We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oceanana Family Motel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Oceanana Family Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oceanana Family Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 May 2015

The room looked really old the furniture was from the 70's-80's. The bathroom was small and really needed up dating the water would not go down the drain in the sink and the door would not shut unless you pushed really hard. The sliding door to the room was really really hard to open and close and did not close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris b
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

We're sorry you had an unsatisfactory stay. It is true that despite recent renovations, there are still parts of the property that have not been updated yet. The motel was built in 1959; many of our guests who return every year tell us the good ol' retro feel is part of the charm of staying here. Nevertheless, we should have...

Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

It was the first visit to the beach for my now 5 & 12 yr olds and I was pregnant with twins. Room was OK furniture needed replaced and we were in a remolded room old paint was just painted over bathroom didn't look like it was done. We got a fair price for what we got. Wanted to go...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carolyn R
Chapel Hill, NC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Doesn't even supply cheap shampoo or hair dryers. Fan in room covered in layers of dust as if never ever cleaned. Hardly any electrical outlets. Loud. Didn't expect much but didn't expect it to be such a dive either

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bstravels
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It seems you stayed in one of our standard rooms that has not yet been renovated. If you decide to give us another chance, please ask to see one of our newly renovated rooms. We do provide shampoo and hair dryers to our guests upon request. Our office staff is...

Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Just returned from Atlantic Beach where we spent one night at the Oceanana. We were supposed to spent two but we felt one day of fishing was enough for our family. We were looking for a bit more luxury than the Oceanana had to offer too so we checked out a day early. They were very gracious about refunding our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MarySusanP
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Way too expensive even for a Holiday for what you get in return. We had room # 235 which had not been remodeled yet... it appeared as though less than half of the rooms have been remodeled? They had different doors. Room 235 had the old wood paneling on the walls and something boxed in on the ceiling. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana C
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

We're sorry about the problems you had with the room. Thank you very much for bringing all this to our attention, we have addressed each issue accordingly. It is not usual for our staff to be unfriendly, and even though I am happy no one was rude to you, any treatment that is less than friendly is not acceptable. I...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend while we were going diving. The hotel looks pretty dumpy from the outside but the rooms were nice and clean. The hotel was conveniently located to nice restaurants and the beach. I would suggest trying amos mosquitos or island grille while you stay here. We are not a fishing family but it seems...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Susie G
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Oceana for a surf contest. Customer service was great. The hotel is working on updates. Our room was clean. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel don't stay here. The breakfast provided by the hotel was continental but very good. We stayed here because of the convenience and location of the hotel where...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jackabean1
Raleigh, NC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent the 4th of July at the Oceanana with our "Oceanana Family"! As always we had a wonderful time. We are a group( about 50 of us) of family and friends who share our vacation time every year at the Oceanana. The motel was built in the 1950s but the family has put forth effort to update the buildings. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank PatSprinkle
greensboro, nc
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a 2nd floor standard room facing the main parking lot and enjoyed the recent upgrades of new furniture, new AC unit, new flat panel tv, larger refrigerator and most importantly, new doors with a key card and steel handle. The old sliding doors were charming in their own way but they didn't always close completely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank loriruth
Newport, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am 37 yrs old and finally went on a vacation with my husband, mom, and dad. They have stayed there before. This is a wonderful place to go and fish off their pier as long as you want to and not worry about your room. We stayed in May. My husband, 2 daughters, and I are going back in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BrandinSteve710

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
4.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
1.3 km away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
255 reviews
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
179 reviews
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
573 reviews
10.8 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oceanana Motel is a unique family destination on North Carolina's Southern Outer Banks. Featuring one of the widest private beaches on the coast, a 1,000 foot long fishing pier and a large children's playground, there is plenty to do for everyone in the family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceanana Family Motel

Address: 700 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5424
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Price Range: $77 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Oceanana Hotel Atlantic Beach
Oceanana Resort Atlantic Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oceanana Family Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Oceanana Family Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premier suite”
Janestevens, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Back side of motel is quieter.”
laughterwithbob, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Some have ocean view. It is a two story building with stairs only.”
tlstanley99, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“First floor for easy access to the parking lot, the family area and the beach”
Albrin1914, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room that offers a queen size bed or bigger.”
keithw180, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5