We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

TravelocityUSD 75*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 75*
USD 75*
USD 75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 376: English reviews
Missouri
Reviewed 6 December 2014

I picked this hotel based on internet reviews, and was very happy that I did. We were completely pleased with our stay. Our room was very clean and smelled quite nice which is rarely the case in hotels that allow pets. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and everything worked properly. Also, the hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stace D
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review! I appreciate you taking time out of your day to help us improve. I hope to see you in the future! General Manager

Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewed 3 December 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in September 2014 and had no complaints. Don't let the bad ratings of some naggers fool you. The place is ok. Clean and not too pricey. Not the dingy, dark, dirty and sketchy location one of the reviewers mentioned (maybe he stayed somewhere else?). Friendly welcome by the employees at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Outlaw2013
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. I honestly appreciate it, and I hope you'll come by soon and send your friends! General Manager

Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Okay- the rate was high for what I got- a truck stop. Trucks idleing behind the hotel all night- which is where they put me. I just needed a fridge, microwave and non-smoking room. When I inquired about the noise- they said that the trucks would be coming and going all night. When I searched satellite view on Google maps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review! I appreciate you taking the time to post us your feedback, and I look forward to you visiting us soon! General Manager

Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

Reviews seems OK on TA but the place is sketchy , old with the carpet not very clean. The free internet does not connect and on reading the reviews seems to be the standard grip from the reviewers. You get worse than a budget hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakejamal
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Nice room, clean and comfortable, kind staff. I'm doing route 66, and this hotel was one of the best I' ve stayed. The front desk called me to know if everything was ok, the kind of thing that make a difference.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Menusier
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn, and I'm happy that you were satisfied with your stay. I hope you'll stop by again on your Route 66 trip! General Manager

Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

Not too bad for the price. Pillows/bed were very comfortable. The ac works great. The carpet was very gross and we did not feel comfortable putting our belongings on the floor. Other than that this is a pretty good place to stay and would consider staying here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily Y
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay. I am glad you liked our rooms, and what they had to offer. As for the carpet, we have shampoo-ed them to resolve the problem. I hope you'll consider us again when passing through. Thank you, General Manager

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We had a king room. The carpet and wingback chair were a little worn, along with the bedspread. But a wingback chair in a Red Roof? Wow! Bed fairly comfortable, bring an extra pillow. Microwave, almost brand new! Refrigerator nice. Not the hotel's fault; but, drunks up above kept waking us up. Turned on the t.v. at 3:30am, to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1roswell
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will come back to Red Roof Inn next time you're travelling, and I thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. General Manager

Reviewed 11 October 2014 via mobile

My family and I recently stayed at the motel on our big move to San Antonio. We chose the motel because it was the cheapest with the best rating, that allowed dogs. The room was decent enough. It may have needed some maintenance, as in the bathroom fan cover was missing and the walls needed a fresh coat of paint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi G
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay. I'm glad that you were satisfied with the experience, and i'm happy that we could accommodate you. Hope you'll stop by in the near future! General Manager

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 October 2014

The common areas and the upstairs sidewalk were in disrepair and poorly maintained. The breakfast should not have been advertised as a hot breakfast. Waffle iron, gravy and biscuits. The selection was the worst I've had in a long time. New king superior room was not very superior. Carpet wrinkled and old, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy T
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I am deeply sorry that you didn't find our rooms satisfying. We are remodeling, and actually just did the stairs this week. I hope you'll stop by and give us a second chance. Thank you, General Manager

Sturgeon, Missouri
Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

Not sure why all the bad reviews lately. We stay here when we come through Amarillo and always have a good stay. Staff is always pleasant. We always get a nice breakfast(waffles, biscuit and gravy, muffins, doughnuts , cereals and toast,plenty to choose from) Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tama940
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stays, and I'm glad that you enjoy your experience with us, and you enjoyed what we had to offer in the breakfast room. I hope to see you in the future, General Manager

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.4 km away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#30 of 73 in Amarillo
53 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#33 of 73 in Amarillo
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#43 of 73 in Amarillo
220 reviews
0.9 km away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#22 of 73 in Amarillo
147 reviews
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Price Range: $67 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Amarillo East staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Amarillo, Texas
over a year ago
Napoleon, Ohio
over a year ago
Amarillo, Texas
over a year ago
Warsaw, Missouri, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Amarillo East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor rooms are quieter.”
N4987BProbertoc, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I prefer business kings for the few extra dollars”
C4423ONkeithm, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on South side are quieter ,main floor with parking just outside.”
Deanes1954, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly”
29kylek, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room on south end had very little noise from interstate.”
seeinoz, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 75* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 75
Orbitz.comUSD 75
TripAdvisorUSD 75
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates