We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ryad Lyon-Mogador

Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (11)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
In the old Mogador, on the edge of the Atlantic, the Lyon-Mogador is a "safe haven" in the heart of the Medina in the magical city of Essaouira. This charming 18th century house, organized on 4 levels, wraps around the skylight. 10 authentic rooms and a terrace offering a fantastic panoramic view over the Ocean and the Medina, will contribute to make your stay unforgettable. The breakfast, different every morning but each time delicious and copious, served on the roof top terrace with its breathtaking view, will help you start your day with energy and enthusiasm ! Riad Lyon Mogador offers Single, double "Standard" or "Comfort" rooms, as well as a Family Suite, all equipped with bathroom and toilets. Free Wi-Fi. Safe in all rooms. Recommendations for restaurants and shops, as well as all kinds of activities in the Medina and Essaouira region.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Dry Cleaning
Multilingual Staff
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
345Reviews
219Photos
0Q+A
20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 257
  • 67
  • 10
  • 3
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+2
The Riad has real character. The owners, Jerome and his wife supplied us with maps and marked all the best restaurants to go to also a great vegetarian one that was close to the hotel and turned out to be my favourite! I loved breakfasts on the rooftop terrace although it
Read more
Response from lyonmogador, Propriétaire at Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Responded 23 Nov. 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review ! We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Riad and in Essaouira, and that our recommendations were useful. We'll try our best to keep our guests happy and feeling just like at home ! Karol & Jerome
Read more
We stayed 3 nights at the riad Lyon Mogador and loved it. We found the owners and staff very welcoming and helpful. The riad is beautiful, and although we had chosen the cheaper rooms with internal windows, they were as described, spotlessly clean and cosy. The roof terrace is
Read more
Response from lyonmogador, Propriétaire at Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Responded 15 Nov. 2018
Thank you so much for such a great and extensive review ! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad, and we share your kind comments with our staff. Hope to see you again ! Karol & Jerome
Read more
A few days before our check-in date, I indicated on Booking.com the time at which that I would be checking-in at Riad Lyon-Mogador, which was 8-9pm. The reason for that was because I was making my way to Essaouira from the desert and I surely was not going make it by 7pm.
Read more
As you can see by the owner’s comment on the review below, you can see the kind of attitude you get at this place. His passive aggressive attitude did not make me feel welcome at this Riad. After traveling Morocco for 12 days, this is the worst hospitality I’ve received from an
Read more
After reading amazing reviews we decided to book Ryad Lyon-Mogador, at the time of booking had received the notice that a pre payment which is misleading because it’s a full payment. On the day of our arrival we called to get directions to the closest parking, since we were
Read more
Response from lyonmogador, Propriétaire at Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Responded 11 Aug. 2018
Dear Hector, Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Riad, although it is absolutely not what you told us when you were with us... Let us try to answer your points : - As soon as you booked, we sent you a message of acknowledgement, saying thanks for the booking and please come back to us if you need any information. You never answered. - One day prior to your arrival, we sent you another message, asking you your approximate arrival time, and pointing out our check-in hours (2pm to 7pm). Again, you never answered. - You gave us wrong credit card details and we had to ask the OTA to contact you about it - You did call on the night of your arrival, and we gave you full details for parking and coming to us; we just mentioned incidentally that check-in hours were already past. - Upon arrival, it was more than difficult to find a smiling face on any of you; you might have been exhausted by your trip, but it had nothing to do with us and to be frank, we saw grim faces during the whole of your stay, and our staff shared that impression with us several times... You never interacted with over guests, barely said "hello" when we greeted you every morning, and to tell you the truth, were quite noisy at night even though we had other people sleeping. - The problem with the flushing toilet was solved within minutes of your reporting, it is untrue to say nothing was done, and you never mentioned it again. When you left, it was working perfectly well, so we guess you had no further problem. So thank you for sharing your experience, we always take guests' remarks into consideration. But we also were very disappointed, this is not what we expect from our job as a guest house, we and all our staff felt like being badly considered despite our efforts, and used like any impersonal hotel in the world. Thank god, as you can read, most of our guests have a different point of you. No need to come back, of course. Best regards Karol & Jerome
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Chambre Cornut
Photo provided by managementRyad Lyon-Mogador
Chambre Confort
Entrance to the bathroom
Terrace
PreviousNext
12345613
"I think they are all probably good but if you have a problem with stairs then take a room on a lower level."
"Bigger rooms on the first floor, lighter rooms on the third."
"Fantastic service all round."
"look for a room whose windows are not blocked by adjacent property walls if the AC is not fitted in the room."
"All rooms we saw were excellent."
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
USD 66 - USD 129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ryad lyon mogador essaouira
LOCATION
MoroccoMarrakech-Tensift-El Haouz RegionEssaouira
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing