We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Borneo Highlands Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Borneo Highlands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Borneo Highlands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

Visited this place last march and feel wonderful and most relax n groovy. My friend n i love this place and very much help from the staff. The enviroment very cooling and silent. The person who took us drive on top (Bogor) very helpful and some good adsived given from him. A few my fridnd enjoy and spend some time... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi S
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ravi S, Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the natural environment at Borneo Highlands Resort. We will always upkeep our service standards and be in any assistance if required by our guests. We hope that you can bring... More 

Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Borneo Highlands Resort is really the place for you to relax and enjoy the great view and atmosphere. i stayed one night with my friends. The room was nice and clean, restaurant serves very tasty vegetarian food, staffs are friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
2 Thank Aryanti T
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Aryanti T, Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will always upkeep our service standards and be in any assistance if required by our guests. We hope that you can bring in more groups to experience what Borneo Highlands Resort... More 

Mombasa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We visited as day visitors. It cost 50RM per person to get a lift to the top which seemed an awful lot. The security guard had told us there was a pool and a spa open to day visitors. When we arrived we found that the pool was closed, so was the sauna and steam room, and that the spa... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellie A
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ellie A, Pleasant Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort! We regret that you have a less than ideal experience in your day visit to the Resort. We understand your inconveniences by taking the longer route due to the collapsed access road 3KM from our foothill. This collapsed access road is mainly due to the non-stop rain since December. The State... More 

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Stayed for 2 nights and had an exciting experience. You could see the Kalimantan Border near this place. The fresh air will make you want stay longer than your plan. Very peaceful resort with a lot of choices of activities. Definitely will stay there again if I go to Sarawak.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nita S
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nita S, Pleasant Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort! Thank you very much for your kind review and feedbacks. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back once again to Borneo Highlands Resort with a bigger group. Thank You Muhammad Syafiq Abdullah Resort Manager Borneo Highlands Resort More 

Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2014

When the first time I came, I can't say a thing. All the things that I could do is just feeling the fresh air. The other thing was the amazing view from top of the hills. You could also see the border area between Indonesia and Sarawak at Kalimantan view point. This resort is very recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank mochittox
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear mochittox, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort, Thank you for the excellent review and rating. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you and your guests back to Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank You Muhammad Syafiq Abdullah Resort Manager Borneo Highlands Resort More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

Too expensive to.take taxi to go there for round trip. Most taxi said they don't dare to go up, or they will charge a lot more. Suggest to take taxi to reach extrance only. Then take resort transport to go uphill. Children got half price. Not much activities around the resort. A small flower garden, small organic vegi farm, small... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clement W
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Clement W, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your review for our improvements. We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort once again to have a more enjoyable experience. Thank You Muhammad Syafiq Abdullah Resort Manager Borneo Highlands Resort More 

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2014

is really a back to nature place. You can felt the fresh air and a quiet place to have a totally relax place. We enjoyed the foods with the Meatless Restaurant-Annah Rais Cafe. We like it so much. A good place for people looking for peaceful and relax.

Helpful?
2 Thank ong c
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ong C, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your kind review and feedback on your experience at Borneo Highlands Resort. We look forward to welcome you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank You Muhammad Syafiq Abdullah Resort Manager Borneo Highlands Resort More 

Kuching
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2014

The resort is only about 60km from Kuching city centre. You may park your car at the car park at the foothill entrance and use the transport provided by the resort to go up the plateau (20 minutes up hill) at RM25 per pax one way. although certain parts are quite steep, normal car can actually climb it (even 1000cc... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank HYChan
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear HYChan, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedbacks and review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your entire stay with Borneo Highlands Resort. We look forward to welcome you back once again to Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank You Muhammad Syafiq Abdullah Resort Manager Borneo Highlands Resort More 

Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Best Place for refresh yourself and for relaxing. not many attractions, flower garden, Grapes farm & organic farm not well-maintained, restaurant food needs some improvement too. Steep road, quite risky for inexperienced driver. no Television in room and no WiFi as well.

Helpful?
2 Thank KRX22
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear KRX22, Pleasant Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedbacks. We will look into all your feedbacks and make improvements. Currently the WIFI is only limited to the Annah Rais Cafe and is very dependant on the service provider signal strength. We are looking into alternative on the steep road especially on awareness sign boards... More 

Banting, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I wouldn't put anyone off of staying at this place, it has great Trekking, Birding and a fantastic Golf Course [I am not a golfer but this course looks so interesting]. It also offers the prospect of just getting out into the fresh air of the foot hills. But I would say one or two nights is enough. Once the... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Twitchyjim
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Twitchyjim, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. We appreciate your feedback and review on your recent stay with us and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service standard. We strive to improve our services for better guests experience. We have discussed with the team on the facilities and maintenance improvements on your feedback as mentioned. We takes pride... More 

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
70.0 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#18 of 55 in Kuching
650 reviews
50.1 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
47.9 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.1 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
935 reviews
50.0 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
85 reviews
49.8 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A hidden treasure in the heart of Borneo’s highland rainforest. Cleverly tucked away in the exotic highland rainforest of Borneo standing at the height of 1,000 meters above sea level on the Sarawak-Kalimantan border. Flushed within 5,000 acres of untouched greens, surrounded by the world’s oldest and 2nd largest tropical rainforest, Borneo Highlands Resort is surely a sanctuary to escape to. Unwind, renew, and rejuvenate with a careful selection of enjoyable retreats, tailored exclusively for you to take care of your inner self while we take care of the rest. Back to Nature, Back to Basics ... more   less 

Additional Information about Borneo Highlands Resort

Address: Jalan Borneo | Padawan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range: $83 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borneo Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Borneo Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Highlands Hotel Kuching
Borneo Highlands Resort Kuching, Sarawak
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Borneo Highlands Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Borneo Highlands Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Birdie de luxe overlooking mountains and fresh water pool”
 of 5 bubbles damaite, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Top floor mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles Manwkn, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Go for the birdie room because they have small refrigerators in them and bring your own drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles updog247, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“Please ask for kalimantan view”
 of 5 bubbles carribjack, 23 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose room with a golf view.”
  • View from the hotel
  • View from the hotel
  • View from the hotel
  • Room View
 of 5 bubbles KRX22, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay