We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Le Recif

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Le Recif
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Recif
See the most recent reviews
Showing 52: English reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2016

My partner and I stayed in the hotel and had a really lovely time, the staff was nice and the atmosphere with the guests and live music etc made the whole stay a real little event for us. We really enjoyed the Monday night with the live band and the free cocktails and food. The swimming pool is really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvie L
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent experience with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment that the staff were extremely nice is equally most appreciated. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on business, was recommended by a local colleague but only for the hotel's location to his nearby office rather than him recommending the actual hotel itself. On arrival I was given a nice fruit juice and despite me being too early for check in (this was due to my flight times-I had no control over) I was allocated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dp1033
Laurent G, Directeur de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor about your recent stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and take good note of all your comments. We apologise for this and please rest assured that we will investigate these issues thoroughly, as we do with all feedback. Your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

This is a special place, the staff are some of the highest quality in the world, everyone's happy to help you in anyway they can, you are right next to the beach and my room was very comfotable. Food was similarly excellent which I say rarely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic G
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear Nic', Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor about Le Récif ***. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our food excellent! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We were invited to stay at the Le Recif in Reunion from 5-7 Feb and having just spent 1 night at a 5* resort, we thought this would be a little bit of a downgrade, considering its a 3* property. However, we were incredibly surprised by the fabulous warm welcome we received, before being blown away by the hotel rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juttadudley
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear Jutta, Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. Our staff will be thrilled to hear that you appreciated their friendly and attentive service. We are grateful that you enjoyed the other services and commodities and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Best regards.

Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at Le Recif. Do not expect a 5 star hotel but you can expect great value for money. The only negative point was the timing of the cleaners that cleaned the room. We would be out for the day and the room got cleaned when we get back. Thank you Le Recif and staff for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc d
Laurent G, Direction de l'hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear Marc D, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Le Récif. We apologize for the trouble caused by the late timing of the cleaners and hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again for another "lovely holiday". Warm regards.

Cape Town
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This has been my second time visiting Reunion. My stay at the Le Recif hotel was average. If I honestly needs to rate this hotel it would be average. The location of the hotel is good. The service at the hotel is ok as I feel they try their best. The rooms is ok although not big. The big turn...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank henmo67
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear "henmo67", Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointments with your dinner. We most certainly should have offered you replacements for those dishes that you felt did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have already been followed up,...

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 6 November 2015

A good place to relax after touring the east coast and central areas of the island, with the option to explore more of the island like a round trip, exploring the south. Recover in the air conditioned hotel room, at the beach, at one of the pools, enjoy the good breakfast, spend a peaceful evening on your balcony or terrace.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear "Robert L", Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us at Le Récif. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be passing on your feedback to our team very shortly.We pride ourselves on the best service we always try to offer so we are delighted that...

Belgium
Reviewed 23 October 2015

We had a sea-side superior room on the first floor. The check in was very fluent. The room was already vacant at 11 AM. The breakfast was buffet style with a lot of choice (eggs, cheese, cereals, fruit,...) When we where there it was very quiet. There are some good restaurants in the area, even on the beach. We started...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phille133
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear Valued "phille133", Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our stay with us and that it was a good start for your trip through the island. We hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon! Best regards.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The hotel was not too bad. Food was a little disappointing however the rooms were neat and tidy. The beach is unfortunately across the road from the hotel through pine trees. Would recommend viewing the sunset though it's spectacular.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AfricanNomad1985
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear Valued "AfricanNomad1985", Thank you for leaving a review about our hotel after your stay with us in Nov. 2014. We are sorry we did not completely meet your expectations concerning the food. We indeed are not directly on the beach : our customers have to cross a narrow sandy road and walk 30m. But the georgous sunsets are worth...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 12 September 2015

I had to move to this hotel after a stay of 7 day in the Lux* (5*****) Maybe because I stayed in a higher class hotel the days before that I was not too happy with Le Recif. Room are rather small as is the bathroom. Pool is good but small (and cold). No service or chairs on the beach....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan M
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you very much for posting your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to discover that your stay at le Récif*** was far below our usual standards. We have taken all your feedbacks and comment onboard to help delivery a brilliant service the other guest that come after you. We do hope that...

766 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (566)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (189)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (200)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (200)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels
2.4 km away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,272 reviews
1.1 km away
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gill...
#10 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
747 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Le Kerveguen
Le Kerveguen
#9 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
95 reviews
4.1 km away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#7 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
487 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Le Recif

Address: 50 Avenue de Bourbon, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: $124 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Recif 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Recif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hotel Du Recif
Hotel Le Recif Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Le Recif staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Le Recif staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had an upstairs pool view”
 of 5 bubbles liquidtravel2016, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the ground floor are desirable. You have to carry the luggage yourself, so avoid stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles R7273GRms, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms 800's are in the garden, and are nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles philippeD350, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“every room on the first floor on sea side (426 was good)”
 of 5 bubbles phille133, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“You have a free password for the door to the beach, free snorkel equipment, Beach is a 3 min walk from hotel :)”
 of 5 bubbles kwa78, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay