We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tanjong Jara Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tanjong Jara Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tanjong Jara Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,022: English reviews
Putrajaya
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Tanjong Jara might be a bit out of the way but the drive there from KL is worth it. Like all the other YTL resorts I have stayed at, the service at this one was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The coastline at this resort has a stretch which is safe for young children to swim in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor221
philippe_cavory, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Tanjong Jara resort! It is possible to drive here in 4 hours with the new expressway! Thank you for your compliments on our resort, yes we are certainly safe for children. I am glad to know you and your family had an excellent stay, relaxing, enjoyable and peaceful. We hope to see you soon again

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 6 March 2015

As a Malaysian who was impressed some of YTL's other resorts, I was determined to check out Tanjong Jara for a quick getaway. What a disappointment! I cannot phatom how so many recent travellers can give this resort a 4 to 5 star rating. I don't consider myself fussy, but our entire group felt the experience left a lot to...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank ieweey
philippe_cavory, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Tanjong Jara resort! We have a lot of Malaysian guests who do enjoy our resort, nevertheless I understand that we can't expect every guest to do so even we our best intentions. Saying that let me apology to you and your family for not delivering the kind of experiences you expected to receive, regarding our mattresses they are...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 5 March 2015

All is fantastic at this place , however a word of caution, do get your money exchanged into the local currency at KL or earlier if you plan to pay in cash. We had a nasty experience at the time of check out when the cashier offered to change USD at a rate which was not concurrent with the days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2014vijaya
philippe_cavory, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Tanjong Jara resort! I must thank you for bringing to my attention the issue with the exchange rate, you are right it is a mistake on our side and it has been rectified with immediate effect. No guests from now on will have to be inconvenienced with the FOREX. On your next visit please contact me and I...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 4 March 2015

It's been several days since our return to KL from a 2-night stay at Tanjong Jara Resort (Feb 26 to 28, 2015) and my wife and I are STILL talking about the WOW!!! factor that permeated almost every aspect of our time at the Resort. It started with getting the unbelievable price of RM480 per night "Best Available Rate" for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank djones1964
philippe_cavory, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your positive comments on Tanjong Jara resort, we always strive to WOW our guests! Our employees are extremely dedicated to deliver a memorable experience to our guests. We are aware of our issues in our F&B as we just recently changed our menus and the training is on going, I can clarify to...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We had a wonderful time at Tanjong Jara Resort during the recent Lunar New Year. Relaxing and excellent service. The beach was clean and not crowded, consider that the occupancy was full during our stay. Food at both restaurants was good. All staff that we encountered were very helpful courteous. The room is spacious, very comfortable. We particularly like the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KP_Kwan
philippe_cavory, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Tanjong Jara resort! Thank you for your complimentary remarks, we do clean our beach every day and I will enquire why it was not done during your stay. Thank you for bringing it to my attention, as for the WIFI we are looking at it now and I hope by May this year it will be provided complimentary...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

I stayed over CNY 2015 with my wife and baby for five nights. The resort was heavily populated by expatriates from KL, and the drive from the capital itself is relatively easy and stress-free. The location is fantastic, and the panoramic views of the South China Sea are incredible. I highly recommend to get up early, head off to the...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Trevor B
philippe_cavory, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Trevor, Thank you for your complimentary comments on TripAdvisor, it was a pleasure having you and your family over CNY. As you have notice the drive now with the new expressway is easy and stress-free. Quoting you "location is fantastic, and the panoramic views of the South China Sea are incredible. I highly recommend to get up early, head...

Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed 17 February 2015

One of the best resort that I have ever visited, everything about this place is just perfect. From the first day of my arrival to the very last day of my departure, both me and my partner was thoroughly spoiled by the friendliness and attentiveness of the hotel staff. I was thoroughly surprise by how passionate and professional the resort...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GeneY79
philippe_cavory, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Guy for your very encouraging comments on our resort, it was a pleasure to serve you and I hope together with my team of dedicated professionals to welcome you again in a not too distant future.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 February 2015

There are multiple aspects that set this resort apart from others. First and foremost, the service is impeccable. Not only were we personally greeted by the general manager and assistant general manager, but all staff members went out of their way to be friendly and attentive at all times. I have to hand it to the YTL group of hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jon S
philippe_cavory, General Manager at Tanjong Jara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your complimentary comments about our resort, we are committed to provide our guests with a true Malay kampong experience. All our employees enjoy their jobs tremendously and thank you for noticing, we take great pride in our gardens or should I said tailored made jungle.... We hope to see you again

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 November 2014

it is a really wonderful place to relax with good food and super spa! also for diving , is it fantastic! and the lonely beach is unique! the staff is very friendly and attentive! I want to go there again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KirstenImboden
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 20 November 2014

My husband and I stayed here in April for his birthday weekend and we truly had a great time. The hospitality we received are 5-star and happy to see good service in our own country. The hotel staff even surprised my husband with a birthday song and cake! Being locals, we find the food at the hotel quite expensive. Other...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alia Z

1,729 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1666)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (296)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (258)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (351)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (516)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
20.1 km away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
8.4 km away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
53 reviews
11.2 km away
Six Villa Inn
Six Villa Inn
#5 of 10 in Dungun
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
22 reviews
8.7 km away
Semarak Beach Inn
Semarak Beach Inn
#3 of 6 in Dungun
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Pen'U Cottage
Pen'U Cottage
#3 of 10 in Dungun
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Tanjong Jara Resort

Address: Batu 8 | Off Jalan Dungun, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Price Range: $185 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanjong Jara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tanjong Jara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjong Jara Hotel Dungun
Tanjong Jara Dungun
Tanjong Jara Resort Dungun, Malaysia - Terengganu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tanjong Jara Resort staff and other travellers.
101 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (101)

Questions? Get answers from Tanjong Jara Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are on point.”
 of 5 bubbles ahoque786, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded to a Serambi Seaview Room and felt the extra was well justified”
 of 5 bubbles lanky01, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor for verandah, upper floor for no footsteps overhead”
 of 5 bubbles zanzibar948, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you fancy a drink and a smoke go for a room (ground floor) that has a verandah.”
 of 5 bubbles PippinandEvie, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles kohmischa, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5