complaint is that our stay wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reilly H
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Hey Reilly, that is a great complaint to have. We wish you and your family would've stayed longer too. Maybe next time! Overall, I am thrilled that you had a wonderful stay at W Austin for your father's 70th birthday. Great to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay extra memorable. Look forward to welcoming...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reasonable rate, comfortable beds, artisanal couch, lots of tempting snacks & waters. Valet parking, and public lots both available. My only complaint is there is no door for the shower. I travel with 4 to 8 other men 7 months of the year. There's nothing wrong with a little homoeroticism here & there but let a man was his cash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james g
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Hey James, thanks for your review. I am thrilled to hear about your excellent stay with us. I couldn't agree more on how tempting the snacks in the room are. Gets me every time. As far as not having a shower door, we are very aware of this issue and are working on a solution for this. Next time you...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I travel a ton for work and frequently stay at W properties nationwide. They are all great, but The Austin W is, hands-down, one of my favorite properties! It stands out for so many reasons, but the team at the W Austin is what knocks this particular one out of the park!! I will run out of space naming all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley F
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Hi Ashley, thanks so much for your review. I am thrilled to hear that W Austin is your favorite hotel! It's so true that our staff is incredible and very knowledgeable about Austin and I am glad that you connected on a personal level with a lot of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to your hometown...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I had a problem, but Danielle Carrier went above and beyond to help me. She provided great customer service, responding quickly and professionally. I will definitely come back and visit! Thank you, Danielle, for all your help!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleTexas32
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review

Michelle, thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you had a problem, but am thrilled to hear that you received great customer service from our team. I look forward to welcoming you back to W Austin again soon! Cheers. Drew McQuade General Manager

512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (321)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (172)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Spectacular King (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
WET® pool (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 km away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 197 in Austin
1,173 reviews
0.6 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 197 in Austin
1,781 reviews
0.6 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Trace - W - Austin
Trace - W - Austin
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Living Room
Living Room
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $419 - $995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin
W Austin Texas
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from W Austin staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from W Austin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room without a pillar in the middle (we didn't have one and our room was big and great)”
  • Congress Avenue Bridge from the hotel
 of 5 bubbles Olantro, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Spectacular Room and it was VERY SMALL”
 of 5 bubbles 678DonnaW678, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River views are sunny and beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles PaulP427, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Spacious modern rooms, dont pay for deck room, waste of money”
 of 5 bubbles X4413ZAlisah, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view, and ask for Benjamin!”
 of 5 bubbles SamM584, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5