We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sakara

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sakara
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Brisbane Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We stayed in the Bamboo room, 2 adults + 1 Toddler. The room was perfect for us. Plenty of space (2 queen beds, kitchen, dining table, big bath and even a washing machine / dryer!) So clean and the staff are very welcoming. Perfect location in a little shopping mall with the subway station only meters away. Easy walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rails81
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you and it was a pleasure hosting you. Good luck with your continued travels. mgmt.

Queensland
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed in the Bamboo room, 2 adults + 1 Toddler. The room was perfect for us. Plenty of space (2 queen beds, kitchen, dining table, big bath and even a washing machine / dryer!) So clean and the staff are very welcoming. Perfect location in a little shopping mall with the subway station only meters away. Easy walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire1999
London
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We stayed in the Bamboo suite for 4 very enjoyable nights. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom with the big tub rather fun, the compact kitchen was well equipped and it was good to have a proper table for breakfast for meals. Sakara's location is excellent - within walking distance of Gion, various shrines and the shopping area. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pfamily78
Batangas City, Philippines
Reviewed 22 May 2015

My family and I stayed at the Bamboo Suite in Sakara for four nights. We had no high expectations as we knew that Sakara was not a full service type hotel. With this in mind we were not disappointed. The Bamboo Suite where we stayed at was at the ground floor. There were 2 queen beds, a dining table, small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RRGT
Switzerland
Reviewed 14 April 2015

The Sakara in Kyoto certainly is a solid backpacker-spot. Thus all those positive reviews in the past. As Travelers with some expectations on cleanliness and comfort, the Sakara Inn was a disappointment. The whole room and especially the sheets had this rotten smell wich wouldn’t get out of our clothes during the whole trip in japan. We did not feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twirlch
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

We always appreciate when guests write a review with comments about their stay, or constructive criticisms, but in this case we were rather hurt and surprised by this review. In messages that you wrote during your stay you expressed thanks but did not voice any concerns. We did not know that you were “not comfortable at all.” We did not...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We stayed in two rooms here - first the Sakura room and then the Ninja room. Both rooms were great but I would only recommend the Ninja room for those who don't mind climbing ladders - probably not the best room if you worry about falling or are planning to do a lot of drinking (though there is a daybed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mudskippa
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Sakara and post a review. A clarification about the stairs -- I believe you meant to say that the Sakura room would be preferable to those who do not want to use a staircase. The Ninja room has the main sleeping area above the living space, with an open...

Novosibirsk, Russia
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Great apartements in a small market street of Kyoto. Modern and Japanese style accomodation, very clean and just a few steps away from the underground station. Very friendly staff. We would highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank U W
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. We always do our best to help travellers get the most out of their stay in Kyoto, and it was a pleasure to host you. -mgmt.

Vail, Colorado
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Sakara was a great find. Cute little place in the bustle of Kyoto, the owners were so nice and accommodating. We had the Bamboo room which was clean, cute, and we loved the bath. So nice after a cold day of sightseeing in Kyoto. Be aware that its only warm in the bedroom in the winter, which is typical in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennypn
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015

We stayed at the ninja room last December. The location is perfect. Finding our way there was easy and getting to places from there was also easy. We stayed in the ninja room which has a double bed and a single bed. A very handy mod con kitchen complete with utensils. We were there during one of the coldest time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bibi S
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sakara. We enjoy helping guests to have the best experience possible in Kyoto, and do everything we can to help. The title of your review "creepy mask in Ninja room", could have been different if you mentioned it to us -- that decoration is something that could easily be removed if it...

Modesto, California
Reviewed 20 January 2015

This property was clean and an ideal location close to transportation systems and conviniece shopping. The room had all the amenities we needed for our stay. We did have an issue with the heater which the management handled quickly. We would stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deanna v
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sakara. We enjoy helping guests to have the best experience possible in Kyoto, and do everything we can to help. The title of your review "creepy mask in Ninja room", could have been different if you mentioned it to us -- that decoration is something that could easily be removed if it...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Staying in City Center

Neighbourhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sakara

Address: 541-2 Furukawacho Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0026, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sakara staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Sakara staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hinoki suite great for families with older children.”
438nikkic, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bamboo Suite is nice for a family with a baby or elderly. Ninja room is nice for young adults.”
homeschoolmom27, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bamboo Room is ground floor. other rooms do have loft beds as well.”
lindley2016, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Great for families and for walking to the Kyoto action sites.”
janelH2042WA, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bamboo room good for families with younger children.”
kta09, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5