We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Residence Mauritius

Save
Traveller (2005)
Room & Suite (482)
Pool & Beach (468)
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good14%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“yacht club”(43 reviews)
“ocean front”(51 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,995)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveller rating
897
167
61
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
897
167
61
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation restaurantyacht clubocean frontylang ylangcolonial feelrose petal bathscolonial stylea la carteour honeymoonan ocean view roompersonal butlerhalf boardbutler servicekids clubseafood buffeticed teacatamaran cruise
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful location, great beach and pools. Fantastic staff and overall good service. Comfortable spacious rooms with good facilities. Good food and overall had a wonderful break - felt like 14 days! However quite pricey if not on a full board basis for drinks and extras.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank keryboucher
Response from PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence MauritiusResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking your time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your suggestion and feedback are so essential for our continued improvement for quality service and by attending to areas that require our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a week after travelling around South Africa for three weeks.Everything about this hotel is first class.The only complaint we had was the extortionate price of the drinks.Luckily we had read previous reviews and had stocked up with wine...More

2  Thank susan d
Response from PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence MauritiusResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam We thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are grateful to you for having chosen our property for your holidays and are delighted to read that you did enjoy your stay. With regards to our pricing policy of our Beverage, we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This resort is absolutely amazing, from the moment we arrived to the time we left. The resort was everything we could have hoped for and more. The rooms were a good size and to a very high standard and the level of service from all...More

2  Thank flopflip23
Response from PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence MauritiusResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor. We certainly pay attention to our customer’s feedbacks as it will prove very useful to help us enhance our existing standards. It is through positive feedback such as yours that our team...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The Residence for 10 nights and was not disappointed. This colonial styled hotel is set alongside a beautiful beach, my favourite on the island with the turquoise Indian Ocean lapping the shore. The staff are incredibly friendly and so helpful. The food...More

1  Thank richard_knight1970
Response from PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence MauritiusResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for sparing some of your precious time to write your review on Trip Advisor. It gives us immense pleasure to read that you appreciated the services provided by our team members and that you are still cherishing those enriched moments...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved it. From the moment we arrived we felt totally relaxed. It's not a huge resort which makes it that much more special. The lodgings were really quite nice and could not find fault at the cleanliness. Food was good and really did not need...More

1  Thank Ian v
Response from PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence MauritiusResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam It was, indeed our great pleasure to welcome you to The Residence Mauritius, and we were delighted that you choose to spend your holidays with us. We note that your stay was a most enjoyable one and do hope that you will remember...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Concierge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Tennis Court
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 211 - USD 727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 211 - USD 727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (2005)
Room & Suite (482)
Pool & Beach (468)
Dining (189)
Amenities (149)
Family and Play Areas (23)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
happytravels621
10 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Rosemary B | Reviewed this property |
The answer is that last Nov the dress code for men in the restaurant was 'No shorts allowed'. This was not what my husband had expected as he had planned to wear smart tailored shorts in the evening with a polo shirt. The... More
1
Vote
valerieburden
27 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from chris w | Reviewed this property |
The weather forecast is famously useless and they couldn't even provide much accurate information on the cyclone or other big storms. I guess we have to accept the weather will do what it wants and enjoy come what may. btw... More
0
Votes
cattylady
15 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ccmdiva | Reviewed this property |
Toiletries were fabulous.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The sea view rooms with back to car park can be noisy with the road."
Read review
"If you have kids ask for rooms close to the pool. The east coast of Mauritius, where the hotel is located..."
Read review
"Rooms facing the sea have an electric shutter that covers the patio doors- great for those with kids."
Read review
"Avoid east facing rooms because the shutters don't black out the room."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing