We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Aiken

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Aiken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Aiken
 Click to rate
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It's not The Ritz but I always find great value at Hotel Aiken. I'm there for horse business each February. I go back to Hotel Aiken because of location and price. I stayed in the annex again. Big king room with comfortable bed and walk-out to many nearby bars and restaurants. If noisy weekend nights bother your sleep pattern, look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulie59
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear from repeat guests. Sorry to hear about the TVs we just put in 32 flat screens, not sure what is terrible about them but we will make sure to check them out. Thanks again for the review it can only help us improve.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked Hotel Aiken through a 3rd party hotel site for its proximity to The Masters. Hotel Aiken, through the 3rd party, offered the room to me during Masters week with No Prepayment & Free Cancellation. Great- so I booked! Well shortly after booking, I noticed Hotel Aiken charged my credit card and after reading more negative reviews of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately when guests book through 3rd parties, it is just that. A 3rd party. We manage our own website and over 450 sites access our information and book. There are some 3rd parties that will do anything to book even not tell you about charges or cancels. Our masters golf tournament has always been 60...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I wanted to spend a weekend in Aiken somewhere that allowed us to walk to anywhere we wanted to go. The hotel is very old. We enjoyed our rides on the elevator as it has to be manually operated by the staff. Hollywood could film a great period movie here! The furniture in the lobby looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty Y
Management response:

Thank You so much for the wonderful review. We do our best with what we have to work with. I'm so glad my staff was able to show you hospitality while you were here. Thank you so much for bringing the blinds to our attention, some things just get by us. We are replacing those blinds today guaranteed. Thank you...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you can find anywhere else to stay in Aiken, do it! This place is a dump. Had to track someone down at front desk just to check in. Then they couldn't find our reservation. We spent one horrible night in the annex because we had a pet. And they charged us a $45 pet fee!! Rooms have not been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spartan5455
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. We can only improve with your comments. The exterior corridor actually has new furniture and yes we have to charge a pet fee to clean the room from pet hair for a guest that might be allergic to pet hair. We have to send the curtains out and everything to get the room...

Cornelius, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 November 2016

First, let me tell you that I am a fan of the town of Aiken, especially the old center of town! Second, let me tell you that I travel on business, a lot, and typically stay in the Hampton, HI Express, Courtyard, Country Inn & Suites, Hilton Garden Inn type hotels wherever I go (and Aiken has them all) ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bamafoody
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Farmington, United States
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Supposedly a 3-star hotel, this place has the ambiance of flop-house. The room we had in the main building was in disrepair - peeling wallpaper and evidence of mold. The lobby and public areas were dirty. The elevator ('the oldest in S. Carolina') required a member of staff to run it. Worst of all, on weekend nights the hotel bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alvin D
Management response:

So sorry we were unable to make your stay and enjoyable one. Thank You for your comments it can only help us improve.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights as evacuees during Matthew. Keep in mind this an old hotel with lots of potential character. For example the elevator. Oldest operating elevator in SC. Everyone is super nice especially during this busy time. Rooms are small, think New York, but nice. Really could use some TLC. Spoke to owners a few times. Very nice and understanding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
Management response:

Thank you for your wonderful response. Matthew did put quite the challenge on our staff that is not use to such a full house for so long. I'm so glad my staff was able to fill your needs. Please come back and visit anytime.

Beaufort, United States
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Ok....I made a joke on FB after checking in that we were checking into the Haunted Mansion. It is a very historic hotel, the floors creak, each room has a sealed up dumb waiter, the elevator as we were told IS an "experience". However in the one day we were there we absolutely loved it. There is such a happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecillia B
Management response:

Thank you so much for your response. We do love our old creaky hotel, but we love our guests more. Thank you for the compliments of the staff I will make sure and pass it on. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed Hotel Aiken. It is very old, so you really have to take that into consideration. The rooms were clean and the staff were very nice. That is really all that matters to us. Updates are being made. We will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Yes our hotel is 118 years old and full of history. We glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Reviewed 3 September 2016

I took the advice of fellow reviewers and asked for a room away from the music. We got a room across the parking lot in their "motel" annex. It was very run down. We stayed for 2 nights (Aug 26 & 27). When we woke in the morning....7:30/8:00 there was maybe a serving spoonful of scrambled eggs left, five small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl3045
Management response:

Thank you so much for the review. We are always looking for ways to improve and feedback like yours does just that. So thank you and we will do our best in the future. Please if you come back and are faced with a limited breakfast, let the staff know and we will cook you anything you need. Thanks again.

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
8.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 20 in Aiken
131 reviews
4.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
109 reviews
4.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#17 of 20 in Aiken
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Price Range: $76 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aiken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Annex rooms face a noisy bar.”
 of 5 bubbles Paulie59, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 201 is away from the bar noise and has a great view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles MartyY221, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for what you want - they will do everything they can to accommodate!”
 of 5 bubbles bamafoody, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there.”
  • Peeling wallpaper near the ceiling
  • Peeling wallpaper and mold
 of 5 bubbles 483alvind, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no way ..were told they are all different”
 of 5 bubbles V8707PIanneh, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5