We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

Save
Share
1 Taimatsu-Cho, Shiokojisagaru, Higashihorikawadori, Shimogyo-Ku, Kyoto 600-8237 Kyoto Prefecture
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 90
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
USD 110
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/01/22
Trip.com
USD 64
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/01/22
Hotels.comUSD 90
PricelineUSD 110
eDreamsUSD 110
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1059)
360
Panoramas (32)
Room & Suite (801)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#101 of 596 hotels in Kyoto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Renovated in September 2016, our hotel provides all the necessary comforts while maintaining the traditions of a brand that has proudly hosted royalty. With all new facilities, including complimentary Wi-Fi, six restaurants, a luxurious bar, a heated indoor pool, and a modern fitness gym, we gladly extend our welcome to families, businessmen, and tourists alike. Located near the hub of transportation, Kyoto Station, we are convenient for those traveling from Kansai International Airport or any major city within Japan as well as just a short walk from World Heritage sites, the Kyoto Aquarium, and the Kyoto Railway Museum. In addition, we provide complimentary shuttle service to the station and 117 free parking spots, making us a perfect base for exploring the ancient capital during your travels.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
314Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
21Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1778Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 511
  • 795
  • 338
  • 88
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Dream07613518104 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Convenient Location . Hotel staff did not seem to be friendly. When I checked in, they asked for upfront payment for my stay of 4 nights which was unexpected. General practice is to pay during check-out. Staff struggled with English. Storage space in room was literally non-existent . Breakfast at Kaza Restaurant was only good point of stay. There is no kids space. My pre schooler son was very bored in hotel on a rainy day. Not a kid friendly hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, think twice as they do not have anything for kids in hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
温泉すし三昧 wrote a review May 2020
東京都3 contributions5 helpful votes
Spent 3 nights with my family but never coming back again ! Overall services were terrible, awful, worst in my life ... the porter didn’t help to carry our luggages to the room checking in, and to put them into my car after checking out either. The bellboy was just looking at us nearby. Our reservation of the stay was actually split by two and erroneously two different room types were reserved. At the check in, we were asked if we want to move rooms over the stay in accordance with my reservation or do downgrade to stay at the same room - first time to be offered room downgrade. I asked the reception “rooms are fully booked, that’s why you are requesting so, right ?” she said “no, but...”. It was mid-March 2020, imagine. Took almost 30 min for check in. We didn’t feel any hospitality by the staff over the stay at all and therefore, were totally disappointed at the staffs attitudes. I had a chance to speak with the hotel manager over the phone at home after check out and complained with all the above incidents but he said “show me the proof”. He never apologized till the end - the manager’s reaction represents the hotel’s philosophy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 福井 良, 支配人 at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 28 Aug 2020
Dear Nomad804817 san, We sincerely thank you for staying with us,and thank you for your taking time to share your feedback.While I wish you had a better experience,it is feedback like this that we learn form and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We deeply apologize that our services were not done to your satisfaction.We will take the point that you have brought to our attention into careful consideration and will be sure to inform the responsible departments. We will continue to work hard to provide each and every one of our valued guests with the most pleasant stay as possible. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust , I can assure that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many our guest have enjoyed. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
jayv1982 wrote a review May 2020
Metro Manila, Philippines28 contributions41 helpful votes
For the price hotel is a luxury one , we stayed here as transit to osaka for one night with my family . The shuttle service is great to the main station and the food is awesome . Didn’t get enough time to explore the hotel but it seems like has plenty of it to offer . Service was superb with someone escorting to our room and explaining everything .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer810241, マネージャー at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 4 May 2020
Dear Jayv 1982 san , Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you very much for great review for our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you took advantage of our location and shuttle bus services commuting to and from Kyoto station every 15 minutes. We also have recently renovated pool facilities ,with heated indoor pool and jacuzzi. We try to provide a number of room sizes and styles so that each guests may stay comfortably and feel at home even away from home. We hope that you choose to stay with us again soon. Stay safe Stay healthy! Best regards, Manager
Read more
keen T wrote a review Mar 2020
Shinjuku, Japan3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stay here for 3 nights booked through hotels.com included ABF The reason we book this hotel cause it close to Kyoto station with free shutter bus. The price consider high with all additional charge for the using hotel facilities such as swimming pool and gym. Our room located quite far from the elevator with very long long corridor. Breakfast almost the same dishes everyday. We had been asked for the charging of the bottles of drinking water in room even there were a hotel logo at the bottles. The hotel staffs told us that there is no complimentary drinking water in room. We was really disappointed that the big hotel like this has no provide complimentary drinking water. For the entire trip in Japan, this was the first hotel that we been charged for the bottles of drinking water in room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer810241, マネージャー at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Dear Keent2019 - san, Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. Also, thank you for choosing our hotel from many hotels. However, I apologize for any inconvenience caused by having you pointed out. We will continue to devote our efforts to improving based on your opinions so that we can offer you a better stay. We look forward to the your next visit to Japan, and thank you for receiving valuable opinions. Thank you. With best regards, Manager
Read more
Michael B wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The gym is very small with just a few machines: two treadmills, two stationary bicycles, and a weight machine. I used my green ticket to use the gym for one day. If I want to use the gym again I have to pay. Overall though it is a good hotel. I usually stay here. It is in a convenient location close to the station.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Explorer810241, マネージャー at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Dear michaelbL7528ZF - san, Thank you very much for using our hotel. Thank you for evaluating us a lot. We will continue to make efforts to encourage your satisfaction with customer's . I and all staff are looking forward to meeting you again. With best regards, Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 90 - USD 266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rihga royal kyoto, kyoto rihga royal hotel
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoShimogyo-ku / Kyoto Station
NUMBER OF ROOMS
489
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Which popular attractions are close to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Nearby attractions include Aeon Mall Kyoto (0.4 km), Kyoto Aquarium (0.5 km), and Kyoto Ramen koji (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kurasu, Tajimaya Aeon Mall Kyoto, and Katsukura, Kyoto Station Bldg The Cube.
Are there opportunities to exercise at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto have an airport shuttle?
Yes, RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.