We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 519: English reviews
Start your review of ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location: opposite Kyoto Castle but away from downtown. The hotel is obsolete especially lobby and the room. The corridor was renovated! Hotel offers free transfer to Kyoto station and if you just want to see castle 24 hours, this is good choice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncnn2000
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a most pleasant stay here. Room was comfortable and quiet, and staff were very helpful and friendly. We liked the free shuttle service, the complimentary pool and spa and the excellent breakfast and dinner buffet which was very good value. We were a little bewildered that we had to be waitlisted a couple of times in order to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PauloftheForest
ANAUKY, 支配人 at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Motohiro Sakane Deputy General Manager ANA CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL KYOTO

Somerville
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off, let me say that there was nothing "wrong" with this hotel or this stay, but it was by no means a hotel that I would recommend to anyone. Previous Crowne Plaza stays have offered very modern, comfortable hotels. This was quite the opposite. While it is clear that the hotel has spent money upgrading the lobby, nothing has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeh141
ANAUKY, Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Motohiro...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel offers an English, a continental and as well as a Japanese buffet breakfast. We appreciated especially the fresh orange juice, freshly cut ham and smoked salmon. The quality of the food, the freshness and the seasoning was exceptional for a buffet. We could choose every morning a table with a wonderful view on the waterfall. A great surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gatze B
ANAUKY, マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent stay at ANA CROWNE PLAZA KYOTO and also for your review. We are sincerely pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay here in Kyoto. We will keep up with utmost effort for our future customer’s satisfaction. We are looking forward for a chance to welcome you again in our hotel when you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Basic standard hotel - rough and tattered reception with a room that over looked a local neighbourhood. Fake outdoor fountain available if this might float your boat. Just very little to write home about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eoghan D
ANAUKY, 支配人 at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Motohiro...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I statyed at Ana Crown Plaza kyoto for 2 nights. I was really enjoy tea and cakes at cafe of first floor in the hotel after check in. The hotel has shuttle bus as well, you can go to Kyoto station also pick up from kyoto station.I recommaned to have breakfast in the hotel that was one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank famare
ANAUKY, Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Motohiro SAKANE Deputy General Manager ANA CROWNE PLAZA KYOTO

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Very friendly staff, and great service. Room size is good but cleanliness need to improve. Free parking is included for all hotel guest. Most of the room is twin bed and only a few king room available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
ANAUKY, マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent stay at ANA CROWNE PLAZA KYOTO and also for your review. We appreciate for your kindest comments to our staff, which is very encouraging. We will keep up with our utmost effort for our future customer’s satisfaction. We are looking forward for a chance to welcome you again in our hotel when you...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Three of us stayed two nights. We were somewhat confused by having three beds in the room since we only needed two but assume we did not communicate clearly what we were looking for. The third bed made the room more crowded. The room was comfortable, including a spacious bathroom. We were most pleased with the service provided at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kellyclan50
ANAUKY, マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent stay at ANA CROWNE PLAZA KYOTO and also for your review. We thought you have made the request for the extra bed, but we are terribly sorry for the lack of confirmation upon check-in. We appreciate for your kindest comments to our staff, which is very encouraging. We will keep up with utmost...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Ana Crowne Plaza in February 2017. Our room was not modern, but was clean. We liked the free packages for better sleep like tee and the option to order some extra pillows. We tried the ones with camelhair, which were great. The pool was nice, although the gym part was a little bit run down (one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JetsetterCHECAN
ANAUKY, マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for using ANA CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL KYOTO this time . We're glad in the sign you could meet,too. I'm waiting for the visit to the hall which is again more than a heart. sincerely, Motohiro Sakane Deputy general Manager ANA CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL KYOTO

Reviewed 28 January 2017

From the moment we arrived the service was just plain awful. We arrived at around 10:30AM after a red-eye flight and a train from Osaka. I'm an IHG Gold member which doesn't get you much but you would expect a bit of recognition. Null. Nada. I arrived requesting early check-in and was informed, by the duty manager, that no rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Royi S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Royi S, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold Elite member and for your time in alerting us about your concern. I'm sorry that we did not deliver the exemplary hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown fond of. I understand that you were upset about the way your issue about early check in...

799 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (572)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (244)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (Castle View) (80)
Viewed
Pool & Sauna (1)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#38 of 363 in Kyoto
1,019 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 363 in Kyoto
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City Center

Neighbourhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Price Range: $168 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Rakuten, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlook the castle? Ours overlooked a back driveway and construction site.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeh141, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“garden side rooms are quieter and have a lovely garden outlook”
 of 5 bubbles campmotherDunedin, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and request for a room with a view of Nijo Castle.”
  • Comfortable and nicely furnished room
 of 5 bubbles aktan6336, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“high floor give good views over adjoining rooftops”
 of 5 bubbles briangBaildon, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try a rom with castle view”
 of 5 bubbles ClaudiusSg, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5