We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Kyotokko

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Kyotokko
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of Hostel Kyotokko
 Click to rate
Turku, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the dorm room for two nights with my boyfriend and were very pleased with our stay. The staff was friendly and free breakfast was a nice plus. The location wasn't the best possible, since it was a bit far away from the nearest metro station (Nijo station) and the main attractions (gion etc.), but it was okay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riikkas918
Huanchaco, Peru
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

False advertising. breakfast toast and jam. grim atmosphere. unfriendly. Asked for the room we paid for, and then received a moldy, smaller room. Would not help us get a taxi to leave, unless we begged. Lied to us about policy or room rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GandRinsouthamerica
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on a wet night after staying at another hostel in Kyoto (Imaya) which was far nicer than this. The room was big and cluttered with a lot of bunks - felt like a hospital! Clean but we didn't feel comfortable. However it was nice to have free toast and juice/tea/coffee for breakfast and nice there was a lift! Worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly T
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The hostel was clean and staff were nice, the rooms have about 20 people in them so it's the luck of who you get in there really, unfortunately we had some really loud and messy people. But the bed was comfortable, the curtain was a nice touch for privacy, the breakfast was just toast with jam or marmalade. The showers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aidenb29
Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Cheap accommodation. Right place if you are only looking for a place to sleep in. No towels provided for dorm rooms. They offer free breakfast and bike rentals. Located near Nijo Castle and 20-30 minutes walk to Kyoto Imperial Palace. A bit far from the nearest train station (Nijo station) which is a 15 minutes walk. We checked out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angeline_1123
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

This is the only hostel in Japan that felt not clean and where some of the staff was rude and stern, perhaps comparable to a hostel in a touristy place across the world but maybe Japan sets your expectations too high. The shower rooms are just opposite the lunch tables. While there are toilets on every floor, the sink is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Obsessive T
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

We had to stay here because it was the only 3 beds available. Too expensive for what it is: a dingy, soulless place where everything has to be paid for with cheapskate owners. Lift was full of used linen and towels on arrival. It was the only hostel in Japan that asks for a deposit. WiFi in room kept dropping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
Reviewed 2 October 2015

It seems like this hostel is taking a bad rap on TripAdvisor. My impression from a recent trip is that one must do their research to determine if a hotel/hostel will work for your needs. This hostel worked perfectly for our needs! Let me first make clear that we stayed in private room with single bunks and an attached bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EuroSully
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place will do only if you find yourself with no place to sleep in the last minute and you have no other options. It was dirty, old, creepy and overall really depressing. It didn't make me feel safe either. Internet didn't work for almost all the time. The only nice thing is that there are few nice restaurants/bar around....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AiRuoYan
hostel_kyotokko783, マネージャー at Hostel Kyotokko, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying and the review. We remember that your reservation was made by your friend but not by yourself. You are not the only one who are dissatisfied about the hostel. Although, we are sorry but we don't think this hostel is not for you. We are for the travelers who are independent-minded people. Nevertheless, we are...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I believe that it runs under name Kyotokko nowadays. Watch out for the opening hours if you take night bus from Tokyo. The reception area needs some renovation, as well as the whole building, the toilets and showers (at the reception area on the gorund floor) are extremely small and quite dirty as well. Once you get by the narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank czhunty

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Northern Kyoto
Small World Guest House
Small World Guest House
#179 of 279 in Kyoto
16 reviews
Kyoto Station
Tomato Guest House
Tomato Guest House
#154 of 279 in Kyoto
76 reviews
Kyoto Guesthouse Kyo no En
#210 of 279 in Kyoto
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Lund House
Lund House
#80 of 279 in Kyoto
15 reviews
City Center
Guest House Rakuen
Guest House Rakuen
#162 of 279 in Kyoto
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*Roof Garden, Internet, TV - You can have an easy time by yourself *5 mins from Nijo Castle & 10 mins from Kyoto Imperial Palace on foot *Good access to most seeing spots by bike & bus *Dormitory - Every bed has curtains, outlet and a reading light *Private room - Private bathroom (shower & toilet) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Kyotokko

Address: 783 Sabamatsu-cho, Marutamachi Omiya-dori, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto 602-8145, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Price Range: $29 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Kyotokko 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Kyotokko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Kyotokko staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Kyotokko staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else for the money”
GandRinsouthamerica, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a private room instead of dorm so towels, sheets, etc. are included in the rate”
EuroSully, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
2 of 2