We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jalan Sultan Tengah Lot 285, Block 2 Salak Land District, Kuching 93050 Malaysia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
USD 67
View deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (259)
Room & Suite (43)
Videos (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 90 in Kuching
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the dense flora and undergrowth of Santubong, Kuching, The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching blends into its lush green environment like a faraway fantasy. Outfitted with eco-friendly room designs and an array of facilities offering adventure and relaxation, the boutique resort promises to take you on a cultural journey of Sarawak’s rainforests and rejuvenate your weary soul. From exotic adventures and nature walks to cuisine tours and yoga retreats, here at The Culvert we aim to please every type of guest. So whether you’re a tourist looking for an adventure, a couple looking for a romantic vacation, or a local wanting a break from the busy city life, we will have something for you at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching. The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching is conveniently nearby several hilltop and cliffside locations with panoramic sea and sunset views.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
181Reviews9Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 75
  • 16
  • 0
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ff wrote a review 19 May
1 contribution
Not Recommended Dirty Place & Irresponsible and Arrogant Management Room are dirty and do beware of creatures (lizards, bugs and mites) crawling around and on your bed Poor housekeeping in the room and the toilet We're provided with smelly and stained hand towels and towels Worst comes to worst, my whole body was bitten by those bugs, its painful and itchy. Went to the hospital for treatment and this is the price I paid for staying here one night!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Please don't visit this place to avoid unpleasant experience! I shared parts of my wound around...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Wander, Greetings from The Culvert Kuching! Thank you for your valuable feedbacks as such feedbacks will assist us improve our services and facilities better for the comfort of all guest. We hope you have recovered and well again. Our sincerely apologies for the lapse and experience you had during your stay with us and hope this isolated incident will not mar your overall perception of the Resort. Rest assure all necessary precautions and actions has been taken and in place for the safety and comfort of all our guest. At mean time please reach me at 019 889 9925 should I be of further assistance. Thank you Ivan
Read more
Britteny wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
A really nice place to chill and relax👍🏻 the privacy is superbb although the room is small. The service provided by the manager and the workers is superbbb!! Also the dishes and the pool is very enjoyable. All in all, the trip is worth it👍🏻👍🏻
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Dear Britteny, Greetings from The Culvert Kuching! Thank you for your kind compliments. We are delighted to know that you and your bestie had a great time during your stay with us at The Culvert Kuching. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon and staying with us at The Culvert Kuching. Thank you Ivan Ong
Read more
Bumbum wrote a review Apr 2022
Kuching, Malaysia1 contribution
Excellent service and best place to relax. Friendly staff, nice activity especially the ATV and pool fling. Sauna with a relaxing sea view. If you love nature and a peaceful getaway, this is definitely the place to visit. Choose the suites as it is spacious and bath tub attached.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Iise Chew wrote a review Sept 2020
Malaysia1900 contributions2101 helpful votes
The Culvert, located in Santubong, Kuching, boasts majestic backdrops of Mount Santubong and also wetland mangrove beaches facing the South China Sea. If you are keen on giving minimalistic concepts a try, The Culvert would suit your taste. Rooms, or more like cylindrical cemented tubes, range at Rm200+. It's a fun concept, living life in such an enclosed space - the toilet, shower, and the bed are all placed neatly and efficiently in one cylinder! The architecture is undeniably beautiful. 2 infinity swimming pools are artfully designed, one directly facing the sea while surrounded by towering trees. There are platforms placed deliberately for you to take in the view of the entire sea while being comfortably seated - my wife and I had even had a nap on such a platform. The library, the gym, the sauna - all fashioned in a way that immerses you in Sarawak's natural lush greeneries. The biggest issue I faced were the mosquitoes and sandflies. The beach, despite being most picturesque, has an immense amount of sandflies, in which they feasted on our bare skin gleefully. Sleep was difficult as there were so many mosquitoes in our cylindrical room; this, I believe, was very much to do with me not turning on the ventilation fan at the first part, which likely led to mosquitoes swarming in without hindrance. After we turned the fan on, we spent about half an hour just killing mosquitoes with the dimmest of lights. Breakfast was acceptable - straightforward fried noodles that personally was rather blend, sausages and eggs, spoilt milk served which I took a mouthful of but thankfully did not swallow. I would come to this place again as a group, to just have a chill out in nature, and for the experience. But to come again for good night's sleep, that I would have to think twice. Travel Tip : Book via Agoda.com. I compared the walk-in price to Agoda's price, and it was about RM50 cheaper. Bring mosquitoe repellent. It's a must. It not only deters mosquitoes, but at some measure deters sandflies too. Ensure that the ventilation fan in your room is turned on all the time, lest you wish to have a swarm of mosquitoes share your company.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Ming Y wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
A very beautiful place for a short getaway, get closer to nature, the services are also very good. The staffs are friendly and the food here also nice. Really like the place so much and highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Bullek, Owner at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Responded 4 June 2020
Dear MingY209, Thank you for choosing The Culvert Resort. Also thank you for the positive review and the kind words. We will continue to look for ways and means to improve and enhance our guest satisfaction and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Culvert Resort. We look forward to seeing you again. Meanwhile, stay safe wherever you are. Till then, beautiful and warmest wishes from all of us here at The Culvert Resort!
Read more
Ross A wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions
We didn't really know what to expect staying in a concrete tube (!) but it's actually remarkably cosy, comfortable, and the views are tremendous. The beach is a delight and it's right next to the Cultural Village which is helpful. Staff are very nice too. Would definitely recommend for a couple of nights.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Bullek, Owner at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Responded 4 June 2020
Dear rossa148, Thank you for your positive review and your kind words. Our staffs do their personal best to go above and beyond for our valued guests each day. I am pleased that we left a positive impression with you. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to The Culvert Resort. Meanwhile, stay safe wherever you are. Till then, beautiful and warmest wishes from all of us here at The Culvert Resort!
Read more
Celine wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
A nice resort to chill and rest. Affordable price of delicious food and beverage. Good natural environment scenery with high quality and polite services. Free WiFi and free parking place for us.Will come again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Bullek, Owner at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Responded 4 June 2020
Dear lauceline98, Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We sincerely hope that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad that you like the food and beverage in our Tanju' Cafe. We would also appreciate if you have any suggestions/ideas to share on how we can improve yours and possibly other guests to have a better stay at The Culvert. We may not be able to fulfill all wishes of our guests’, however, we are willing to improve at all time. Thank you once again for choosing The Culvert as your place of resort. We hope to see you again! Meanwhile, stay safe wherever you are. Till then, beautiful and warmest wishes from all of us here at The Culvert Resort!
Read more
Travellermary1 wrote a review Feb 2020
Mirissa, Sri Lanka23 contributions7 helpful votes
Well, what can i say about this place. Concept of this place causes me mixed feelings. Actually first impression itself was very bad. Woman at the reception was unfriendly and did not provide basic information of the place. When you get to your room, you see at first pricelist of the items in the room.. in case you wanna steal something. So i felt bit unwelcome. They are promoting themself as a eco resort, but i must say there is not much "eco" in there. They have really zen calm feelings in their video advertisements, girl doing yoga and peaceful music playing. When you get there, there is no yoga, and there is loud pop music playing at the restaurant. Other side of the resort there is a road, so you will hear noise from the road and 90s pop music.. not much sounds from nature. And the restaurant.. yoga girl from the video ad would not eat there.. staff is trying their best but they are young and unprofessional and not very attentive. Food is ok, should just be more selection. More local food and more healthy options. And not so much deep fried stuff. Restaurant closes at 9pm and pool&sauna closes 7pm. After that there is not much to do. There is nothing near where you can go by walk. They do not promote any tours or activities so we booked those from somewhere else. You will need a car if you wanna go somewhere. And if you have a car, you will have problems with the gate.. you need to call by phone everytime you wanna move in or out. So bit a feeling you are in a prison. There is just a pool area and restaurant if you wanna sit somewhere and hang around. I missed some kind of terrace next to our room. Now if you wanna watch beautiful sunset, there are no places for that. What a missed opportunity. Room itself was ok for it's size. However this place did not suit our needs, so we changed to other hotel from there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: King Suite
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cynthia Bullek, Owner at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Responded 4 June 2020
Dear Travellermary1, First of all, thank you for choosing to stay at The Culvert Resort. We apologize for any unpleasant experience while you had your vacation here with us. However, we will try our best to improve of what we lack of in hope that every guest can have a wonderful stay here. For any reasons of your unpleasantness for which you have mentioned earlier on, we will look into it and take any necessary action required with the staffs. We humbly ask for your understanding on this matter and that if you have any suggestions/ideas on what should we improve at, please do not hesitate to reach out to us! We thank you once again for your precious time in leaving us your review here. Meanwhile, stay safe wherever you are. Till then, beautiful and warmest wishes from all of us here at The Culvert Resort!
Read more
Wiven wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Everything is excellent except the mosquito environment so be prepared well for it. The food is satisfying too and would be better if got more various kinds of food. Next time would like to come just two person of us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from CGB9963, Front Office Manager at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear wivenchang, We appreciate the positive comments regarding your stay with us. We will continue to look for ways and means to improve and enhance our guest satisfaction. I am pleased that we left a positive impression with you, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to The Culvert Resort. Hope to see you again soon :-) Till then, a beautiful and warmest wishes from all of us here at The Culvert Resort!
Read more
Adam M wrote a review Jan 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We arrived in Kuching after a long flight and decided to have a couple relaxing days away from the city. This place is so picturesque, an Instagrammers dream! The rooms are small, but the food is good and a great breakfast was included! The pools are great and there is a path that leads down to a secluded beach. Recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CGB9963, Front Office Manager at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear ad_venturing7, A huge "Terima Kasih" from all of us here at The Culvert Resort :-) We are so glad that you loved our place and we are pleased to know that you've enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your short and sweet review for The Culvert Resort. We hope to see you again here and we look forward to another chance to have you as our guest. Till then, beautiful and warmest wishes from all of us here at The Culvert Resort!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 48 - USD 72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSarawakKuching
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching
Which popular attractions are close to The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching?
Nearby attractions include Mount Santubong (1.6 km), Borneo Samariang Resort City (6.0 km), and Damai Beach (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lim Hock Ann Seafood, Beach Sea Food Restaurant, and Ahsoh Buntal Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching have airport transportation?
Yes, The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Culvert Hotel Resort Kuching?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sarawak Cultural Village (10.9 km).