We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Istana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Istana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Istana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,053: English reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2014

The ISTANA Hotel was unbelievable. The staff were very professional and friendly. The room was clean and well serviced. Staying on the 20th floor enables Club Lounge with free afternoon tea and later in the afternoon pre dinner drinks and canapes. Food was great and was a wonderful experience. Will definitely return. Thankyou for your hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren M
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Darren, We are very happy to see your wonderful feedback and 5 stars on Trip Advisor. The team really appreciates it. Indeed, our Club Lounge is one of the most favourite place of our guest and for this reason many loyal guest always stays on Club floors. We thank you again and we are now looking forward to...

hurley
Reviewed 7 September 2014

My wife and I went to Kuala Lumpur after staying at The Andaman Hotel in Langkawi (See review) We wanted a few days together after attending a wedding and we could not have picked a better Hotel. I had read a lot of reviews and I asked for a refurbished room as some of them were still old style according...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank miwend
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Miwend, Thank you so much for taking the time and posting your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and giving us 5 stars. The team and I really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed our vast variety of breakfast menu in Taman Sari, and our Associates' services as this is exactly what the warm Malaysian hospitality is all about....

Mauritius
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Good location and is short mins walk away from monorail station Raja Chulan and major shopping centres. Staff very friendly and helpful. Asked for a room with good view on Twin tower but the view was not the best. We stayed on the 13th floor and there was music exams on that floor during our stay. Carpets very dirty, furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothee559
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Dorothee559, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Hotel Istana KLCC. I am very to happy to see that you have appreciated our Associates. I have taken note of your other comments and each concerned department head is working on making sure that those issues are taken care of. Once again please accept...

Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Reviewed 7 September 2014

While reading the reviews I just say to myself that maybe we didn't get the right room on the right floor!!!! Our room was on the 10th floor. My sister and I spent 4 days at the Istana hotel recently and to be honest, we were really dissapointed with some 'items' in our room namely the carpet, the toilet leaking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie Andree A
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Marie Andree, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so sorry to hear about your poor experience in the room. The good news is that within this month we are changing our in-room carpets with new ones and this initiative will add to the comfort of our guest. I assure that your comments are taken...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2014

My wife and I flew from JFK to KUL, pretty exhausted from the long flights. The staff at the reception were average. We informed them that we had a long flight and were exhausted.They told us that their check in time was two pm, but would try to get us a room as soon as possible. We waited and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mua g
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Mua g, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We have taken note of your highlighted comments with regards to your interaction with Reception Associates, and room 628 condition, and I assure you that our concerned department heads are working on rectifying the issues. Once...

Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Want to recommend the nights shift frontdesk staff of the hotel of Saturday night September 6th 2014 for their efficiency. We lost one piece of handbagage when arriving in the room. Communicated with the front desk, they checked CCTV and concluded the bag was not with us when we left the taxi. The hotel staff then contacted for me the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SNRMBX
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear SNRMBX, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about Hotel Istana and its team members. We are so glad that everything worked out fine with your missing bags. I believe it was a management colleague of mine who had met you in the lobby and I missed the opportunity of personally thanking you as I was attending a...

Reviewed 5 September 2014

The Club Room was clean, comfortable and well serviced, although getting a little dated and carpets in hallways need replacing. Staff in the Club Lounge on the 20th Floor were excellent, they could not do enough to assist the guests. A Big Thank you to Audrey and her team - Azizan, Zul, Norzila and I think Sachin. You guys were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilmer T
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Wilmer, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor. The team really appreciates it. I am glad that Audrey, Azizan, Zul, Norzila and Sachin were able to contribute positively to your memorable experience at the Club Lounge. I have taken note of your concerns with regards to Songket Lounge seating area and we will look into...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed two nights pending our flight to Sabah. This was our second stay in KL and frankly, our first stay some months ago was a less than idea property. We like good quality, but for this, you do not have to pay top dollar. Our choice of the Hotel Istana was perfect. We booked a club room with executive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Martin C, We are very happy to see your positive experience posted on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for sharing it with other travellers. The team at Istana strives for excellence despite the fact that challenges are always there no matter what business you are in. Most guest loves our breakfast and appreciate our kind and courteous Associates....

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 4 September 2014

the room was large and the bathroom was well maintained.. the staff were very friendly and they allowed us to check-in 4 hours earlier which i havent experienced in any other hotel as yet! the hotel is situated in the middle of Butik Bintang and is a short 5 min walk away to most of the shopping centers such as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JessicaIrani
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Irani, Thank you so much for summarizing such important information for your fellow travellers and our future guest. We really appreciate you took time to post your positive experience at Trip Advisor and gave us 5 stars. The team here miss you already and are looking forward to your return soon. Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable stay. We really enjoyed staying there. Staff was good. The location is very good. Walking distance from buckit bintang , kl tower petronas tower, I wish if I visit next time to kualalumpur I could stay in this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ishaque y
HotelIstana, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Ishaque Y, Thank you for your short and positive feedback and giving us 5 stars on Trip Advisor. The team and I really appreciate it. We are now looking forward to your return soon. Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

1,616 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (249)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (223)
Viewed
Bathroom (134)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (439)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Adult Pool (5)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Children's Pool (5)
Viewed
Club Suite (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Twin (24)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
952 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
574 reviews
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3,114 reviews
1.5 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
1.0 km away
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
#33 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Food & drink at the hotel
Taman Sari Brasserie
Taman Sari Brasserie
Cuisines: Asian, French, Malaysian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $83 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Istana staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Istana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 22nd floor and had access to the 20th floor facilities which was fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles lucyjessie04, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Always ask for a quiet room as some are noisier than others.”
 of 5 bubbles AussieTraveller795, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beware the connecting door!”
 of 5 bubbles jameshj, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles davidpauline27, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the PETRONAS Twin Towers ... wonderful to wake up to that beautiful view!”
 of 5 bubbles mlfarmer, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5