We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ranee Boutique Suites

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ranee Boutique Suites
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 338: English reviews
Start your review of The Ranee Boutique Suites
 Click to rate
Adelaide
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here twice for 2 nights each time and were not disappointed. Our first room overlooked the rear of the hotel and was very spacious, large bathroom with a separate bath that opened onto the balcony. Our second room overlooked the waterfront, the room and bathroom were a little smaller but there were lovely views. No problem with any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DebbieAdelaide
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear DebbieAdelaide, Thank You very much for taking the time to share such a wonderful review about The Ranee, and for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you during your stay here! It is so delightful to read that you were impressed with our suites, our services and our breakfasts . We are really happy to know...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really friendly service from all the staff. We stayed in the Margaret Suite which has a balcony that overlooked the river and was perfect with a comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom . I was unsure what to expect as I read one review that mentioned an open plan bathroom in one of the suites but our room certainly had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear Trevor B, From the whole Ranee team, Thank You so much for your wonderful review! Margaret Suite is one of our best suites and we are glad you liked it. Leonora Suite is the one with the see-through bathroom. There are guests who love this and there are also guests who are not comfortable with this. But one thing...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were not disappointed. The location is fantastic. It's nearby everything. The bathroom is huge. The bed is just perfect. The room is a bit dark. But that didn't bother us. They have a reading room on the first floor. The eating area is also the bar area. Good selection of wines and cocktails. The deco of this hotel has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daddyFlyd
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear daddyFlyd, Thank you very much for the lovely review which made the day of all the ladies in our team, including mine! :-) It is most delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranee. We are very happy that you loved the deco of our hotel. The owner designed everything herself and most of the items...

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely little boutique hotel, close to the action. The rooms are very well situated and comfortable with all the extras you expect in a hotel of this sort. Very nice breakfast too. The staff are very helpful when arranging trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank submersiond
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear submersiond, Thank you so much for your wonderful review on The Ranee! The amount of motivation our team gets from positive feedback (like yours and from our other guests) is really quite indescribable. :-) Thank you very much for staying with us. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. Please book with us at reservations@theranee.com for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent five nights staying here during a recent business/pleasure trip to Kuching. We were very pleased that we choose to stay in the Ranee. The hotel is a little quirky, but in a very nice way. The rooms, or rather suites as they call them, are very well equipped and tastefully decorated, as are the communal parts of the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DucatiMartin
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear DucatiMartin, Thank you very much for the great review! We are so glad that you had a good stay at The Ranee. We have a happy team who do their best to assist our guests as much as they possibly can. :-) Please do book with us directly at reservations@theranee.com for your next stay. We very much look forward...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I chose the Ranee based on its TA reviews and was not disappointed. It's location is superb in the heart of the waterfront on Jalan main bazaar in the middle of a row of old shop house albeit it is clearly a new build. Most of the main sites of old Kuching, the main museums, the river cruise, the boardwalk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stuffmatters
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear stuffmatters, Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share such a wonderful and comprehensive review about The Ranee! Thank you for the compliments on our Breakfast and hotel facilities but most of all, on our dedicated team. Nothing inspires the team more than happy and satisfied guests. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a repeated customer and love this hotel. Staff are warm and go the extra mile to value your loyalty. My only comment is that the food can be improved. Although breakfast is provided, the coffee is watered down, food tasteless and fruits chopped up and rather unappealing. A pity for a lovely boutique hotel which lacks a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Islandgal09
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear Islandgal09, Thank you very much for your review and Thank You for the nice comments about The Ranee and our team! Yes, they are always ever-ready and willing to do all they can to ensure our guests feel at home here. :-) We are so sorry that you found our breakfast unsatisfactory during your most recent stay and we...

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this hotel as I was tired of the commercial hotels, and it didn't disappoint–from the beautiful, authentic Sarawak motif, artwork and antiques to the friendly local staff. The front room was clean and spacious, tastefully decorated. Despite several complaints by earlier reviewers about the noise, I slept soundly throughout my 3-nights stay. The Reading Room/Area is a peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brommie-diver
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear brommie-diver, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about The Ranee! We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay here and it is lovely to know that you had a good rest throughout the 3 nights! Raymond and the rest of the team are always more than happy to assist our guests...

Crete
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a second floor suite. The room and bathroom were both spacious and attractively designed. There was little natural light in the room, but it was so well designed and the lighting so good that we hardly noticed. The bed was comfortable and the wi-fi very good. The reception and restaurant/bar area was quite quirky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VamosBoy
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear VamosBoy, From the whole team at The Ranee, Thank You very much for the fab review! We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay here. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you here again. :-) Please do email us at reservations@theranee.com for your next stay. Wishing you...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

If you are thinking of staying in Kuching then look no further than this lovely little boutique hotel. The staff were all so very helpful and friendly, and the rooms were just perfect. Of particular note are Raymond and Ann. Raymond was great at making suggestions for places to visit and organising taxis for us. Ann, part of the management...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaJSheffield
AnnChuaFromTheRanee, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear RaJSheffield, Thank you so very much for the marvelous review which made the day of everyone in our team! We do our very best to ensure that all our guests leave here with only wonderful memories and we are so glad that you and your lovely friends did exactly that. :-) It was such a pleasure to be of...

487 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Suite (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (42)
Viewed
Elizabeth Suite (46)
Viewed
Executive Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.2 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
954 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,425 reviews
0.2 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,913 reviews
2.9 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.7 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ranee is an exclusive 24-room boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Kuching's picturesque Old Town (14km from Kuching International Airport). Stylishly rebuilt from two traditional 19th century shophouses and ingeniously adapted to modern standards of plush comfort, The Ranee is unique in that every spacious room/suite is different - designed to express its own individuality, charm and character. Step into The Ranee and you will be enchanted by the magic of old and new - a fusion style inspired by Sarawak's rich colonial heritage and mysterious ethnic cultures. In catering to the discerning traveller, The Ranee boasts an all-day dining/bar serving local and international cuisine, a cafe offering freshly baked delicacies, an in-house tour desk, and even a business meeting room. The Ranee is capable of hosting intimate cocktail receptions for functions up to 60pax (product launches, team building, informal business gatherings, private dinner parties, etc). At The Ranee we'll take you on a journey that celebrates the charm and romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranee Boutique Suites

Address: No 6 & 7 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range: $85 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranee Boutique Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ranee Boutique Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranee Boutique Suites Kuching, Sarawak
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranee Boutique Suites staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranee Boutique Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the river have a balcony and can be a bit noisy but worth putting up with the noise to have a river view”
 of 5 bubbles trevorb570, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have meals outside”
 of 5 bubbles Islandgal09, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High and at the back”
 of 5 bubbles stingalert, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ranee suites are double level with extra high ceilings but you need to pay double what you pay for the regular room”
 of 5 bubbles zuleikadobson, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms not suitable for older people as you have to climb stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Ammu610, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5