We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,044 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Pirogue Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 899: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am posting this while still here!! It is our 3rd Wedding anniversary. We aRe suppose to leave at noon. We are rushing home cuz we couldn't shower this morning. No hot water. We haven't had a good conversation so far. Staff are impersonal. We were told yesterday that there's no room service while we saw food being delivered to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riad S
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Riad S, Thanks for leaving a feedback online. I was obviously sorry to read that we have not entirely lived up to your expectations as far as our facilities and services are concerned. There is always room for improvement and will use your feedback to re-establish standards where necessary. We are sorry for the discomfort caused by the shower...

Europe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once you get over the initial disappointment of Mauritius not being the wild mountainous paradise most photos paint it out to be (it's very flat, covered with infinite sugar cane field, with a mountain range only in the south west corner of the island), La Pirogue is probably as exotic of a paradise as you can get. Besides numerous resorts...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank travellerCE
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TravellerCE, We are grateful you chose to stay with us recently and left such a detailed feedback for other travellers on this platform. We are honored to learn that we are regarded as the best resort you have ever been and we are proud that the design of our rooms, the location and the hotel facilities made such a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Sugar Beach Resort (sister hotel right next door to La Pirogue) but as residents were allowed to share resort facilities. Food, boathouse, entertainment... were excellent. It just made our stay so much richer! Staff were always helpful and smiling. What can I say, Mauritius is famous because of resorts such as La Pirogue and Sugar Beach. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 989miltonk
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 989miltonk, Thank you for your positive review posted on TripAdvisor following your stay at the resort, I do appreciate your nice comments on the various facilities of staying in a Sun Resort hotel. Certainly, guest staying at Sugar Beach can enjoy services of La Pirogue. It has been an immense pleasure to have hosted you on your honeymoon trip...

Wemeldinge, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautifully located resort at the west coast of Mauritius. A few hundred small houses spread around the gardens, all semi detached. My wife and i slept in one, the teen children in the one next door. Houses are clean, nice and cosy, fitted with bathroom (tub, shower, toilet and sink). Wifi excellent around the premises and in the houses. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ko M
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ko M, Thanks for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. Being a tropical island we do have occasional rainfalls during winter which can last a few days, however, the temperature on the west coast remains pleasant and we do propose many indoors activities to keep our guests busy. I was sorry that you could not enjoy to the fullest...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although the hotel is one of the older hotels, it's still one of the best!! They have amazing staff, very friendly and helpful all the time. We stayed in a room that hasn't been renovated and the only difference was that the bathroom was quite old. We did love our garden villa as it had a lovely view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sonette61
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sonette61, Thank you for the Trip Advisor Comments and for choosing La Pirogue for your recent holidays. I am pleased to read that the charming and comfortable locations of the resort were to your satisfactions. Friendliness is the hallmark of the island and I am glad that you enjoyed this genuine hospitality. However, as you have mentioned, some of...

Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the time you arrive to the Time you sadly have to go home, La Piroque is a great Hotel for the entire family....The Food,.... Breakfast, Lunch, and Supper, are exquisite and the staff are really there to ensure you are treated as family. The rooms are newly redone and looks awesome!! Rooms are clean and spacious! Beach front is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M8969RMdavidg
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear M8969RMdavidg, Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciations. Your comments on the competency and professionalism of our associates have been shared with the entire team and Vijay, Kamla and Prayag have been also congratulated for their continuous good performances. We value all our guests' feedback as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving our product...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got married at La Pirogue a couple of weeks ago, it is an amazing, amazing place. Having visited several times before, on previous holidays to Mauritius, I fell in love with this stunning resort, and I am so glad that we chose it as our wedding venue. I cannot thank Jaisila, Vanessa and all the team enough for all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola L
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nicola L, Wishing you once again warm and heartfelt wishes for your wedding and for your married life, we are indeed pleased that you chose to celebrate such a wonderful event with us at the resort. I am sure that future guests will find the information you provided on the organization of your wedding and other facilities very helpful....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The La Piroque hotel just got a make over and the luxarious bungalows look amazing and are very clean ! We have our 3 teenage sons with us and couls share a family bubgalow with a separate door The food is spectacular and also glutenfree bred and pankakes available at the great breakfast buffet I can highly recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beate H
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Beate H, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. It is a Mauritian culture to provide a personalized and a caring service to all our guests and your comments will no doubt encourage the team to carry out their services even better. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my wife was very satisfied in your Hotel. The Service was excellent and the Food offer was varied. Only one thing was not so good for me and my wife: on the beach there was not changing room for the wet swimsuit.. In Europe there are some changing rooms on the beaches, because it is not pleasant to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 982gerharde
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 982gerharde, Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your stay in Mauritius and for leaving a feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I took particular pleasure in reading your comments regarding the service and the food. Be assured, we have taken notes of your...

N/A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As the answer below suggests I was very pleased with every single thing during the stay. However, I have to mention 1 unpleasant thing - the hawkers. We learn, that all beaches are public and no one can be forced to leave, but at this kind of hotel I think people trying to relax on the beach should not be...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 66karel
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 66karel, Thank you for the Trip Advisor Comments and for choosing La Pirogue for your recent holidays. I am pleased to read that the charming and comfortable locations of the resort were to your satisfactions. We are very sorry to read that you were disturbed by the beach and would like to point out that we do have “do...

3,382 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2948)
Viewed
View from Room (193)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (712)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (387)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (261)
Viewed
Dining (167)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (1164)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (381)
Viewed
Amenities (110)
Viewed
Babies' Pool (1)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Spa Pool (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (46)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
2.2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,109 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,331 reviews
18.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
44.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,370 reviews
45.3 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A celebrated hotel in Mauritius, La Pirogue Resort and Spa offers authentic and comfortable Mauritian bungalows nestled in the heart of the vast 14-hectare coconut plantation bordering the white sandy beach. The delightfully relaxed atmosphere as well as the generosity and attention of the staff have made ​​the reputation of this warm and friendly hotel beyond compare. Beyond its heavenly setting with its extraordinary sunsets, La Pirogue offers a multitude of land and water activities to enable children and adults to enjoy their stay in Mauritius. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Price Range: $246 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Pirogue Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
184 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (184)

Questions? Get answers from La Pirogue Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a refurbished room as the older ones are not so great.”
Alanwfrogmoor, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the beach are very good!”
Viktor_Lilia, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“The bungalow rooms are great but the superior rooms are stunning. All Quiet & private.”
Uys901, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“You have access to the restaurants at neighbouring Sugar Beach. Citronella is recommended and AI but book early as it's reservation only.”
seliza00, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“beach pavillon is little bit more expensive but closer to beach and offers more privacy”
Karel123, 11 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates