We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

University Inn Austin North

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
University Inn Austin North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for University Inn Austin North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was going to see about a room here until I got a look at the people behind the front desk. A woman named Arcelia was wearing slip-on shoes and jeans, and the woman whose name tag said General Manager was wearing flip-flops, kulat pants and a. unpressed blouse. I was so put off by the unprofessional appearance of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bishopd2013
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Dear Bishop D, I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed upon your arrival. It appears that you arrived here during our recent hotel convention. The entire staff was participating in the convention theme when you arrived. The group that was hosting their convention here at the hotel had indeed chartered multiple days with the limousine service for...

Smithville
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta L
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Sacramento
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Phone in room was not working. Service reps at desk were very helpful. I would give them 4 and a half stars and that is why the rating for 3.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda H
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Dear Ms. H, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was so sorry to hear that the phone in your room was not working properly. We are currently working to get all of our new rooms complete with working phones in every room. Thank you so much for your kind words in regard to our staff....

Houston
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrence L
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Austin
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The bath tub didnt have a stopper, the tolit moved every time you sat on it, the sink its self moved, the ceiling had leaks, not enough towels, the maids were terrible at assistance when you needed help (they were on the phone and smoking in the building and flirtting on the job) , the tv and other furniture moved...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I was so sorry to hear that you were displeased with your stay. I wanted to let you know that we are currently renovating our guest rooms but that the project is still underway. It sounds like you were not in one of our newly remodeled guest rooms and I would love the opportunity to show you one...

Dallas
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked a smoking room only to find out the entire property is non-smoking. They wouldn't admit their mistake (saying I booked a smoking preference room) & still charged my credit card for the room. When I asked for them to take the $174.00 hold off of my card so we could go somewhere else, (which I was extremely calm under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasonAP73
Kristina H, Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Dear Jason AP73, I'm so sorry for the mix up with your reservation in regard to our property offering any smoking guest rooms. We were happy to work with the third party that you booked your stay with us through and pleased that they did indeed assist you in connecting you with a smoking property.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 23 July 2013

the hotel does need updating but there is work going on and the new rooms are very nice! the staff was pleasant and the price was good. the mattress and pillows were super comfortable! the location is a little difficult to get to, but once you do, you have easy access to the freeways and lots of restaurants not too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erenne
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Dear erenne, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you found our mattresses and pillows super comfortable. They are brand new and really do make for a very restful night. Many thanks for your kind comments about our staff. We are fortunate in that we do have a great group...

Irving
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Plano
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cwy D
Shirley R, General Manager at University Inn Austin North, responded to this review

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Comfort Inn Austin
Comfort Inn Austin
#142 of 197 in Austin
125 reviews
Clarion Inn Austin North
#143 of 197 in Austin
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Austin Crossroads
#156 of 197 in Austin
491 reviews
St. Johns
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about University Inn Austin North

Address: 7800 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78753-6522 (Formerly Howard Johnson Austin North)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $71 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your University Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Austin North Hotel Austin
University Inn Austin North Texas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn Austin North staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn Austin North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a newer room.”
 of 5 bubbles gigemt, 25 Nov 2014 | Read review
“"Rooms on the pool area instead of on the highway side are better"”
 of 5 bubbles 526rubenm, 16 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Check the room before settling in, you may need to change rooms if the latch/lock isn't great”
  • Ottoman
  • Remodeling issues
  • Double sinks
  • two bed standard room
  • Across from beds
  • two bed standard room 2
 of 5 bubbles 396zacharys, 8 May 2014 | Read review
“The room that is in a different hotel is the best room to get.”
 of 5 bubbles JamesT773, 9 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Please sure to ask for a renovated room which are on the left side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles erenne, 22 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5